How to Succeed in Law School - Are you struggling in law school? This text gives both a broader context for thinking about learning in law school generally, as well as specific study habits and wellness practices. (KF283 .M86 2019)
Beyond One L: Stories about Finding Meaning and Making a Difference in Law - Questioning your decision to go to law school? Interested in stories and advice from attorneys across a range of experiences? This text explores first, second, and third year issues in law school, then takes you beyond into taking the bar, searching for clerkships and jobs, practicing law, and thinking about career moves. (KF287 .B49 2019)
Roadmap: The Law Student's Guide to Meaningful Employment - This text addresses the skills that legal employers look for and how to develop and sharpen those skills while you are in law school. (KF297 .H29 2018)
100 Days to Your Next Job: For Law Students and New JDs - Looking for help planning your job search? This text offers mulitple job search strategies, broken down into weekly increments. Also offers advice on where to search, interview tips, how to get a better paying or more meaningful job, and how to negotiate salary. (Available online with onyen)
The American Legal Profession: The Myths and Realities of Practicing Law - Wondering what practicing law is actually like? Not sure how law school might be different from undergrad? This text dispels myths about law school and legal practice, providing a realistic look at how to make it through training for and entering the legal profession. (KF300 .B35 2018) (Available online)
Lawyers, Clients, & Narrative: A Framework for Law Students and Practitioners - Aimed at experiential courses, this text explores using narrative, stories, and storytelling in law school and legal practice to develop skills that the profession demands. (KF300 .G76 2017)
A Short & Happy Guide to Effective Client Interviewing and Counseling - Read hypothetical exchanges between attorneys and clients that demonstrate the counseling skills and techniques that will have you embracing your job as an attorney and counselor. Whether you are doing simulated client interviews in a law school class, or whether you are getting ready to work with a client in your law office conference room, you can use this book to help strengthen your ability to become an effective attorney and counselor. (KF311 .S25 2016) (Available online)
The Marble and the Sculptor : from Law School to Law Practice - a book about the practice of law and the skills needed to succeed in it. It is targeted toward law students and new attorneys. (KF297 .L44 2013)
NALP Directory of Legal Employers - a directory of corporate legal departments, government agencies, law firms and public internet entities; with information on demographics, practice areas and salaries. (KF297.A1 D5732; also available online)
Placement Bulletin, AALS - a magazine published monthly by the Association of American Law Schools. (Current issues only on reserve at Law Library circulation desk)
Swimming lessons for baby sharks : the essential guide to thriving as a new lawyer- a go-to book for new lawyer success at leading firms and schools. (KF 297 .C54 2016)
Accelerating lawyer success : how to make partner, stay healthy, and flourish in the law firm- this book examines the factors, competencies, and attitudes that allow some lawyers to flourish and make partner (KF297 .A768 2016)
A Short & Happy Guide to Being Hired - Full text available to UNC-Chapel Hill Law School with password
A Short & Happy Guide to Networking - Full text available to UNC-Chapel Hill Law School with password
Telling Your Story: A Step-by-Step Guide to Drafting Persuasive Legal Resumes and Cover Letters - On order (2018)
The Legal Career: Knowing the Business, Thriving in Practice - this coursebook addresses key topics in the evolving legal profession and the business of law. (KF 297 .743 2017)
Down and Out in the New Economy: How People Find (Or Don't Find) Work Today - Gershon covers all parts of the employment spectrum: everything from interviewing hiring managers about how they assess candidates, to attending personal branding seminars, to talking with managers at companies around the United States to suss out regional differences. (HF5382.75.U6 G465 2017)
LinkedIn (www.linkedin.com) Build a profile to network with other professionals, search job openings (and get found by employers and recruiters!), and join professional groups.
Bloomberg (www.bloomberg.com) Research current events, businesses, and key players in your career path. Superlawyers (www.superlawyers.com) Good resource for looking up local attorneys with the ability to filter by law school alumni, practice areas, and other criteria.
Chambers Associate (www.chambers-associate.com) Chambers Associate brings you the best insider information on law firms, with reviews written by junior associates.
Glassdoor (https://www.glassdoor.com/index.htm) Postings from employees give overviews of law firm culture, salary, and insider interview tips.
NALP Directory of Legal Employers (https://www.nalpdirectory.com/) The NALP Directory of Legal Employers lists and provides information on hundreds of legal employers nationwide, with a strong emphasis on large firms. It also has a feature to create a mail merge to easily personalize each cover letter.
Martindale-Hubbell.com (www.martindale.com) Martindale-Hubbell is an online searchable compilation of information on individual lawyers, law firms, and companies. Great for creating market lists by city, firm size, and practice area. You can also find lawyers
