Applied Physical Sciences: Background Information
Articles+
Using Find @ UNC
If an article search indicates we don't have an item:
1) Click the 
button.
2) If available, click an article link, if not, click the journal link.
3) Can't find it? Request it from another library through Interlibrary Loan.
News & Encyclopedias
- Comprehensive Biophysics8 volume reference set on biophysics.
- Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical TechnologyDesigned to present the versatile field of chemical technology to professionals who wish to learn about technologically important materials, established as well as cutting edge methods, and relevant phenomena. Written by prominent scholars from industry, academia, and research institutions, the Encyclopedia brings together and treats systematically facts on the properties, manufacturing, and uses of chemicals and materials, processes, and engineering principles, coupled with insights into current research, emerging technologies and economic aspects. (Source: vendor website)
- Ullmann's encyclopedia of industrial chemistryCovers science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry.
- AccessScience
- Reference resource covering major scientific disciplines with links to primary sources
- Online equivalent to the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology and the McGraw-Hill Yearbook of Science and Technology
- Today's Science
- Searchable reference index of articles
- Glossary of scientific terms and biographies on important figures in science
- Draws on major scientific journals, magazines and newspapers in the United States and abroad
- Offers teacher content, including specific National Science Education Standards
Annual Reviews
- Annual ReviewsComprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading authorities that synthesizing developments in scores of biomedical, physical, and social sciences subjects.
Note: Many of the Annual Reviews have moved to Open Access. A list of Reviews that have moved to open access can be found here: https://www.annualreviews.org/page/subscriptions/subscribe-to-open. UNC Chapel Hill does not have access to all Annual Reviews titles.
Literature Reviews
What is a literature review?
Rather than describing original research results, literature reviews summarize the research on a particular topic by synthesizing information from many primary sources.
Why should I read literature reviews?
Review articles can be helpful for gathering background information and identifying key articles in a particular field.
How can I find a literature review?
Many library databases, including Scopus, and PubMed, allow you to filter search results to include only "review articles" or "literature reviews." Annual Reviews is a database of reviews synthesizing primary research in the sciences.
Writing a literature review? Check out our tutorial.
Contact for Help
orcid.org/0000-0001-5494-4574