Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.

ECON 415: Market Failures: Home

Home

Find Scholarly Articles

EconLit
Access research articles, citations, and abstracts on economics, accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics, and more. Major index to economic literature from the American Economic Association.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1969 to present
Business Source Premier
Covers scholarly articles for all business subjects: marketing, management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more. Also includes financial data, MarketLine company profiles, Harvard Business Review articles, SWOT analyses, and more.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Varies widely.
Academic Search Premier
Find information on academic areas of business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics; resource provides access to major popular and scholarly journals with many full-text articles.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Indexing, 1975-present; Full-text, 1975-present
ABI/INFORM Collection
Articles from academic journals, trade publications, market and industry research reports, general business magazines. Topics covered include leadership, management, economics, banking, finance, accounting, international business and economics.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Coverage varies. Some academic journals start in the 1800s, and some newspapers start in the early 1900s.
Language: Primarily English. Over 20 languages total.

Using find@unc

If an article search comes back that we don't have an item:

1) click the button

2) if available, click an article link, if not, click the journal link

3) if none are available, click on the link to look for it in print at UNC.

4) if still not found, follow the link to request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

Find Policy Reports, Working Papers, & White Papers

National Bureau of Economic Research Working Papers
Provides full text of the complete set of working papers from the National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER).
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: November 1994 to Present
Google Think Tank Search Engine
Searches the websites of institutions that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity. These sites are affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, and non-governmental organizations. The list represents a mixture of partisan and non-partisan think tanks.
Access: No restrictions.

Find Government Reports & Data

FRED
FRED monitors the economic and financial literature and produces research in the areas of money and banking, macroeconomics, and international and regional economics.
U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis
BEA prepares national, regional, industry, and international data that presents essential information on economic growth, regional economic development, inter-industry relationships, and the United States' position in the world economy.

UNCTADstat
UNCTAD is the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development, which collects statistics on almost every world economy. UNCTADStat provides more than 150 time series related to international trade, foreign direct investment, national accounts and balance of payments, inflation and exchange rates, remittances, information and communications technology, creative output, and maritime transport.
Access: No restrictions.
Coverage: Varies. Some from 1948-present.

World Bank DataBank
This database contains a variety of statistics, many of them related to economic development. Users can create their own reports with the data. World Bank is an economic development organization.

Statista
Contains statistics, infographics, industry and market research reports and publicly-available data for over 25 countries on all topics. Download statistics and charts in Excel, PowerPoint, or PDF.

Note: UNC Chapel Hill currently has full access to Statista with the exception of the Global Consumer Survey and Market Studies.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.

Evaluating Information Quality Questions

What organization published this source?
What is the perspective/point of view/bias of this organization?
Who wrote the source? What are the author’s credentials?
Anything else you can tell from the article that gives you “credibility vibes”?
What’s the information contained in the article?
Is the information relevant to your project?
How can you use this information? (basically, now that you have this information, what is the next thing you’re going to do?)

Business Research Consultant/Librarian

Nancy Lovas

Email Me

Contact:

Davis Library

Subjects: Accounting, Banking, Business, Company Information, Country Economics, Country Information, Economic Data/Statistics, Economics, Economics Literature, Entrepreneur/Small Business Information, Global Business, Industry Information, Investment Information, Marketing, Patents, POLI: Political Science, Political Science