IACUC Alternatives Research Source Selection Aid: Animal Alternative Databases
UNC IACUC Animal Alternatives Search Database Selection Guide
Created by Health Science Librarians
Download Handout
- UNC IACUC Animal Alternatives Search Database Selection GuideThis handout includes the selection tips, red flags, boolean examples, and alternatives searching databases sorted by type with descriptions.
Samples of Boolean Search Strategy
The IACUC requires you to record and include a sample of your search strategy. If your source will accept Boolean logic, use a sample string. If it does not, use a one-sentence narrative about your search words and processes.
Boolean logic is a code format that tells almost all databases exactly what results you want to find. You can use it to tell the database how to limit or expand your search. The basics :
- AND - each term must be found in all of your results
- example : ketamine AND xylazine
- results : every article includes both ketamine and xylazine
- OR - either or both terms must be found in all of your results
- example : rompun OR xylazine OR anased
- results : every article includes at least one but not necessarily all of the terms searched
- NOT - the subsequent term will be eliminated from all of your results
- example : xylazine NOT anased
- results : every article includes xylazine, but no articles include anased
- tip : only use NOT at the end of a search string
- ( ) - use parentheses to build compound search strings
- example : (rompun OR xylazine OR anased) NOT clonidine
- results : every article includes either of the terms within parentheses, but none include clonidine
- " " - use commas to tell the database that the enclosed term must be found in the exact order & form as entered
- example : "alpha 2 adrenergic agonist"
- results : every article includes the phrases alpha 2 adrenergic agonist exactly as written; in other words, it would not include any articles that just had the word alpha, or adrenergic agonist, or alpha2 adrenergic agonists
- tip : this will search EXACTLY for what is included and will not correct for spelling errors or extra spaces or punctuation
Broad Biomedical and Biological Science Databases
Broad Biomedical and Biological Science Databases
Choose a database that includes a very wide range of biomedical, biological and other disciplines.
- PubMedDatabase of biomedical literature from the National Library of Medicine covering journal articles about medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biology and public health from 1950 to the present; multiple mobile apps available, provides access to MEDLINE, etc. Includes links to full text of UNC-CH's electronic journal subscriptions.
- BIOSIS Citation Index
- Citation and abstract database with access to many of the articles through the library
- Covers the area of life sciences research from 1926 to present
- Includes journals, books, reports, meetings, and patents
- Global HealthA public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene. More than 2.6 million records from 1973 to the present day sourced from over 7,000 serials, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, patents, theses, electronic publications and other hard-to-find resources. Publications from over 100 countries in 52 languages. Over 185,000 records added each year.
- ScopusA large citation and abstracting database providing comprehensive coverage of the peer-reviewed journal and conference literature, with links to full-text where available through the library; includes scientific, technical, medical, social science and arts and humanities disciplines and indexes over 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers including over 340 book series. Like Web of Science, Scopus allows researchers to perform citation searches to see how many times a work has been cited, by whom, and to rank searches by times cited, for the period 1996 -present, as well as its curated index of over 375 scientific web pages and over 24 million patents.
- EmbaseHighly versatile, multipurpose and up-to-date biomedical database covering the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day. Supports drug discovery & development, pharmacovigilance, medical device development and post-market surveillance, and evidence-based medicine.
Databases by Protocol or Method Type
Education or Training Protocol
Is your protocol focused on classroom education or student training?
- InterNiche : the International Network for Humane Education Alternatives DatabaseNetwork of international veterinary and biological studies educators who research and support the use of alternatives to animal use in education; large site of alternative databases, studies, commentary, etc.
- NORINA Database: Audiovisual Alternatives to the Use of Animals in TeachingNORINA (A Norwegian Inventory of Alternatives) provides information on over 3800 audiovisual aids and other alternatives such as computer programs to the use of animals or animal products in teaching, at all levels from junior [elementary] school to university; from the Norwegian Reference Centre for Laboratory Animal Sciences & Alternatives.
Behavioral/Neuropsychological Protocol
Is your protocol focused on behavioral or neuropsychological research?
- PsycInfoDatabase from the American Psychological Association covering the academic research and practice literature in psychology and related disciplines (medicine, education, social work, etc.) from over 60 countries in more than 29 languages. It provides indexes to journals, dissertations, book chapters, books, technical reports, and other documents from 1887 to the present.
Toxicological or Pharmaceutical Protocol
Is your protocol focused on toxicological or pharmaceutical research?
