Chisum, Donald S. Chisum on Patents: A Treatise on the Law of Patentability, Validity and Infringement. New York : Matthew Bender & Company, 1997- (2024 Update) [KF3114 .C47] [Available electronically via Lexis Advance to UNC Law Students and Faculty].
This 33-volume treatise provides an authoritative analysis of all issues pertaining to patent law, including doctrines, rules and case law relating to patentability, validity and infringement. Chisum on Patents is also the most cited treatise in patent law today - cited more than 800 times by the U.S. federal courts and twice as much as the nearest competitor since it was released in 1978.
Moy, R. Carl. Moy's Walker on Patents. 4th ed. St. Paul, MN : Thomson Reuters, 2010- (2023 Update) [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty].
This highly-cited multi-volume set offers a comprehensive and analytical treatment of the history of patent law, the patent system's organization and process, patentability issues, and statutory law and caselaw on other patent law issues.
Faber, Robert C. Faber on Mechanics of Patent Claim Drafting. 7th ed. New York, NY : Practicing Law Institute, 2015- (2019 Update) [KF3125.C5 L3] [Available electronically via PLI Plus to UNC Students and Faculty (2023 Update)].
A trusted working tool for more than two decades, this treatise spotlights proven claim drafting practices and techniques that have been firmly established by patent authorities and custom.
Holmes, Mark S. Patent Licensing and Selling: Strategy, Negotiation, Forms. 2nd ed. New York City : Practicing Law Institute, 2013- (2018 Update) [KF3145 .H64] [Available electronically via PLI Plus to UNC Law Students and Faculty (2023 Update)].
Packed with more than 800 ready-to-use document provisions, including dozens of new sample contract clauses with related analysis, this treatise is a safe path to drafting fair and foolproof patent licenses. Covering every aspect of license agreements - from assignments to waivers - for licensors and licensees, Patent Licensing ensures that every term and every phrase in the final document combines to serve your client's business interests, satisfy the other party, and shield your client from needless risks.
Pharmaceutical and Biotech Patent Law. David K. Barr and Daniel L. Reisner, editors. New York, NY : Practicing Law Institute, 2019 [Available electronically via PLI Plus to UNC Students and Faculty].
This treatise provides the legal, scientific, and technical information you need to help clients obtain, defend, and challenge patents in these important business areas. This practical guide shows you how to craft problem-free patent applications, including how to partner with the government to bring patented inventions quickly to the marketplace - invalidate competitors' patents by proving that they fail to meet key requirements - protect against various forms of patent infringement - and successfully rebut charges of infringement.
Nimmer, Melville B. Nimmer on Copyright: A Treatise on the Law of Literary, Musical and Artistic Property, and the Protection of Ideas. New York : Matthew Bender & Company, 1978- (2024 Update) [KF2991.5 .N55] (Reserve Room) [Available electronically via Lexis Advance to UNC Law Students and Faculty].
Nimmer on Copyright is the preeminent treatise on U.S. Copyright law. Cited extensively by the courts and by scholars, Nimmer contains 11 volumes of extremely thorough analysis of the Copyright Act and related provisions of federal, state, and international law.
Patry, William F. Patry on Copyright. Eagan, MN : Thomson/West, 2006- (2024 Update) [KF2991.5 .P382] [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty].
Patry on Copyright offers essentially the same coverage as Nimmer, but offers competing analysis on several issues. The section on fair use is extensive, and is supplemented by a separate title, Patry on Fair Use, the most extensive treatment of the fair use doctrine available.
Patry, William F. Patry on Fair Use. St. Paul, MN : Thomson Reuters, 2010- (2024 Update) [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty].
Goldstein, Paul. Goldstein on Copyright. 3rd ed. New York, NY : Wolters Kluwer, 2005- (2024 Update) [Available electronically via Cheetah to UNC Students and Faculty].
Authored by Stanford Law professor Paul Goldstein, Goldstein on Copyright was created with the practitioner in mind. At four volumes, Goldstein offers a relatively concise analysis of U.S. Copyright Law, with special coverage of emerging issues (e.g., internet law issues, and the interaction between copyright law and antitrust law).
