Fairy Tales and Folklore at SILS: Home
This guide highlights the fairy tales and folklore in the Sils Library.
Databases
- ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature)A major index for English language literatures, linguistics, folklore & cultural studies. ABELL aims to list monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, reviews of scholarly books, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world.
- Academic Search PremierFind information on academic areas of business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics; resource provides access to major popular and scholarly journals with many full-text articles.
- MLA International BibliographyA major index for literary criticism, linguistics, folklore & cultural studies. Includes articles from several thousand journals and series published worldwide. Also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Also searchable under "Criticism" within Literature Online.
Introduction
Greetings! This guide is designed to showcase the fairy tale and folklore collection at the School of Information and Library Science Library. We're located on the first floor of Manning Hall. During the school year, we are open from 9-5 on weekdays. Our summer hours are usually 10-4 on weekdays. We have a variety of picture books, chapter books, and graphic novels available for check out. Additionally, we have an extensive pop-up book collection for use within the library.
Reference Materials
Storytelling by Call Number: GR35 .S76 2008 v.1-v.3ISBN: 9780765680471Publication Date: 2008-10-15Storytelling: An Encyclopedia of Mythology and Folklore" brings past and present cultures of the world to life through their stories, oral traditions, and performance styles. It combines folklore and mythology, traditional arts, history, literature, and festivals to present an overview of world cultures through their liveliest and most fascinating mode of expression.
Storyteller's Sourcebook by Call Number: GR74.6 .M3 1982ISBN: 0810304716Publication Date: 1982-03-01The first edition provides descriptions of folktales and references to more than 700 published sources of folktales. Both editions include thorough indexing by subject, motif, title, ethnic group and country of origin and a comprehensive bibliography.
Storyteller's Sourcebook, 1983-1999Call Number: GR74.6 .M3 2001ISBN: 0810354853Publication Date: 2001-02-07The new edition covers folktales from 1983-1999. Both editions include thorough indexing by subject, motif, title, ethnic group and country of origin and a comprehensive bibliography.
Storytelling Folklore Sourcebook by Call Number: LB1042 .L545 1991ISBN: 0872876012Publication Date: 1991-02-15Packed with folktales, poetry, aphorisms, songs, and legends, this comprehensive sourcebook is appropriate for use with upper elementary and secondary students or as a resource for the professional storyteller. The source material covers costumes, customs, dances and drama, food, games, and legends, as well as forms of oral literature (music, proverbs, rhymes, riddles, tales, beliefs, and superstitions).
Teaching Thinking Skills with Fairy Tales and Fantasy by Call Number: LB1590.3 .P653 2005ISBN: 1591583209Publication Date: 2005-09-26Over 30 skills are included, ranging from deductive reasoning to inferential and perceptual thinking. An ideal resource for gifted education teachers, this is the first book in this format to provide such a breadth of coverage.
Fairy Tales and After by Call Number: PN1009.A1 S24ISBN: 0674291573Publication Date: 1978-01-01Roger Sale invites us to discover anew some of the great works of children's literature, works that have been read and loved but seldom given the benefit of serious literary assessment.
