Indeed (www.indeed.com) Job search engine for every type of job. Apply for positions directly through the site. Main feature: the ability to set up job alerts (or several) to target your ideal position. Now you can download the app into your phone and follow up with any new job posts or even apply to jobs via the app.
Martindale-Hubbell (www.martindale.com) The best site to build a target market list of law firms and/or corporations. This site is also useful for researching law firms and lawyers to prepare for interviews.
Vault (www.vault.com) Comprehensive job search site that provides job/internship listings as well as company-specific message boards. Vault also produces various career guides for law students and other professionals.
GoBigLaw (www.gobiglaw.com) and GoInHouse (www.goinhouse.com) Go Big Law has litigation openings with large law firms nationwide. Go In House offers General Counsel and in-house opportunities. Homepage posts featured jobs by experience level, geographic region and practice area.
HG.org (www.hg.org) Huge site: search law firms by practice area, location, expertise, etc.
JD-Preferred Positions (www.job-hunt.org) Great resource for each level of your legal job search.
Flexjobs (https://www.flexjobs.com/jobs/goverment-politics) Flexjobs provides career opportunities that are remote, part-time, freelance, and/or flexible.
NPAworldwide (https://npaworldwide.com/for-job-seekers/) A website that features jobs in the banking and financial services industry throughout the U.S.
Work Comp Central (www.workcompcentral.com) View job postings in the field of workers’ compensation. Available openings can be sent to your e-mail address. A go-to website for all things workers’ comp.
eFinanceCareers (www.efinancialcareers.com) Browse openings in finance, investment and banking.
USAJobs (https://www.usajobs.gov/) The federal government's official employment site. Includes information specifically for students and recent graduates: https://www.usajobs.gov/Help/working-in-government/unique-hiring-paths/students/
HillZoo (www.hillzoo.com) Opportunities in federal political offices and organizations, includes apartments for rent.
The Hill (http://thehill.com) News, policy, opinions—and jobs.
International Law American Society of International Law (www.asil.org) ASIL offers career development, job board, resources, events, and information.
International Bar Association (https://www.ibanet.org) IBA gives you access to a huge international network of contacts, a unique learning opportunity, and the chance to actively participate in discussions on international legal practice.
United Nations—Office of Legal Affairs (http://legal.un.org/ola/Default.aspx) This site provides recent developments and current issues in respect to the area of international law. This site also offers job opportunities and internships at the OLA.
American Bar Association’s Career Center (www.americanbar.org) Search and apply for jobs, post your resume, and receive e-mail alerts.
United States Department of Justice (www.justice.gov) Search positions with the United States Department of Justice.
Federal Jobs (https://www.loc.gov/crsinfo/opportunities/) The Federal Research Service is a private organization that maintains a searchable database of federal government jobs. Choose an occupation and narrow your search by location, agency, and other criteria.
Government Jobs (www.governmentjobs.com) Nationwide online service with government job postings with contact information.
State Jobs (www.50statejobs.com) View job listings by state or industry, including state and local government opportunities.
Statewide Government Jobs ( www.statelocalgov.net ) This site provides state government links for all 50 states. Click on the state and find links to the state home page, 175 Statewide Offices, Legislative branch, judicial branch, Executive branch, Boards & Commissions, and more. A great starting point
Sports Business Journal (www.sportsbusinessdaily.com) Up-to-date information on the world of sports and events, including a career link.
Entertainment Careers (www.entertainmentcareers.net) Entertainment Careers features U.S. legal jobs and internships in sports and entertainment law.
TeamWork Online Sports Jobs (www.teamworkonline.com) TeamWork Online is a great source of sports-related openings.
Show Business Jobs (www.showbizjobs.com) A career center dedicated to matching professional candidates and media enterprises, focusing on job disciplines that drive the entertainment industry. Jobs and advice in one stop.
Variety (www.variety.com) Broad selection of job openings. You can also set up news alerts on entertainment industry happenings.
Society for Human Resource Management (www.shrm.com) Provides job board plus education information about Human Resources, as well as upcoming events. Some positions require a JD degree; others are seeking the JD skillset, but don’t specify a JD degree as a requirement so be sure to highlight your law school talents.
Health Lawyers (www.healthlawyers.org) Healthcare is a growth area of legal practice. This site focuses on legally related healthcare jobs. Provides health law related resources including volunteering programs, publications, and mentoring programs.
Public Service Job Directory (www.psjd.org) PSJD is a huge online resource where law students and attorneys can find public service employment opportunities. The database includes postings for attorney positions, post-graduate fellowships, and paid and unpaid law clerk positions along with relevant information about securing jobs with both government and public interest employers.
Catchafire (www.catchafire.org) Catchafire matches professionally skilled volunteers with nonprofits and social enterprises. Offers short-term and long-term opportunities to volunteer.
Opportunity Knocks (www.opportunityknocks.org) Search nonprofit jobs and career opportunities on this site. Register to receive e-mail alerts of open positions matching your interests for free.
Equal Justice Works (www.equaljusticeworks.org) Stay informed and up to date with public interest programs and events.
One Justice (https://onejustice.org/) This organization matches law students with nonprofits and court-based programs and the clients. Students work under a supervising attorney and experience client interviewing, legal research and writing, case investigation, legislative advocacy, policy analysis, and certified court practice.
Idealist (www.idealist.org) Click “jobs” to search public service legal careers.
The Chronicle of Philanthropy (http://philanthropy.com/) This on-line resource offers news and information for nonprofit leaders, fundraisers, grant makers, and other people involved in philanthropic enterprises.
LinkedIn (www.linkedin.com) Build a profile to network with other professionals, search job openings (and get found by employers and recruiters!), and join professional groups.
Bloomberg (www.bloomberg.com) Research current events, businesses, and key players in your career path.
Superlawyers (www.superlawyers.com) Good resource for looking up local attorneys with the ability to filter by law school alumni, practice areas, and other criteria.
Chambers Associate (www.chambers-associate.com) Chambers Associate brings you the best insider information on law firms, with reviews written by junior associates.
Glassdoor (https://www.glassdoor.com/index.htm) Postings from employees give overviews of law firm culture, salary, and insider interview tips.
NALP Directory of Legal Employers (https://www.nalpdirectory.com/) The NALP Directory of Legal Employers lists and provides information on hundreds of legal employers nationwide, with a strong emphasis on large firms. It also has a feature to create a mail merge to easily personalize each cover letter.
Martindale-Hubbell.com (www.martindale.com) Martindale-Hubbell is an online searchable compilation of information on individual lawyers, law firms, and companies. Great for creating market lists by city, firm size, and practice area. You can also find lawyers.
Higher Education Jobs (www.higheredjobs.com) Leading source for jobs and career information in academia.
The Chronicle of Higher Education (www.chronicle.com) Jobs for research assistants, professors, administrators and executives. Plan your career path to higher education. Offers job search options, advice, and community.
Academic Careers Online (www.academiccareers.com) Academic Careers Online includes positions in research, administration and management at colleges, universities, research institutes, and schools around the world.
National Association of Law Placement (www.nalp.org) NALP is an association of over 2,500 legal career professionals who advise law students, lawyers, law offices, and law schools in North America and beyond. The NALP Job Center has job postings for U.S. positions in legal career services, legal recruitment, professional development, and related fields.