- ALTBIB: Bibliography on Alternatives to the Use of Live Vertebrates in Biomedical Research and TestingBibliography to assist in identifying methods and procedures helpful in supporting the development, testing, application, and validation of alternatives to the use of vertebrates in biomedical research and toxicology testing; produced from MEDLARS database searches, performed and analyzed by subject experts from the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP) of the Specialized Information Services Division (SIS) of the National Library of Medicine (NLM).
- ECOTOX: Ecotoxicology Database
- Resource for locating single chemical toxicity data for aquatic life, terrestrial plants and wildlife
- Created by the US Environmental Protection Agency Office of Research and Development (ORD)
- Site integrates three former resources; AQUIRE, PHYTOTOX, and TERRETOX
- Site strongly states that data found in its database should be checked against original work to understand context and ensure accurate understanding
- Limitations section further details for what is not included in resource
- EmbaseHighly versatile, multipurpose and up-to-date biomedical database covering the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day. Supports drug discovery & development, pharmacovigilance, medical device development and post-market surveillance, and evidence-based medicine.
- RTECSThe Registry of Toxic Effects of Chemical Substances contains critical toxicological information with citations for over 160,000 chemical substances; sources include international journals, textbooks, technical reports, scientific proceedings, compendia, and more.
Note: UNC-Chapel Hill Dept. of Environment, Health & Safety is the subscriber to this database. Please contact the Dept. if you have questions about the database or other items related to chemical hygiene.
Databases by Animal Model
Rodents & Other Small Mammals
Is your animal model a rodent or other animal commonly used in laboratory research?
- ALTBIB: Bibliography on Alternatives to the Use of Live Vertebrates in Biomedical Research and TestingBibliography to assist in identifying methods and procedures helpful in supporting the development, testing, application, and validation of alternatives to the use of vertebrates in biomedical research and toxicology testing; produced from MEDLARS database searches, performed and analyzed by subject experts from the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP) of the Specialized Information Services Division (SIS) of the National Library of Medicine (NLM).
- BIOSIS Citation Index
- Citation and abstract database with access to many of the articles through the library
- Covers the area of life sciences research from 1926 to present
- Includes journals, books, reports, meetings, and patents
- ECOTOX: Ecotoxicology Database
- Resource for locating single chemical toxicity data for aquatic life, terrestrial plants and wildlife
- Created by the US Environmental Protection Agency Office of Research and Development (ORD)
- Site integrates three former resources; AQUIRE, PHYTOTOX, and TERRETOX
- Site strongly states that data found in its database should be checked against original work to understand context and ensure accurate understanding
- Limitations section further details for what is not included in resource
- Global HealthA public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene. More than 2.6 million records from 1973 to the present day sourced from over 7,000 serials, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, patents, theses, electronic publications and other hard-to-find resources. Publications from over 100 countries in 52 languages. Over 185,000 records added each year.
- PubMedDatabase of biomedical literature from the National Library of Medicine covering journal articles about medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biology and public health from 1950 to the present; multiple mobile apps available, provides access to MEDLINE, etc. Includes links to full text of UNC-CH's electronic journal subscriptions.
Primates
Is your animal model a non-human primate?
- Refinement and Enrichment DatabasesInformation on all aspects of species-appropriate housing and species-appropriate handling of animals in research laboratories; includes information for nonhuman primates, rodents, rabbits, cats, dogs, ferrets, farm animals, horses, birds, fishes, amphibians and reptiles.
- Zoological Record
- Citations and abstracts for journals, books, meeting proceedings, and reports in all major areas of zoology
- BIOSIS Citation Index
- Citation and abstract database with access to many of the articles through the library
- Covers the area of life sciences research from 1926 to present
- Includes journals, books, reports, meetings, and patents
Fish, Amphibians & Reptiles
Is your animal model aquatic, a reptile, or an amphibian?
- ECOTOX: Ecotoxicology Database
- Resource for locating single chemical toxicity data for aquatic life, terrestrial plants and wildlife
- Created by the US Environmental Protection Agency Office of Research and Development (ORD)
- Site integrates three former resources; AQUIRE, PHYTOTOX, and TERRETOX
- Site strongly states that data found in its database should be checked against original work to understand context and ensure accurate understanding
- Limitations section further details for what is not included in resource
Agricultural Animals & Fowl
Is your animal model an agricultural animal or fowl?
