(Not available through the Online Codebook) An NCES web application that allows users to quickly view public and private school data and create custom tables and charts using data from the Common Core of Data (CCD) and Private School Survey (PSS).
ElSi utilizes variables that are frequently requested by users for producing tables. It is a fast, easy way to obtain basic statistical data on U.S. schools. Use the Table Generator tool to choose row variables, column variables and filters to refine the data included in tables produced. Exports available in .csv and .xls formats.
(Not available through the Online Codebook) The IPEDS Data Tools present results from annual inter-related surveys of every college, university, and technical/vocational institution that participates in the federal student financial aid programs (Title IV-eligible institutions). For a thorough introduction, look for the Overview of IPEDS Data link under the Resources heading.
Easiest and most comprehensive access to U.S. Census data. Education questions in recent years are mainly school enrollment, educational attainment, and bachelor's field of study (this last only since 2009), but Census data allows comparisons with a wide variety of other variables, such as income & poverty, race, age, veteran status, employment, and more.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is a repository of academic and other research in the social and health sciences. UNC is a member institution giving UNC affiliates access to re-use deposited datasets and to deposit their own work. First-time users must create an account and request ICPSR staff authenticate it in order to download data.
- Child Care and Early Education Research Connections
- Civic Learning, Engagement & Action Data Sharing
- The Education Research Data Sharing Initiative
- Measures of Effective Teaching Longitudinal Database
- NCAA Student-Athlete Experiences Data Archive
- Open Data Flint, and
- Resource Center for Minority Data.
These Thematic Data Collections are linked in the Find Data menu near the top of the page.
A longitudinal study of a nationally representative sample of over 20,000 adolescents who were in grades 7-12 during the 1994-95 school year, and have been followed for five waves to date, most recently in 2016-18. Over the years, Add Health has collected rich demographic, social, familial, socioeconomic, behavioral, psychosocial, cognitive, and health survey data from participants and their parents; a vast array of contextual data from participants’ schools, neighborhoods, and geographies of residence; and in-home physical and biological data from participants, including genetic markers, blood-based assays, anthropometric measures, and medications. Ancillary studies have added even more data over the years.
Disseminates data from the Scientists and Engineers Statistical Data System (SESTAT), the leading surveys for studying the science and engineering (STEM) workforce in the United States. Data from the National Surveys of College Graduates (NSCG), Recent College Graduates (NSRCG) and Doctorate Recipients (SDR) are integrated from 1993 to the present.
Users must register but access is free. Research description requires a minimum of 50 words--if necessary, fill in with nonsense characters.
Offers extensive database of opinion poll datasets. Roper’s iPOLL allows searching at the question level. The Center archives national opinion polls back to 1935, both U.S. and some international polls. Holdings include survey results data from academic, commercial and media survey organizations such as Gallup, Harris Interactive, Pew Research Associates, ABC, CBS, Wall Street Journal and many more. Many datasets are available for instant download in ASCII or SPSS format. Datasets not available for immediate download may be requested from the Center to be queued for digitization.
NOTE: First time users to NEW Roper iPoll need to self-register for access at login. Your credentials from Classic iPOLL will NOT work without new registration as of 8/14/2020. Classic iPOLL will no longer be updated after Sept 1, 2020.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. Coverage: 1935 -
Provides national and state results for all main subject areas assessed, including mathematics, reading, writing, and science. Includes online analysis capability. Results have been produced for the nation and participating states and other jurisdictions since 1990, and for selected urban districts (on a trial basis) since 2002.
Statistics on development indicators back to 1960 from the World Bank. Time series data cover demographic, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental topics for more than 200 countries and geographic and political groupings of countries. Data are updated quarterly. Access through the online dataBank, or in Excel or CSV formats.
Access: No restrictions. Coverage: 1960 - present, updated quarterly.
Provides simultaneous access to 14 statistical databases from the United Nations and other international organizations through one interface. Areas of coverage include agriculture, education, energy, industry, labor, national accounts, population, tourism and trade. Includes Millennium Development Goals indicators, and UN Key Global Indicators.
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is an international organisation that works to build better policies for better lives. Our goal is to shape policies that foster prosperity, equality, opportunity and well-being for all...[W]e work on establishing evidence-based international standards and finding solutions to a range of social, economic and environmental challenges. From improving economic performance and creating jobs to fostering strong education and fighting international tax evasion, we provide a unique forum and knowledge hub for data and analysis, exchange of experiences, best-practice sharing, and advice on public policies and international standard-setting.