Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Law Library Homepage About the Law Library Research Services Faculty Students Help Ask a Law Librarian Law Library Home page UNC Libraries Law Library Blog Twitter

Legal Treatises by Subject

In this guide you will find general resources for various fields of law arranged alphabetically.

Criminal Law and Procedure

Criminal Practice Manual. Eagan, MN : Thomson/West, 2004- (2019 Supplement) [KF9619 .C75] [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty].

This practice manual is aimed at criminal defense attorneys, and is intended to analyze the substance of the law, discuss significant new developments in the law, and to provide practitioners with techniques, strategies for winning cases, forms and checklists.  It is organized in order of typical criminal matters from initial appearance to sentencing.

Hall, John Wesley, Jr. Search and Seizure. New Providence, NJ : LexisNexis, 2013- (2018-19 Supplement) [KF9630 .H6 2012] [Available electronically via Lexis Advance to UNC Law Students and Faculty].

Written for trial lawyers and judges, this resource focuses on search and seizure issues that arise in criminal matters.  In addition to substantive analysis, it contains practice tips, checklists, and concise discussion of various aspects of search and seizure aimed at practicing attorneys.

Randall, Samuel J. et al. Criminal Procedure in North Carolina. 4th ed. Newark, NJ : LexisNexis, 2015 (2018 Supplement) [KFN7975 .J69 2015] (Reserve Room) [Available electronically via Lexis Advance to UNC Law Students and Faculty]. 

This manual contains analysis and explanation of criminal rules of procedure, including relevant case law which impacts interpretation or application of those rules.  Other material, including practical and ethical considerations, gives attorneys guidance on issues that could impact the trail process.

LaFave, Wayne, R. et al. Criminal Procedure. 6th ed. St. Paul, MN : West Academic Publishing, 2017- (2018-19 Supplement) [KF9619 .L341 2017) (Reserve Room) [Available electronically via West Academic to UNC Law Students and Faculty].

Criminal Procedure provides analysis of all aspects of criminal procedure.  It begins with an introduction to the criminal justice process and the constitutionalization of criminal procedure, then addresses various criminal rules according to the usual order of criminal proceedings, from detection and investigation of crimes to trial and appeals.

LaFave, Wayne R. Substantive Criminal Law. Eagan, MN : Thompson Reuters, 2017- (2018-19 Supplement) [KF9219 .L86 2017] [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty].

This resource presents the substantive information on criminal law, with particular emphasis on the elements of common criminal offenses.  It covers all state jurisdictions and discusses the Model Penal Code.

James Wm. Moore. Moore's Federal Practice (Criminal). 3rd ed. Daniel R. Coquillette, et al., editors. New York, NY : M. Bender, 1997- (2018 Supplement) [KF8820.A313 M66 3rd] [Available electronically via Lexis Advance to UNC Law Students and Faculty].

Moore’s Federal Practice is a preeminent treatise on federal criminal and civil procedure, rules of evidence, rules of appellate procedure, and rules of the Supreme Court.

Price, Ronald M. North Carolina Criminal Trial Practice Forms. 6th ed. Eagan, MN : West, 2011- [KFN7975.A65 P741] [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty].

This resource is primarily comprised of forms which can be adapted for many criminal trial situations.  Forms are organized according to the chronology of the criminal case, and were either issued by the Administrative Office of the Courts or written by experienced attorneys.  Other materials include attorney checklists and a few explanatory notes.

Torcia, Charles E. Wharton’s Criminal Law. 15th ed. Deerfield, IL : Clark Boardman Callaghan, 1993- (2019-20 Supplement) [KF9219 .W43 1993] [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty].

Wharton’s Criminal Law covers the substance of criminal law in both state and federal jurisdictions.  After a general overview of criminal law principles, this source organizes its analysis of criminal activity into seven categories of offenses: offenses against the person, against morals, against the habitation, against property, against public peace and welfare, against public authority and government, and inchoate offenses.  The Model Penal Code is discussed as well.

Hertz, Randy and Liebman, James S. Federal Habeas Corpus Practice and Procedure. San Francisco, CA : LexisNexis, 2015- (2019 update) [KF9011 .L532] [Available electronically via Lexis Advance to UNC Law Students and Faculty]. 

This treatise consists of practical advice and analysis of U.S. Supreme Court cases and includes comprehensive coverage of statutes of limitations, petition filing requirements, appointment of counsel, range and types of discovery, standards for obtaining federal evidentiary hearings, range and types of discovery, etc.  

Robinson, Paul H. Criminal Law Defenses. St. Paul, MN : Thomson Reuters, 1984- (2019 update) [KF9240 .R63] [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty]. 

This treatise assists with effective representation of defendants by providing defenses recognized by statutes and case law of every state. This treatise helps readers to discover whether a particular defense is available to a client, and assess the potential and the limitations of more than 60 commonly employed defenses, covering virtually every criminal law defense statute. 

Podgor, Ellen S. et al. White Collar Crime. 2nd ed. St. Paul, MN : West Academic Publishing, 2018 [KF9350 .P629 2018] (Reserve Room) [Available electronically via West Academic to UNC Students and Faculty]. 

This one-volume treatise provides an in-depth analysis of substantive and procedural aspects of white collar crime. Offenses analyzed include conspiracy, fraud, corruption, RICO, false statements, perjury, tax, currency reporting, bankruptcy, environmental and computer crimes. 

Brenner, Susan W. and Shaw, Lori E. Federal Grand Jury : A Guide to Law and Practice. 2nd ed. Eagan, MN : Thomson/West Publishing Company, 2006- (2019-2020 update) [KF9642 .B73] [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty]. 

This treatise provides a step-by-step guide to the federal grand jury process, and provides information on issues such as clients' rights, challenges, special privileges available to a witness, the structure and functions of federal grand juries, how a grand jury is selected and how long it serves. 

Quicklinks