Readex Early American Newspapers (Series 1 & 2): Home

The University Libraries subscribes to multiple newspaper databases, including a suite of products from Readex.  One of these collections, Early American Newspapers, provides searchable access to hundreds of newspapers published in the United States between the colonial period and the late 19th century. These papers show what daily life looked like at the time—how people talked about politics, local events, business, science, and community issues. Because most newspapers at this time were local, students can see how national events were understood in different places and by different groups.  Our subscription consists of Series 1 and Series 2.

Early American Newspapers: Series 1 (1690–1876)
Series 1 provides access to more than 750 newspaper titles published in 23 states and the District of Columbia from the colonial period through the early national era. Much of the material comes from small-town printers and reflects the political, social, and cultural life of communities during the 18th and early 19th centuries. The collection includes coverage of debates leading up to the American Revolution, the development of early political institutions, and everyday concerns documented in local news, advertisements, and editorials. Many titles in this series are drawn from the holdings described in Clarence S. Brigham’s History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690–1820, based on the American Antiquarian Society’s foundational newspaper collections.

• A list of titles included in Series 1 is provided by Readex here:
• Early American Newspapers: Series 01, 1690-1876: From Colonies to Nation | Readex

Early American Newspapers: Series 2 (1758–1900)
Series 2 adds more than 290 additional titles, with particularly strong coverage from the early to mid-19th century, a period of rapid expansion in American newspaper publishing. This series documents the growth of the penny press, the rise of daily newspapers, and shifting emphases such as society news, industry, science, and investigative reporting. Titles come from the American Antiquarian Society and numerous other libraries and archives. The collection draws on Brigham’s early newspaper bibliography and Winifred Gregory’s American Newspapers, 1821–1936. Together, Series 1 and 2 offer broad regional coverage and a substantial body of primary sources for studying political change, westward expansion, local communities, and print culture in the United States.

• A list of titles included in Series 2 is provided by Readex here:
• Early American Newspapers: Series 02, 1758-1900: The New Republic | Readex