Folklore/History 571: Southern Music: Sources for Music and Music Research

A digital collection of selected photos from the larger William R. Ferris Collection in the Southern Folklife Collection in Wilson Library.

Contains several thousand non-commercial recordings of the music of Appalachia providing a resource for study of repertoire, technique, lore, and the musical interchanges among the region's traditional musicians

from Smithsonian Folkways Magazine.

Links to many digital collections of southern music.

Browse these 33 collections containing sheet music and audio files from U.S. history

Provides biographies, photos, songbooks, and discographies

Description of the collection and useful links.

A list of research links for jazz research.

Site includes citation style guides, bibliographies, resources for teachers, and job information.

This collection "collection includes oral histories, recorded music, photographs and film, and sheet music and orchestrations."

Contains letters between Guthrie and the staff of the Archive of American Folk Song from the 1940s.

Includes 700 sound recordings, fieldnotes, dust jackets, and other manuscripts documenting a three-month trip taken by the Lomaxes through the southern United States.

Recorded in conjunction with the Florida Federal Writers' Project, the Florida Music Project, and the Joint Committee on Folk Arts of the Work Projects Administration, this collection features folksongs and folktales in many languages.

A symposium sponsored by The American Folklife Center and The Association for Cultural Equity in 2006.

The Mississippi Blues Trail markers tell stories through words and images of bluesmen and women and how the places where they lived and the times in which they existed–and continue to exist–influenced their music.

A non-profit organization founded by Alan Lomax as a center for the exploration and preservation of the world's expressive traditions. The web site provides access to primary documents, many of which relate to the American South.

UNC Press web site for Dr. Ferris's latest book. Includes photos and audio files.

From the Delta, Chicago, New Orleans, and more: B.B. King's Bluesville covers more than 80 years of music, from roots to contemporary blues. Subscription required.

Website for the museum in Indianola, Mississippi. Includes interviews and museum news.

Celebrating the tradition and innovation of this renowned banjo player

A German record store that for 35 years has reissued country and rock 'n' roll recordings for collectors and fans

Facts and articles about every aspect of blues music.

In French. Information, photos, music, videos to teach about the blues.

Natural Rhythm is a multimedia music recording project that follows the path of the Great Migration from New Orleans to Memphis, St. Louis, and Chicago, emulating the work of Alan Lomax.