Evidence Synthesis: Resources & Contact Us
Contact Us
Books from the Catalog
-
Doing a Systematic Review
by
Call Number: R853.S94 D65 2024 (Davis Reserves - Service Desk)ISBN: 9781529740974Publication Date: 2023This book will help you to: Work with qualitative, quantitative and mixed methods data; Understand the how-to of systematic reviews with a range of real-life examples and case studies; and Learn from students who have been in your shoes with FAQs taken from actual supervision meetings. Alongside updated examples and case studies, this edition also includes two new chapters to help you write and register your review protocol and understand and synthesise data from correlational and experimental studies. The book is accompanied by an online guide for teaching, including videos, example documents, further reading, software recommendations and weblinks. -
Evidence-Based Software Engineering and Systematic Reviews
by
Call Number: QA76.758 .K58 2016 (Remote Storage)ISBN: 9781482228656Publication Date: 2015Evidence-Based Software Engineering and Systematic Reviews provides a clear introduction to the use of an evidence-based model for software engineering research and practice. The book is divided into three parts. The first part discusses the nature of evidence and the evidence-based practices centered on a systematic review, both in general and as applying to software engineering. The second part examines the different elements that provide inputs to a systematic review. The final part provides practical guidance on how to conduct systematic reviews (the guidelines). The book includes an extensive glossary and an appendix that provides a catalogue of reviews that may be useful for practice and teaching. -
An Introduction to Systematic Reviews
by
Call Number: H62 .I658 2017 (Davis 6th floor)ISBN: 9781473929425Publication Date: 2017Focused on actively using systematic review as method, this book provides clear, step-by-step advice on the logic and processes of systematic reviewing. Packed with examples from across the social sciences, this book helps students and researchers alike in turning systematic reviews into recommendations for policy and practice. -
Piecing Together Systematic Reviews and Other Evidence Syntheses
by
Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9781538150177Publication Date: 2022Piecing Together Systematic Reviews and Other Evidence Syntheses: A Guide for Librarians aims to be the definitive text on systematic reviews for librarians, information professionals, and expert searchers. Starting with an introduction to evidence syntheses, the book follows the acronym PIECCESS, a framework for the 8 phases which flow through 8 processes. The 8 phases are (1) Proposal of scope; (2) Protocol registration; (3) Preliminary findings; (4) Paper completion; (5) Preserve project; (6) Promote to stakeholders; (7) Impact compilation; (8) Updating the review. The 8 processes are Plan, Identify, Evaluate, Collect, Combine, Explain, Summarize, and Share. After the processes of a review project are covered, guidance for developing and running a service is provided as well as teaching reviews and training for librarians. The intended audience for this book is any librarian interested in consulting, collaborating, completing, or teaching reviews. -
Searching the Grey Literature
by
Call Number: Z1033.G73 B66 2018 (SILS Library)ISBN: 9781538100639Publication Date: 2018Searching the Grey Literature discusses different aspects of grey literature, including an introduction to grey literature, the value of grey literature, search sources for grey literature and how to conduct needs assessment before beginning a grey literature search. Search techniques for identifying grey literature documents, selecting and evaluating grey literature search sources and best searching practices are also discussed in detail. -
Systematic Approaches to a Successful Literature Review
by
Call Number: LB1047.3 .B66 2022ISBN: 9781529711851Publication Date: 2022Whether you are new to literature reviews or working with new types of data, this book takes the guesswork out of writing your literature review. To help you choose best approach for your research, this book includes: Worksheets and decision aids to help you plan and organise your literature review; Worked examples and case studies to show you what - and what not - to do in practice; Troubleshooting tips and answers to all your frequently asked questions; Online access to a literature review starter template, an exercise workbook, project diary template, and a source credibility checklist. -
Systematic Reviews in Educational Research
by
Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9783658276010Publication Date: 2019In this open access edited volume, international researchers of the field describe and discuss the systematic review method in its application to research in education. Alongside fundamental methodical considerations, reflections and practice examples are included and provide an introduction and overview on systematic reviews in education research. -
Systematic Reviews in the Social Sciences
by
Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9781405150149Publication Date: 2008This book, written by two highly-respected social scientists, provides an overview of systematic literature review methods: Outlining the rationale and methods of systematic reviews; Giving worked examples from social science and other fields; Applying the practice to all social science disciplines; It requires no previous knowledge, but takes the reader through the process stage by stage; Drawing on examples from such diverse fields as psychology, criminology, education, transport, social welfare, public health, and housing and urban policy, among others. Including detailed sections on assessing the quality of both quantitative, and qualitative research; searching for evidence in the social sciences; meta-analytic and other methods of evidence synthesis; publication bias; heterogeneity; and approaches to dissemination. -
Systematic Reviews to Answer Health Care Questions
by
Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9781451187717Publication Date: 2014Systematic Evidence Reviews to Answer Health Care Questions is your most effective, A-to-Z guide to conducting thorough, comprehensive systematic reviews. By breaking down topics and essential steps, this volume teaches you how to form key questions, select evidence, and perform illuminating review not just in predictable circumstances, but when basic rules don't apply-honing your ability to think critically and solve problems. You'll learn how to define a review's purpose and scope, develop research questions, build a team, and even manage your project to maximize efficacy. If you're looking.
Trainings
Looking for more training resources? Several self-paced courses are listed below. Some courses are suited to specific disciplines
As of August 2025, all courses listed here are free of charge.
Campbell Collaboration (for social sciences)
"This is a self-paced, asynchronous course covering the entire process of systematic reviews from problem formulation to meta-analysis. It was designed with Campbell researchers in mind, but appropriate for anyone interested in learning rigorous review methods for the social sciences." (source)
ESTraining (for environmental sciences)
"For and introduction to evidence synthesis CEE recommends the online courses provided by ESTraining. #ESTraining is a variety of free-to-access (Open Educational) training courses in evidence synthesis. The courses span a suite of synthesis methods, including systematic review and systematic mapping, stakeholder engagement in evidence synthesis, and evidence synthesis technology. They are all self-paced, online courses, with integrated assessments and the option of a course certificate. They consist of video lectures, course reading and recommended literature, along with considerable hands-on experience of systematic review methods and tools to support systematic reviews, like review management software." (source)
- Systematic Review and Mapping Methods Course
- Systematic Mapping Methods Course
- Stakeholder Engagement and Evidence Synthesis
Evidence Synthesis Institute (for librarians)
"The Institute is aimed at library staff supporting evidence syntheses in topics outside of the health sciences.... This course brings the core components of the Evidence Synthesis Institute to a self-paced open online course. It contains 15 modules guiding learners through the ES process from an introduction to review types through writing a methods section for publication, with an emphasis on developing and using systematic search strategies. Development of this course was funded by a grant from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) (RE-246347-OLS-20)." (source)