Skip to Main Content

ProQuest Historical Newspapers

About ProQuest Historical Newspapers

ProQuest Historical Newspapers provides full-text, full-image access to newspapers with a focus on the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. The database preserves the original page layout, allowing users to zoom in on individual articles or zoom out to view entire issues, giving context for how news was presented at the time.  While ProQuest Historical Newspapers is often thought of as a U.S. news source, it is important to recognize that our subscription includes several international titles, as well.  These collections are consist of English language and bilingual newspapers (with the exception of Le Monde) published around the world, sometimes providing a foreign perspective on domestic events.

Because newspapers frequently change names, formats, or ownership, coverage is divided into multiple collections, sometimes even for the same title. For example, a newspaper might appear under different titles across decades, or the same title might be split into separate ranges of years. This guide is designed to help you navigate those complexities by showing which newspapers are included and what years are covered.

About This Guide

Our access to ProQuest Historical Newspapers is provided through individual subscriptions to each title. This guide provides direct, stable links to search each historical newspaper file. Each entry includes dates of coverage, publication details, and historical title variants. For more recent coverage (outside of ProQuest Historical Newspapers), the "See also" note for each title will link to the appropriate database.

By Collection

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: U.S. Metro Collection

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: International Titles

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspaper Collection

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Jewish Newspaper Collection

  • ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The American Israelite (1854–2000)
  • ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Jewish Exponent (1887–1990)
  • ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857–1922)
    • Place of publication: New York City, New York
    • For more information: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_American_Hebrew
    • Search this title in ProQuest:  The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922)
    • Note: Formed by the 1903 merger of two pioneering American Jewish newspapers, offering a conservative perspective on Jewish life and issues.
    • Title variants:
      • The Jewish Messenger (1857–1902)
      • The American Hebrew (1879–1902)
      • The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1903–1922)
      • The American Hebrew (1922)
  • ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Jewish Advocate (1905–1990)

Humanities Librarian

Profile Photo
Amy Fader
she/her/hers
Contact:
Davis Library
UNC-Chapel Hill
Available for meetings in person
or via Zoom

Search Tips

  • Narrow by date:  Use the Advanced Search feature to set your date range before searching, or adjust it afterward using the filters on the left side of your screen. Remember that older newspapers often reported events a day or more after they occurred.
  • Use historical language:  Think about how people at the time would have described your topic. For example, if you’re researching women’s rights in the early 1900s, you won’t find much using a contemporary term like feminism. Instead, try words like suffrage, votes for women, or women’s enfranchisement.
  • Consider name variations:  Individuals were often referred to differently than we might expect today—for instance, Mrs. Gilbert, Mr. Lincoln, or President Lincoln. Try multiple variations.
  • Refine your search:  Use the facets on the left side of the screen to filter results. Under “Database,” you can narrow to a single newspaper title or cross-search across multiple selected titles.
  • Last Updated: Oct 3, 2025 8:39 AM
  • URL: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/c.php?g=1492061