Drama 287 - 001: African American Theatre: African American Newspapers and Magazines/Journals
Individual Early African American Newspapers & Journals
The simplest way to search for an individual electronic title is via a title search in the Library's E-Journal Finder. These individual titles may also be part of larger digital collections that may also be useful (see African American Resources below). Remember, however, that many titles have not been digitized and these may be found in other formats (e.g., paper, microfilm) via a "Journal Title" search (pull down menu) in the Library's main Catalog.
Unscrambling newspaper and journal titles for specific dates & places of publication can be confusing. For clarification, consult African-American newspapers and periodicals : a national bibliography Davis Reference Desk & Stone Center Reference PN4882.5.N39 S37 1998
The Crisis (via Google)
Opportunity; [serial] journal of Negro life. [Print]
Pittsburgh Courier (various editions)
New York Age/ New York Freeman/ New York Globe
Afro-American (Baltimore, Md. : 1915)
Chicago Defender (various editions)
Colored American (1837 - 1841)
Colored American Magazine (Boston & New York) [Microfiche]
Christian Recorder (1861 - 1882) Western Christian Recorder (1898 - 1899)
Also: Davis Library Microfilm (lower level) Call number: Serial 1-397 (1854/56; 1861 - 1902)
Richmond Planet (1889 - 1910)
National Era (Washington, D.C.) (1847 - 1860)
Freedom's Journal (New York) (1827 - 1829)
North Star (Rochester, N.Y.) (1847 - 1851)
Newspaper & Magazine Databases
The simplest way to search for an individual electronic title is via a title search in the Library's E-Journal Finder. These individual titles may also be part of larger digital collections that may also be useful (see Af Am Resources below). Remember, however, that many titles have not been digitized and these may be found in other formats (e.g., paper, microfilm) via a "Journal Title" search (pull down menu) in the Library's main Catalog.
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection offers researchers valuable primary sources for such diverse disciplines as cultural, literary and social history; ethnic studies and more. Users can compare and contrast African American views on practically every major theme of the American past.
- African American Periodicals 1825-1995Features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports and other genres. Similar to African American Newspapers, 1827-1998, this new collection is based upon James P. Danky's monumental African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National Bibliography (Harvard, 1998).
- Black Studies Center Newspaper SearchSearches the full text back files of several major black newspapers, including The Chicago Defender, founded in May 1905 as a weekly newspaper and later expanded to daily publication, and the New York Amsterdam News, founded as a six-page weekly covering local news by James Henry Anderson in 1909.
- ProQuest Historical NewspapersProQuest Historical Newspapers includes a number of African American newspapers, e.g. The Chicago Defender
- Ethnic NewsWatchA full-text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. This collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints.
