Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
Education Library Resources: Access After Graduation
Accessing Articles
- NC LIVENC Live is a platform that provides access to academic journals, ebooks, magazines, newspapers, media, and other online materials. These resources are available to all North Carolinians through their local public library. Contact your local library for free access to NC LIVE resources. Many other states have similar programs.
- ERICThe education database ERIC is available through a public interface that is managed by the U.S. Department of Education. Note that ERIC is an indexing platform that provides the ability to search for publications but does not necessarily provide access to the full text publications themselves. Check the box "Full text available at ERIC" to only see results with free full text.
- PubMedThe health sciences database PubMed is available through a public interface that is managed by the National Library of Medicine. Note that PubMed is an indexing platform that provides the ability to search for publications but does not necessarily provide access to the full text publications themselves. Check the box "Free full text" or navigate to PubMed Central to only see results with free full text.
- Google ScholarThe public interface of Google Scholar is available to anyone. Note that Google Scholar is an indexing platform that provides the ability to search for publications but does not necessarily provide access to the full text publications themselves.
Access to UNC Chapel Hill Libraries
North Carolina residents can apply for a Borrower's Card to check out physical materials. Borrower's Cards cost $25 per year and do not provide remote access to digital materials, such as journal articles. Click here for more information on Borrower's Cards.
Members of the public are welcome to visit any of the Libraries on campus to use and access resources.
Off-campus access to digital resources is restricted to current UNC students, faculty, and staff.
Zotero
Zotero is 100% free and open source. You will not lose access to Zotero, or any materials in your Zotero library, after graduating.