Perlin, Michael L. et al. Mental Disability Law : Civil and Criminal. 2nd ed. Charlottesville, VA : Matthew Bender & Company, 1998- [KF480 .P478 (2012 Update)] [Available electronically via Lexis Advance to UNC Law Students and Faculty (2024 Update)].
This treatise is a logically organized and readable discussion of the entire body of law affecting the mentally disabled. It provides thoughtful answers to practically every research, counseling, or litigation problem that could conceivably arise in this area. Each chapter of this treatise contains practical checklists and commentary to highlight and clarify case authority. Extensively annotated, it contains a table of cases and cites hundreds of authoritative secondary sources.
Perritt, Henry H. Jr. Americans with Disabilities Act Handbook. 6th ed. New York, NY : Wolters Kluwer, 1990- (2024 Update) [Available electronically via Cheetah to UNC Students and Faculty].
This treatise provides a comprehensive analysis of the Americans with Disabilities Act's employment, commercial-facilities, governmental-programs and public accommodations provisions and also provides an overview of the transportation and communications requirements. It analyzes statutory language, legislative history, agency regulations, and relevant case law.
Mook, Jonathan R. Americans with Disabilities Act : Employee Rights and Employer Obligations. Matthew Bender & Company, 2012- (2024 Update) [Available electronically via Lexis Advance to UNC Law Students and Faculty].
This practice-oriented treatise shows readers, in directly applicable step-by-step form, how to meet all the ADA legal requirements that affect employment policies and procedures. It includes essential checklists and forms, examples of fact situation in question-and-answer format; and highlighted notes and warnings.
Mook, Jonathan R. Americans with Disabilities Act : Public Accommodations and Commercial Facilities. Matthew Bender & Company, 2012- (2024 Update) [Available electronically via Lexis Advance to UNC Law Students and Faculty].
This treatise extensively analyzes the scope and nature of the obligations that Title III of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) imposes upon almost every business in the nation to make reasonable accommodations to ensure their facilities, programs, goods and services are accessible to people with disabilities.
Americans with Disabilities : Practice and Compliance Manual. St. Paul, MN : West Group, 1992- [KF480 .A96 (2023 Update)] [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty (2024 Update)].
This treatise is designed to provide attorneys representing businesses, schools, and municipalities with ADA compliance information, and how to bring suit and defend against discrimination charges under the ADA. Organized by topic, this multi volume treatise includes discussion of: employment, public accommodations, and education issues for persons with disabilities.
Phelan, Gary E. and Arterton, Janet Bond. Disability Discrimination in the Workplace. St. Paul, MN : Thomson Reuters, 2010- (2023 Update) [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty].
This treatise offers a comprehensive discussion of the law of disability discrimination and accommodation of employees with disabilities, along with checklists and forms for developing compliance strategies and defending litigated claims. A thorough treatment of the protections and remedies available under the Americans with Disabilities Act, the Rehabilitation Act, and other federal remedies for disability discrimination, this title also analyzes the disability discrimination laws of all 50 states with coverage of parties, protected conditions, commencing the action, proof burdens, and remedies.
Blanck, Peter David et al. Disability Civil Rights and Policy : Cases and Materials. 3rd ed. St. Paul, MN : West Academic Publishing, 2014 [KF480 .D57] (Course Reserve).
This treatise examines the development of disability rights law and policy in the United States and abroad, and gives a complete and current treatment of the Americans and Disabilities Act and the ADA Amendments Act, including the background of the statute's passage, definition of disability, discrimination in employment, public services, and pubic accommodations.
Coleman, John J., III. Disability Discrimination in Employment. St. Paul, MN : Thomson Reuters, 2010- (2024 Update) [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty].
This treaters offers a comprehensive discussion of the law of disability discrimination and accommodation of employees with disabilities, along with checklists and forms for developing compliance strategies and defending litigated claims. A thorough treatment of the protections and remedies available under the Americans with Disabilities Act, the Rehabilitation Act, and other federal remedies for disability discrimination, the title also analyzes the disability discrimination laws of all 50 states and DC, with coverage of parties, protected conditions, commencing the action, proof burdens, and remedies.
