Skip to Main Content

SPAN 371.002 Studies in Spanish Literature: Love and Conflict in Spanish Literature: Getting Started

Welcome to the course page for SPAN 371: Studies in Spanish Literature

The Rustic Offering, Bayeu y Subías, Ramón. Copyright ©Museo Nacional del Prado

Welcome to the research guide for SPAN 371.002: Studies in Spanish Literature. Here you will find various campus resources and library resources related to the content of your course.

UNC Chapel Hill Libraries home page

Image of UNC Chapel Hill Libraries home page

New York Times Academic Pass

Overview

The University Libraries, with support from the Kathrine R. Everett Law Library, have partnered with the New York Times to provide students, faculty, and staff with access to NYTimes.com and the NYTimes.com mobile app. Interested users will need to authenticate through accessnyt.com once to set up an account.

Faculty/Staff will be provided with an academic pass valid for 4 years. Students will be provided an academic pass valid until December 31, of the graduation year they select.

Setting up your account

NEW subscribers

  1. Visit accessnyt.com to create an account.
  2. Type in University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and follow the instructions.
  3. If you encounter any error messages, please email edu@nytimes.com.

EXISTING registered subscribers with ACTIVE PAID NYT subscription

  1. If you have an active paid subscription, you will first need to cancel your personal subscription. You can do this by connecting with a chat agent on the site or calling 800-698-4637.
  2. After you cancel your paid account, you can follow the directions below to claim your complimentary subscription.

EXISTING registered subscribers that DO NOT HAVE ACTIVE NYT subscription

  1. Visit accessnyt.com to create an account.
  2. Click on "Already have an account "Log In" (Found below "Create An Account").
  3. Input your email address and the same password created for your previous account.
  4. If you encounter any error messages, please email edu@nytimes.com.

Additional New York Times resources

The UNC Library provides access to backfile articles in PDF format via New York Times Historical Newspaper. There is no daily limit to the number of articles you can download.

All UNC community members have access to The New York Times in Education, a collection of materials highlighting how The Times can be used to support curricular and extra-curricular learning. Sign up with your UNC email address. 

Access restrictions

Access does not include e-reader editions, NYT Cooking, Premium Crosswords, or The New York Times Crosswords apps. Pass users receive access to the New York Times archives (1851-2002) which includes 5 PDF downloads from the Times Machine per day via timesmachine.nytimes.com/browser. Archive articles outside that date range are not subject to that limit. Digital access is available only during the time that our New York Times Site License is active.

Help

Contact edu@nytimes.com if you have access or registration issues.

Contact Suchi Mohanty (smohanty@email.unc.edu) if you have questions about UNC Chapel Hill's subscription to the New York Times Academic Pass.

The Washington Post

Overview

The University Libraries has partnered with The Washington Post to provide students, faculty, and staff with Digital Subscription access to The Washington Post online and on all apps. This source provides you with expert reporting and analysis from Washington and around the world, including award-winning investigative coverage and editorial commentary. Coverage includes the past 15 years of content.

Accessing The Washington Post

  1. Visit https://www.washingtonpost.com.
  2. Click on Sign In in the upper right-hand corner.
  3. Click on Sign up link in the lower right-hand corner to register a new account.
    • Note: if you already have a Washington Post account with your organization's email address, login from The Washington Post home page and proceed to step 5.
  4. After clicking on the Sign up link in the lower right-hand corner, enter your organization's email address and choose a password. Click Create account.
  5. Once you have been redirected to the home page, click on your name in the upper right-hand corner. This will result in the menu being displayed. Click Account settings.
  6. Make sure your email address is Verified. If not, click Unverified to be sent a verification email.
  7. Click on the My subscriptions tab. Click Activate free digital access.
  8. Your subscription is now active and ready to use.

Additional Washington Post Resources

The Washington Post Historical Newspaper offers hundreds of thousands of pages of full-text and full-image newspaper articles covering the entire publishing history of the newspaper from 1877 to 1990. Researchers and students can use the images to find not only news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, but also historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements.

Help

Contact Suchi Mohanty (smohanty@email.unc.edu) if you have questions about UNC Chapel Hill's subscription to The Washington Post.

MLA Style 8th edition

The Modern Languages Association (MLA) style is commonly used for citing references in humanities courses.

This guide is based on the MLA Handbook (8th ed.), published in 2016.Visit the MLA Style Center Website for more information.

Citing Tutorial

This site is designed to introduce you to citing information in a variety of citation styles. It also explains the role of citation in scholarly work, provides guidelines for deciding when you need to cite, and gives a definition of plagiarism.

Librarian for Latin America, Iberia and Latina/o Studies, American Indian and Indigenous Studies

Profile Photo
Teresa Chapa
She/Her/Hers
Contact:
Davis Library Global Resources & Area Studies

Davis Library Research Hub

Davis Library Research HubThe Davis Library Research Hub is one of three Research Hub locations.  It is located on the second floor of Davis Library, and caters to researchers interested in working with data, mapping, texts, visualization, and technology. Offerings include:

Writing Center

Visit UNC's Writing Center to make appointments, find writing tips and access relevant handouts.