Chem 102H Honors General Chemistry: Home
Researching a UNC Chemist
Finding Articles
- University Libraries WebsiteFind information on academic areas of all subjects including journal articles, ebooks and other reliable sources.
- Academic Search PremierFind information on academic areas of business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics; resource provides access to major popular and scholarly journals with many full-text articles.
- AccessScienceReference resource covering major scientific disciplines with links to primary sources
- Google Scholar Enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
- Proquest CentralA general reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
- PubMedDatabase of biomedical literature from the National Library of Medicine
- ScopusA large citation and abstracting database providing comprehensive coverage of the peer-reviewed journal and conference literature, with links to full-text where available through the library.
Chemical Information Sources
To find the CAS number of a molecule, look it up in the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics:
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 96th Edition by ISBN: 9781482260960Publication Date: 2015-06-15A scientific reference of authoritative resources consisting of tables of data and current international recommendations on nomenclature, symbols, and units.
- ChemSpiderA chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 34 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
- National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) - Chem WebBookNIST provides chemical and physical property data on over 40000 compounds.
- Cambridge Structural Database• Resource for three-dimensional structural data of organic molecules
• Repository for small-molecule organic and metal-organic crystal structures
• Entries from x-ray and neutron diffraction analyses
Note: Users must register for an account on the site with a UNC email.
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial ChemistryReference work detailing the science and technology in all areas of inorganic and organic chemicals, advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, biotechnology and biotechnological products, food chemistry, process engineering and unit operations, analytical methods and environmental protection,
Science News
EurekAlert
Current research news compiled by scientific society AAAS.
Science Daily
Summaries of current research articles with links to original publications.
- AccessScience
- Reference resource covering major scientific disciplines with links to primary sources
- Online equivalent to the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology and the McGraw-Hill Yearbook of Science and Technology
- Today's Science
- Searchable reference index of articles
- Glossary of scientific terms and biographies on important figures in science
- Draws on major scientific journals, magazines and newspapers in the United States and abroad
- Offers teacher content, including specific National Science Education Standards
You can also use the Articles+ search tool to find news articles.
Writing and Citing
- ACS Guide to Scholarly CommunicationThis online style guide resource provides students, researchers, educators and librarians with the instruction and advice they need to master the art of scholarly communication (publications, presentations, data conventions and communicating with the public).
Write Like a Chemist by ISBN: 9780195367423Write Like a Chemist is a guide to chemistry-specific writing. It offers a structured approach to writing that targets four important chemistry genres: the journal article, conference abstract, scientific poster, and research proposal.
Outlines:
-
How to write an outline (video)
-
Why and how to create an outline (Purdue OWL)
Abstracts:
- UNC Writing Center - Abstracts - Excellent guide to composing abstracts. Also available as a PDF
Researching in the Sciences (videos)
Author's Guide for submitting an article to the ACS journal Analytical Chemistry
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (online)
Science Libraries Chat
Science Librarian
Therese Triumph
she/her/hers
orcid.org/0000-0001-5494-4574Podcasts
- Lost Women (Scientists) of the Manhattan Project - During World War II, thousands of scientists and engineers worked on the Manhattan project, the top secret push to develop an atomic bomb that would end the war. Hundreds of the scientists who worked on the Manhattan Project were women.
Laboratory Safety Information
- UNC Department of Environment, Health and SafetyThe Chemical Safety Section works to anticipate, recognize, evaluate, and control personnel exposures to chemical hazards.
- MSDS plus CHEMINFOA comprehensive collection of over 200,000 Material Safety Data Sheets for chemicals and commercial products. Each MSDS is presented exactly as provided by the manufacturer/supplier and contains chemical and physical properties, health hazards, first aid recommendations, personal protection, fire and reactivity data, spill and disposal procedures, and storage/handling recommendations. This database also includes CHEMINFO, which contains chemical profile information for more than 1,300 important workplace chemicals.
Note: UNC-Chapel Hill Department of Environment, Health & Safety is the subscriber to this database. Please contact the Dept. if you have questions about the database or other items related to chemical hygiene. - CCOHS Academic Support ProgramCanadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety Academic Support Program provides access to the following databases and collections: MSDS: Material Safety Data Sheets from manufacturers and suppliers; RTECS: Registry of Toxic Effects of Chemical Substances; CHEMINFO: Comprehensive health and safety information on pure chemicals; OSH References: OSHLINE, NIOSHTIC, NIOSHTIC-2, HSELINE, CISILO, Canadiana; FTSS: Fiche techniques sur la scurit des substances.
Note: UNC-Chapel Hill Dept. of Environment, Health & Safety is the subscriber to this database. Please contact the Dept. if you have questions about the database or other items related to chemical hygiene.
Patent Searching
- The USPTO Patent DatabasesSearch the full text of patents 1976 - present; patents issued 1790 - 1975 are searchable by patent number or issue date. The Patent Application Database contains all patent applications published since 2001.
- EspacenetA free patent search tool, including 80 million patent documents from the European Patent Office, the USPTO, and other countries worldwide, searchable by full text.
- The LensA patent search database including records from patent offices worldwide. It also allows searching of gene sequences.
Connect with us
