Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
ECON 292: Career Preparation for ECON majors: Home
Resources for Career Exploration
- Occupational Outlook HandbookProfiles for hundreds of occupations including sections like What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more. Each profile also includes Bureau of Labor Statistics employment projections for the 2020 decade.
- O*Net OnlineThis website lets you explore a variety of careers and provides information including salary, job duties, needed skills, and much more.
- ProQuest Career and Technical Education DatabaseVocational information on technical topics, such as computing science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, and photography. The database includes over 600 titles, with more than 500 available in full text.
Company Research Resources for Interviews & Networking
Review the company's website & online presence
- Press releases & news section
- Social media
- Public companies: SEC Filings- annual report (Form 10K) and/or quarterly reports (Form 10Q)
Research the industry space & get Call Prep Questions
- First Research Industry Profiles
- IBISWorld Industry Reports (link below)
Search for news articles on the company & industry
- ABI/Inform Collection (link below)
- Factiva (link below)
- Nexis Uni (link below)
- IBISWorld Industry ReportsCovers the entire U.S. economy, providing in-depth and concise business intelligence and industry analysis. Global and China industry reports provide market information for many industries and business sectors.
- ABI/INFORM CollectionArticles from academic journals, trade publications, market and industry research reports, general business magazines. Topics covered include leadership, management, economics, banking, finance, accounting, international business and economics.
- FactivaContains major global newspapers, business newspapers and magazines, trade and industry journals, prominent newswires, and network broadcast transcripts. In the Companies/Markets tab, there are global company reports, limited industry reports, and market data. The results pages allow robust filtering, and there is live chat help.
Note: 5 Concurrent User Limit - Nexis UniCovers general, regional, and international news, company and financial information, legal information (including law reviews, case law and legal rulings), and other topics such as biographical information. Many files are full-text.
More Resources to Explore
Business Research Consultant/Librarian
Nancy Lovas
Contact:
Davis Library
Subjects: Accounting, Banking, Business, Company Information, Country Economics, Country Information, Economic Data/Statistics, Economics, Economics Literature, Entrepreneur/Small Business Information, Global Business, Industry Information, Investment Information, Marketing, Patents, POLI: Political Science, Political Science