History 398: The Indian Question in Latin America: Digital Libraries and Websites
Digital Libraries
- Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC)The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
- Hathi Trust Digital LibraryPartnership of major libraries, Google, and Internet Archive providing millions of fulltext books and volumes of journals and other serials covering all subject and in many languages.
Note: To download full PDFs of public domain & open access items: Click 'Login' and then select University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill as the HathiTrust Partner Institution. Then enter your Onyen/Password on the resulting page, before being returned to the HathiTrust site. - Internet ArchiveProvides full text of millions of books, music, other digital media, and websites (including those it has archived that are no longer accessible elsewhere) in all subjects and many languages.
While the Internet Archive does not charge for access to its collections, you will need Unix programming skills to gain access to and use a collection of Web snapshots or Usenet postings. (The Wayback Machine provides free, easy-to-use access to individual Web pages).
Websites
Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) Indigenous Peoples page LANIC evaluates, organizes and describes freely available websites from and about Latin America and the Caribbean. There are various pages that may be interest to this class.
iPortal (Indigenous Studies Portal Research Tool) iPortal is a database of full-text electronic resources such as books, articles, theses and documents as well as digitized materials such as photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. focusing primarily on First Nations and Aboriginals of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.
International Work Group for Indigenous Affairs (IWGIA) IWGIA is an international, non-governmental human rights organization. They support indigenous peoples' struggle for human rights, self-determination, right to territory, control of land and resources, cultural integrity, and the right to development.
