Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
HIST 089.001: Food and US History: Databases and E-Resources
Newspapers and Periodicals
-
ProQuest Historical NewspapersContains over 20 historic newspapers, including The New York Times and the Washington Post, from major U. S. cities. Also icludes six major African American papers. Coverage is generally from the late 1800s to around 2000.
-
Food and Drink in HistoryPrimary source collection consisting of printed and manuscript cookbooks, advertising ephemera, government documents, marketing reports, films and illustrated content from around the globe documenting the evolution of food and drink within everyday life and the public sphere (1514-1980). Highlights of Module I include the cookbook collections from the University of California San Diego and Michigan State University, with a focus on Mexican, Latin American, Pacific Rim, Chinese early Californian, African and Asian cuisine.
-
Southern Foodways AllianceThis nonprofit organization collects, documents and studies the food cultures of the American South.
-
Collections: Community and Charity Cookbooks | HathiTrust …Charity and community organization cook books http://tinyurl.com/CharityCxbxHT
-
Community Cookbooks: An Online Collection - Library of CongressThis research guide highlights to early charity and community cookbooks from across the United States and digitized from the Library of Congress collections.
-
Feeding America: The Historic American Cookbook ProjectA digital collection of the most important and influential American cookbooks from the 18th to early 20th century.
-
DigitalNCThe online home for materials presented by the North Carolina Digital Heritage Center. It includes yearbooks from NC colleges and universities, NC newspapers, NC city directories, photos from NC and other historical materials about North Carolina.
-
Newspapers.com (North Carolina Newspapers)Provides access to historic newspapers from the 1700s to the present. UNC users have access to a large selection of North Carolina newspapers through a partnership between Newspapers.com and the UNC University Library.
Note: Please clear your browser's cache and cookies if you are having problems accessing this resource
-
Documenting the American SouthDocumenting the American South (DocSouth) provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. DocSouth includes seven digitization projects: slave narratives, first-person narratives, Southern literature, Confederate imprints, materials related to the church in the black community, and North Caroliniana.
-
Oral Histories of the American SouthThree-year project to select, digitize and make available 500 oral history interviews gathered by the Southern Oral History Program (SOHP).
-
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral HistoriesProvides a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada. With more than 100,000 pages of personal narratives, including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories, the collection provides a rich source for scholars in a wide range of disciplines. Several thousand pages of Ellis Island Oral History interviews, indexed and searchable for the first time, are included, along with thousands of political cartoons.
-
Ancestry LibraryA major tool for genealogical and biographical research, particularly for the United States, providing access to vital records, census and voter lists, immigration records, military records, directories, tax, criminal, land, and will records, and more.
-
Hathi Trust Digital Library
Partnership of major libraries, Google, and Internet Archive providing millions of fulltext books and volumes of journals and other serials covering all subject and in many languages.
Note: To download full PDFs of public domain & open access items: Click 'Login' and then select University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill as the HathiTrust Partner Institution. Then enter your Onyen/Password on the resulting page, before being returned to the HathiTrust site.
