Classics: Articles
Key Journals
Classical World Databases
- Annee Philologique on the InternetIndex for classical literature, philology and archaeology. L'Annee Philologique indexes modern editions of ancient texts, collections of articles (including Festschriften), journal articles, articles in collections, dissertations, book reviews, and summaries. Its coverage begins in the second millennium B.C.E. with pre-classical archaeology and ends with the period of transition from late antiquity to the middle ages (roughly 500-800 C.E.).
- DYABOLA (Sachkataloge des Deutschen Archaologischen Instituts)A comprehensive international listing of material covering all areas of European and Near Eastern archaeology and philology from prehistory to the Byzantine era, published from 1956 through the present (update frequency varies).
- Gnomon Bibliographische DatenbankThe Gnomon Bibliographic Database, a database which now covers publications in the fields of Ancient History, Archaeology and Philology. It also includes a thesaurus.
General Humanities Databases
- Art & Architecture SourceIncludes full-text coverage of over 760 journals and 220 books from fine, decorative, and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. It also provides detailed indexing and abstracts for many other leading academic journals, magazines and trade publications for which full-text is not available. It has strong international coverage, including periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch. Includes and expands on the coverage and contents of Art Index Retrospective, Art Index, Art Abstracts, Art Full Text, and Art & Architecture Complete.
- Hathi Trust Digital Library
Partnership of major libraries, Google, and Internet Archive providing millions of fulltext books and volumes of journals and other serials covering all subject and in many languages.
Note: To download full PDFs of public domain & open access items: Click 'Login' and then select University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill as the HathiTrust Partner Institution. Then enter your Onyen/Password on the resulting page, before being returned to the HathiTrust site. - International Medieval Bibliography
The International Medieval Bibliography covers the European Middle Ages (c 450-1500) and indexes periodicals, books, essay collections, etc.
Note: Please click on the 'Enter Databases' link. Then select 'International Medieval Bibliography - Online'. - Oxford Bibliographies OnlineProvides sophisticated online recommendations to the core scholarship on a subject as determined by experts in the field. Each module constitutes a convenient and comprehensive introduction to the essential body of literature that has shaped research on a topic.
- Project MuseProvides access to important university press and other scholarly publisher e-journals mainly in the humanities and social science content for the scholarly community.
Head of a Roman Notable
Roman, c. 200 CE, marble. The Ackland Museum.