ECON 452: Economics of Global Pandemics: Articles & Reports

Publications from your Syllabus

Wall Street Journal
Access to full-text articles, no graphics or images.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. North Carolina residents with a borrower's card may access from off campus by visiting NCLive directly. Contact the Davis Library Service Desk for the NCLive password (instructions).
Coverage: 1984-present.
New York Times Academic Pass
Full digital access to The New York Times for students through the University Libraries.

Note: Students must click on "Create Account" and follow the instructions. To be eligible, you must register using your @live.unc.edu email account. Please allow up to a week for your registration to be processed.
ID: 28404606
Washington Post (Online)
Access articles for the The Washington Post in 15 years of rolling archival content to the present. Available to all UNC students, faculty, and staff.

Note: For remote access, create an individual account here, using your UNC email.

The Economist

Financial Times

Daily News Podcasts: NPR’s Up First, The Daily, or the Economist Podcasts

Planet Money Podcast

The Indicator Podcast

News Sources

Newspaper Source Plus
Provides complete full-text coverage of 149 national and international newspapers, such as Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Times (London), Toronto Star, Washington Post, and Washington Times. Additionally offered is selective full text from over 400 regional U. S. newspapers and transcripts from CBS News, CNN, Fox News, NPR, etc.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1995-present
U.S. Newsstream
News content from many national and international newspapers, newswires and selected news magazines.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
ABI/INFORM Collection
Source for academic articles, news, trade and magazine publications.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Coverage varies. Some academic journals start in the 1800s, and some newspapers start in the early 1900s.
Language: Primarily English. Over 20 languages total.

BBC News

Factiva
Contains major global newspapers, business newspapers and magazines, trade and industry journals, prominent newswires, and network broadcast transcripts.

Set up your search like the image below.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Varies. 9,000 sources are updated on the day of publication.
Language: Primarily English. Over 20 languages total.

Add to search form box: "ns=gsars AND ns=mcat" to filter for coronavirus-related news.
Select subject "Commodity/Financial Market News".

Business Source Premier
Includes articles from periodicals and other reputable news sources.
Build your search following the example below
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Varies widely.

First, set up your search terms. Then, scroll down to "Limit Your Results" to select publication types Periodical, Trade Publications, and Newspapers.

Scholarly Articles & Working Papers

EconLit
Major source for peer-reviewed economics journals
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1969 to present
Academic Search Premier
Find information on academic areas of business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics; resource provides access to major popular and scholarly journals with many full-text articles.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Indexing, 1975-present; Full-text, 1975-present
Google Think Tank Search Engine
Searches the websites of institutions that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity. These sites are affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, and non-governmental organizations. The list represents a mixture of partisan and non-partisan think tanks.
Access: No restrictions.
National Bureau of Economic Research Working Papers
Provides full text of the complete set of working papers from the National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER).
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: November 1994 to Present
Social Science Research Network
SSRN is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of several specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. Authors often post articles and book chapters in SSRN before they are published in a scholarly journal. Papers are frequently available on SSRN for download without charge and without a subscription.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
RePEc: Research Papers in Economics
A collaborative effort of volunteers in over 80 countries to enhance the dissemination of research in economics. The heart of the project is a database of working papers, journal articles, and software components, all downloadable for free.
Access: No restrictions.
Coverage: 1993-
Language: Primarily English

World Bank Working Papers

Centers & Think Tanks on Coronavirus

Economic Policy Institute | Keyword: Coronavirus

Continually updated. "The Economic Policy Institute (EPI) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan think tank created in 1986 to include the needs of low- and middle-income workers in economic policy discussions."

Brookings | Topic: Coronavirus

Continually updated. Reports and analysis on COVID-19 by Brookings, a DC based think tank

Kenan Institute of Private Enterprise at UNC

Hoover Institution | The Hoover Institution on COVID-19

Continually updated. Research, articles, interviews, podcasts, etc. from the Hoover Institution, a public policy think tank and research institution at Stanford University.

McKinsey | COVID-19 Response Center