Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Law Library Homepage About the Law Library Research Services Faculty Students Help Ask a Law Librarian Law Library Home page UNC Libraries Law Library Blog Twitter

Legal Treatises by Subject

In this guide you will find general resources for various fields of law arranged alphabetically.

Torts

Daye, Charles E. and Mark W. Morris. North Carolina Law of Torts. 3rd ed. New Providence, N.J. : LexisNexis, 2012- (2019 Supplement) [KFN7595 .D39 2012] (Reserve Room) [Available electronically via Lexis Advance to UNC Law Students and Faculty].

Focused on tort law in North Carolina, this treatise is divided into four rough parts: intentional torts and defenses, negligence and defenses, strict liability and defenses, and other torts overlapping these categories.

Dobbs, Dan B. et al. The Law of Torts. 2nd ed. St. Paul, MN : West 2011- (2019 Supplement) [KF1250 .D62 2011] (Reserve Room) [Available electronically via West Academic to UNC Law Students and Faculty].

Dobbs’ Law of Torts is a comprehensive discussion of legal principles and rules of tort law. The treatise is divided into seven broad sections: introduction of tort law, intentional physical interference with person and property, negligent physical interference with person or property, immunities and special duties, innocent interference (strict liability), personal injury cases, and dignitary/economic torts.

Morris, Daniel A. Federal Tort Claims. St. Paul, MN : Thomson Reuters, 2010- [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty].

Federal Tort Claims covers the law of tort actions against the United States. Chapters on jurisdiction, applicable law, damages, costs and fees, and judicial procedures, among others, deal with procedural matters. Chapters on specific types of claims—e.g. medical malpractice, property damage, and motor vehicle claims—delve into the details of certain claims.

Frumer, Louis R. and Friedman, Melvin I. Personal Injury : Actions, Defenses, Damages. New York, NY : Matthew Bender & Company, 1957- (2013 update) [KF8925.P4 P38] [Available electronically via Lexis Advance to UNC Law Students and Faculty]. 

This treatise is a comprehensive case law collection of personal injury laws as they relate to premises liability and real property claims. A valuable resource for real estate and personal injury lawyers, this book provides coverage of theories of recovery, causes of action, defense, damages, and forms in a simple,organized manner.

Nates, Jerome H. et al. Damages in Tort Actions. Matthew Bender & Company, 2012- [Available electronically via Lexis Advance to UNC Law Students and Faculty]. 

This treatise provides in-depth legal and policy analysis of compensatory and punitive damages in personal injury and property damage cases, plus case annotations to all jurisdictions and examples of illustrative awards and settlements. It covers damages for pain and suffering, emotional distress, loss of enjoyment of life, medical expenses, loss of earnings and earning capacity, loss of consortium and service, prenatal injuries, wrongful death, destruction of personal property, and more. 

Lindahl, Barry A. Modern Tort Law : Liability and Litigation. 2nd ed. Eagan, MN : Thomson Reuters, 2019- [KF1250 .D62 2nd] [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty]. 

This treatise offers a comprehensive coverage of new interpretations, precedents, problems, and opportunities of tort litigation. This text explains both traditional tort concepts - such as nuisance, master-servant relationships, and negligence - and current law, including medical malpractice, professional malpractice, and products liability. 

McCarthy, J. Thomas. The Rights of Publicity and Privacy. Eagan, MN : Thomson Reuters, 2004- (2019 update) [KF1262 .M43] [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty]. 

This treatise focuses on the important and evolving field of publicity and privacy rights, whether based on state, common, federal, or foreign law. It explains and commends on the types of claims that may be made against the use of the identity of real people in advertising and sales, as well as in literary works and entertainment. 

Smolla, Rodney A. Law of Defamation. St. Paul, MN : Thomson Reuters, 2010- [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty]. 

This treatise offers a comprehensive analysis of defamation law, useful to legal practitioners and other professionals, including professors, publishers, and media industry experts. Updated every year, this treatise provides step-by-step guidance to all the legal and business complexities posed by modern libel law. 

Stein, Jacob A. Stein on Personal Injury Damages. 3rd ed. St. Paul, MN : West Group, 1997- (2019 Supplement) [KF1257 .S742] [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty]. 

This treatise is uniquely divided into two main parts that can be used either as a quick-answer resource or an in-depth case-finder and analyst. The first part offers the most thorough, current treatment available of all personal injury issues. The second part contains the leading or benchmark cases from each jurisdiction concerning particular damages issued to support legal theories, streamlining research by giving you only those cases which have created legal precedent. 

Quicklinks