Rothstein, Laura F. and Irzyk, Julia. Disabilities & the Law. 4th ed. Eagan, MN : Thomson Reuters, 2010- (2024 Update) [KF480 .R67] [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty].
This treatise offers unique perspectives of the Americans with Disabilities Act, the Rehabilitation Act, and other disability rights laws. Topics discussed include: elementary and secondary education; higher education; employment; public accommodations and public services; architectural barriers; housing; transportation; the pursuit of happiness; and healthcare.
Weber, Mark C. Understanding Disability Law. 3rd ed. Durham, NC : Carolina Academic Press, 2019 [KF480 .W433 2019] (Davis Library) [Available electronically via Lexis Advance to UNC Law Students and Faculty].
This treatise addresses various areas of disability law, including: statutory coverage; employment discrimination; educational discrimination; public accommodations discrimination; discrimination in government services and federally funded programs; housing; transportation; telecommunications; and additional discrimination topics.
Mook, Jonathan R. ADA : Public Accommodations and Commercial Facilities. Danvers, MA : Matthew Bender & Company, 2012- (2024 Update) [Available electronically via Lexis Advance to UNC Law Students and Faculty].
This treatise analyzes the scope and nature of the obligations that Title III of Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) imposes upon almost every business in the nation to make reasonable accommodations to ensure their facilities, programs, goods, and services are accessible to people with disabilities. It features an in-depth explanation of the steps public accommodations and commercial facilities must take in order to comply with the construction and alteration requirements of Title III.
Goren, William D. Understanding the ADA. 4th ed. Chicago, IL : American Bar Association, 2013 [KF480 .G67 2013].
Explaining in clear and simple terms the legislation, administrative regulations, and case law of the Americans with Disabilities Act, this handbook goes beyond the myths and offers a virtual road map to the law as well as a framework for dealing with the ADA in a preventive manner. By reviewing the ADA in the context of real-world situations, the book brings clarity and perspective to this important area of the law.
ADA Compliance Guide. Washington, DC : Thompson Publishing Group, 1990- (2012 update) [KF4754.3 .A32] [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty].
This treatise provides readers with the information needed to comply with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and related statutes. Designed to provide attorneys representing businesses, schools, and municipalities with ADA compliance information, it addresses how to bring suit and defend against discrimination charges under the ADA. Organized by topic, this multi volume treatise includes discussion of: employment, public accommodations, and education issues for persons with disabilities.
Jasper, Margaret C. The Americans with Disabilities Act. St. Paul, MN : Thomson Reuters, 2012- [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty].
This text examines the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and discusses the rights disabled individuals are entitled to under the statute. Packed with facts on areas governed by the ADA, this easy to use resource covers employment, public transportation, public accommodations, state and local government services, and telecommunications.
Coleman, John J. III. Disability Discrimination in Employment. St. Paul, MN : Thomson Reuters, 2010- (2024 Update) [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty].
This treatise covers the principal federal and state law remedies that are available to employees in both the public and private sectors.
Marx, Gary S. Disability Law Compliance Manual. St. Paul, MN : Thomson Reuters, 2010- (2024 Update) [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty].
Disability Law Compliance Manual covers legal and compliance issues related to the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA), especially ADA provision covering employment and public accommodations.
Estevez, Anne Marie and Joseph, Beth S. Public Accommodations under the Americans with Disabilities Act. St. Paul, MN : Thomson Reuters, 2010- (2024 Update) [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty].
This manual presents the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) in easy-to-understand language and is a useful resource for ensuring compliance or handling litigation. In addition to a comprehensive review of ADA standards and litigation issues, it provides practical guidance in applying Title III of the law (public accommodations). Key topics covered include ADA requirements, entities covered by and exempted from Title III, constitutional challenges to Title III, barrier removal, new construction and alterations, auxiliary aids, federal certification, tax considerations, and enforcement.
