Skip to Main Content

History 900: Crafting an Historical Project

Books Beyond Carolina

Triangle Research Libraries Network

A searchable catalog of the holdings of Duke, UNC-CH, NCCU, NCSU libraries.

WorldCat

A searchable electronic union catalog listing more than 40 million records owned by libraries around the world.

Carolina BLU

Locates needed materials in other libraries, borrows books and microform and obtains photocopied material on behalf of eligible UNC users.

Digital Collections

HathiTrust Digital Library

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Internet Archive

The Internet Archive and Open Library offers over 8,000,000 fully accessible public domain eBooks.

Search at UNC

Advanced Search | New Books | WorldCat

General Article Databases

Article Searching Tips

When searching in databases, try these handy tips for better results:

  • Use wildcard characters.  If searching for economic conditions, type the word econ* with an asterick. That will return economies, economic, economist and any word that starts with econ.
  • Use quotes.  When searching for two words, quotes will search for the words when they're next to each other.  Thomas Jefferson will return articles with Thomas Payne and Jefferson Starship.  But when "Thomas Jefferson" is searched, only those articles with his name will be returned.

Subject-specific article databases

The library subscribes to hundreds of specialized databases on subject areas ranging from engineering to art history. Here's how to begin using subject-specific databases:

E-Research by Discipline

Under each discipline you will find the contact information for the subject librarian in that field.

 

  • Last Updated: Jul 21, 2021 4:20 PM
  • URL: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/c.php?g=449432