Online Statistical Information for the UNC Law Community

This U.S. Census Bureau site links to economic information and data. Notable resources are the five-year Economic Census, economic indicators, and other economic programs.

The U.S. Census Bureau's website for county and ZIP code business patterns allows users to retrieve industry statistics for U.S. states, counties, metropolitan/micropolitan statistical areas, and ZIP codes.

The website of Economic Census, which is the official five-year measurement of the American business and economy. The latest economic census was taken in 2012, but the data is being released in portions through 2016. Although most of the economic census data is in American Fact Finder, the site provides links and portals to various other sources of official economic data.

This webpage contains economic and financial data and working papers collected and published by the Federal Reserve Board.

Hosted by the Federal Reserve of St. Louis, this website provides access to economic history through digital access to economic data and historical policy documents, particularly regarding the Federal Reserve System.

The Beige Book, or the Summary of Commentary on Current Economic Conditions by Federal Reserve District is a report by the Federal Reserve that is published eight times per year.

Website for the Bureau of Labor Statistics, an agency within the U.S. Department of Labor that collects and publishes statistics related to labor, employment, and prices. The site makes the data available through tools, files, publications, and economic releases. Users can browse by subject.

This website is hosted by the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, an independent agency that is tasked with preserving the stability and public confidence in the United States financial system. This part of the website contains links to data, statistics, and research regarding the banking industry and economic trends.

This database can be used to search for corporate filings and disclosures with the Securities and Exchange Commission.

This government website is a source of U.S. national, international, U.S. regional, and industry economic data. It is the website of the U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis, an agency of the Department of Commerce.

This web page compares the cost of living across all 50 U.S. states and the District of Columbia. The web page is maintained by the Missouri Economic Research Center, but the source of the data is the Council for Community and Economic Research (C2ER), a membership organization which charges for its data products.

This site contains a hodgepodge of economic data and reports associated with the National Bureau of Economics Research, a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan organization that distributes economic research without policy recommendations. Depending on the data set, the data is available in various formats, including formats that can be used with statistical packages.

ACCESSNC is a North Carolina economic data and site information database from the NC Department of Commerce.

This data tool provides information about North Carolina county and municipality revenues and expenditures.

A listing of online data resources from the North Carolina Department of Commerce.

The purpose of this data bank is to provide leaders and citizens with statistical information in order to bring prosperity to rural North Carolina. However, this database has a variety of statistics for counties and cities both rural and urban.

The North Carolina Department of Revenue posts state sales tax statistics on this site. Statistics are available for types of businesses and North Carolina political subdivisions like counties.

The Carolina Research Laboratory (CSRL), a research unit within the Department of Biostatistics, provides state-of-the-art survey data collection. Their forty-five state call center is fully equipped to conduct CATI surveys, web survey, and mail surveys as well as focus groups and qualitative interviews.