A comprehensive collection of over 200,000 Material Safety Data Sheets for chemicals and commercial products. Each MSDS is presented exactly as provided by the manufacturer/supplier and contains chemical and physical properties, health hazards, first aid recommendations, personal protection, fire and reactivity data, spill and disposal procedures, and storage/handling recommendations. This database also includes CHEMINFO, which contains chemical profile information for more than 1,300 important workplace chemicals.
Note: UNC-Chapel Hill Department of Environment, Health & Safety is the subscriber to this database. Please contact the Dept. if you have questions about the database or other items related to chemical hygiene.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
The NIST Chemistry WebBook is a database of thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) under the Standard Reference Data Program
MatWeb's searchable database of material properties includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials.
These are just a few of the resources you can use to locate research data. Guidelines for citing data sets vary; see specific data resources for more information about citations.
A free structure database from the Royal Society of Chemistry, with millions of substances linked to freely available data from sources like PubMed and PubChem, RSC publications, and ChemIDPlus (NLM), as well as publicly available data from GlaxoSmithKline, National Institutes of Health (NIH), National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), and Sigma-Aldrich, as well as data supplied by researchers.