- AGRICOLAThe National Agriculture Library Catalog provides citations to literature in agriculture and allied disciplines, including veterinary sciences, entomology, aquaculture and fisheries, food and human nutrition, and environmental sciences. Site does not contain full text articles.
- Current Research Information System (CRIS/USDA)Database of documentation and reports for ongoing agricultural, food science, human nutrition, and forestry research, education and extension activities for the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA); a focus on the National Institute of Food and Agriculture (NIFA) grant programs.
- BIOSIS Citation Index
- Citation and abstract database with access to many of the articles through the library
- Covers the area of life sciences research from 1926 to present
- Includes journals, books, reports, meetings, and patents
- Global HealthA public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene. More than 2.6 million records from 1973 to the present day sourced from over 7,000 serials, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, patents, theses, electronic publications and other hard-to-find resources. Publications from over 100 countries in 52 languages. Over 185,000 records added each year.
Wildlife
Is your animal model considered wildlife?
- Zoological Record
- Citations and abstracts for journals, books, meeting proceedings, and reports in all major areas of zoology
- Global HealthA public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene. More than 2.6 million records from 1973 to the present day sourced from over 7,000 serials, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, patents, theses, electronic publications and other hard-to-find resources. Publications from over 100 countries in 52 languages. Over 185,000 records added each year.
Databases based on the Alternatives and 3Rs Focused Resources
Animal Alternatives Resources
Find discussion and research about alternatives and the 3Rs:
- Refinement and Enrichment DatabasesInformation on all aspects of species-appropriate housing and species-appropriate handling of animals in research laboratories; includes information for nonhuman primates, rodents, rabbits, cats, dogs, ferrets, farm animals, horses, birds, fishes, amphibians and reptiles.
- ALTBIB: Bibliography on Alternatives to the Use of Live Vertebrates in Biomedical Research and TestingBibliography to assist in identifying methods and procedures helpful in supporting the development, testing, application, and validation of alternatives to the use of vertebrates in biomedical research and toxicology testing; produced from MEDLARS database searches, performed and analyzed by subject experts from the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP) of the Specialized Information Services Division (SIS) of the National Library of Medicine (NLM).
- NORINA Database: Audiovisual Alternatives to the Use of Animals in TeachingNORINA (A Norwegian Inventory of Alternatives) provides information on over 3800 audiovisual aids and other alternatives such as computer programs to the use of animals or animal products in teaching, at all levels from junior [elementary] school to university; from the Norwegian Reference Centre for Laboratory Animal Sciences & Alternatives.
- Resources for Improving the Welfare of Animals in LaboratoriesThe Animal Welfare Institute provides a number of resources for individuals working with animals in laboratories to help improve and safeguard their welfare.
- AltwebGateway to animal research alternatives news, information, and resources on the Internet and beyond for the most commonly used laboratory animals, including: rats, mice, primates, dogs, cats, rabbits, pigs, guinea pigs, birds, sheep, fish, and exotic species.
- NTP Interagency Center for the Evaluation of Alternative Toxicological MethodsResource for new, revised, and alternative methods to identify potential hazards to human health and the environment, with a focus on replacing, reducing, or refining animal use.
- Netherlands Centre Alternatives to Animal Use DatabaseThe central point in the Netherlands for coordinating research and disseminating information on alternatives to animal experiments. The NCA is part of the Department for Animals, Science & Society of the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine within Utrecht University. Research towards alternatives to animal use is financed through the Programme 'Alternatives to Animal Experiments' of ZonMw.Abstracts of alternatives studies that were financed through ZonMw are published in the NCA Newsletter. This database allows you to search for specific studies funded by ZonMw (Source: vendor website).
- InterNiche : the International Network for Humane Education Alternatives DatabaseNetwork of international veterinary and biological studies educators who research and support the use of alternatives to animal use in education; large site of alternative databases, studies, commentary, etc.
- European Union Reference Laboratory for alternatives to animal testing (EURL-ECVAM)Large European site dedicated to alternatives searching and resources
Funded Research Project Databases
- Current Research Information System (CRIS/USDA)Database of documentation and reports for ongoing agricultural, food science, human nutrition, and forestry research, education and extension activities for the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA); a focus on the National Institute of Food and Agriculture (NIFA) grant programs.
- NIH RePORTERRegistry of funded grants from from NIH, SAMHSA, HRSA, FDA, CDC, AHRQ and VA; includes both past grants and the details of ongoing research.
- NSF Awards SearchSearch a database of official National Science Foundation awards past and present for information about research projects and outcomes.
Connect with us