Keller, Bruce P. and Cunard, Jeffrey P. Copyright Law : A Practitioner's Guide. 2nd ed. New York, NY : Practicing Law Institute, 2015- (2019 Update) [KF2994 .K345] [Available electronically via PLI Plus to UNC Students and Faculty (2024 Update)].
This treatise focuses on the current status of U.S. copyright law, explaining the major federal copyright legislation and related court rulings.
McCarthy, J. Thomas. McCarthy on Trademarks and Unfair Competition. 5th ed. Eagan, MN : Thomson Reuters, 2017- (2024 Update) [KF3180 .M33] [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty].
McCarthy is an authoritative source of information and analysis about formulating, registering, licensing, protecting, and litigating trademarks and related rights. In print for 40 years and cited in more than 4,000 USPTO and federal court opinions, McCarthy is the leading guide for understanding and applying U.S. trademark law.
Gilson, Jerome and Lalonde, Anne Gilson. Gilson on Trademarks. Karin Green, assistant editor. Newark, NJ : Matthew Bender & Company, 2007- (2023 Update) [KF3180 .G54] [Available electronically via Lexis Advance to UNC Law Students and Faculty (2024 Update)].
Gilson offers comprehensive and current treatment of trademark law in the United States, with clear explanations of basic principles and expert discussion of complex issues. Another highly-cited treatise, Gilson covers analysis of infringement, trade dress, right of publicity, false advertising, counterfeiting, dilution and trademark law remedies. Gilson also offers extensive practice forms and drafting guides, and an extensive legislative history of the Lanham Act.
Milgrim, Rodger M. Milgrim on Trade Secrets. New York, NY : Matthew Bender & Company, 1967- (2023 Update) [KF3197 .M55] [Available electronically via Lexis Advance to UNC Law Students and Faculty (2024 Update)].
This treatise provides extensive coverage of the law relating to the protection and use of trade secrets. Issues discussed include licensing of trade secrets, contractual and legal protections of trade secrets, as well as how trade secrets relate to copyright and patent law. The appendices contain laws, regulations, reports as well as articles.
Forms from Milgrim on Trade Secrets. [Available electronically via Lexis Advance to UNC Law Students and Faculty].
Milgrim, Roger M. and Bensen, Eric E. Milgrim on Licensing. Danvers, MA : Matthew Bender & Company, 2013- (2024 Update) [Available electronically via Lexis Advance to UNC Law Students and Faculty].
This treatise is a comprehensive guide to licensing transactions in every substantive area of intellectual property. It provides practical advice and guidance on drafting individual clauses as well as complete agreements. Key coverage includes: licensing characteristics of patents, trade secrets, trademarks and copyrights; licensing of multiple intellectual property; antitrust considerations; the effects of NAFTA on licensing; and drafting and sample contract clauses.
Jager, Melvin F. Trade Secrets Law. St. Paul, MN : Thomson/West, 2002- (2024 Update) [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty].
This treatise covers the preservation and protection of trade secrets in the United States. It includes a full analysis of all the pertinent laws, with particular attention given to the Defend Trade Secrets Act and state-by-state Uniform Trade Secrets Acts, as well as a thorough review of the many divergent legal theories accepted by the courts.
Mills, John Gladstone et al. Patent Law Fundamentals. 2nd ed. rev. Eagan, MN : Thomson Reuters, 2002- (2024 Update) [KF3114 .R66 3rd] [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty].
This treatise provides new attorneys and patent law specialists alike with in-depth information on current patent law and practice. This title offers guidance on how-to: research any patent issue and formulate strategies; prepare a patent application with an emphasis on claim drafting; prosecute an application before the Patent and Trademark Office; understand inference proceeds in the PTO, and identify the differences in patent law between the U.S. and other countries.
Epstein, Michael A. Epstein on Intellectual Property. 5th ed. New York, NY : Wolters Kluwer, 2006- (2023 Update) [Available electronically via Cheetah to UNC Students and Faculty].
This treatise covers the latest legal developments in such hot areas as biotechnology, intellectual property, due diligence, software protection, copyright infringement, ownership of employee inventions, and more.
