Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
Artificial Intelligence and Generative AI for Media & Journalism: Students and AI
How Students Can Utilize the Power of AI
University students can leverage AI and generative AI in various ways to enhance their learning experience:
- Research Assistance: AI tools like ChatGPT can help students find information quickly, summarize articles, and generate research ideas.
- Writing Support: AI can assist in drafting essays, creating outlines, and even providing grammar and style suggestions to improve writing quality.
- Study Aid: Generative AI can create personalized quizzes, flashcards, and practice problems to help students study more effectively.
- Tutoring: Custom AI tutors can be trained on specific course materials to provide explanations and answer questions, offering a personalized learning experience.
- Language Practice: AI can help students practice language skills by providing instant feedback and conversation practice in a safe environment.
- Creative Projects: Tools like DALL-E can generate images for presentations, while other AI tools can help brainstorm and develop creative projects.
- Time Management: AI can assist in organizing schedules, setting reminders, and managing tasks to help students stay on top of their coursework.
By integrating these tools into their daily routines, students can enhance their productivity, creativity, and understanding of course materials. Always defer to the direction given by your instructor in regards to AI tools. If you're not sure if AI assistance is allowed or not, ask your instructor to clarify. (Text generated by Microsoft Copilot).
Student Guide for AI Use from AI for Education
**Remember, always defer to the advice of your instructor when using AI tools.
Prompt Framework for Students: The Five "S" Model
**Remember, always defer to the advice of your instructor when using AI tools.
AI can do your homework. Now what? by Vox
Practical AI for Instructors and Students Part 1: Introduction to AI for Teachers and Students, Wharton School
**Note: This is the first in a series of five videos. These are over a year old now, so Bing is now Copilot and Bard is now Gemini, but the tips and concepts still apply.
Books about AI and Generative AI at UNC
Ai 2041 by
How will AI change our world within twenty years? A pioneering technologist and acclaimed writer team up for a "dazzling" (The New York Times) look at the future that "brims with intriguing insights" (Financial Times) A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR: The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, Financial Times Long before the advent of ChatGPT, Kai-Fu Lee and Chen Qiufan understood the enormous potential of artificial intelligence to transform our daily lives. But even as the world wakes up to the power of AI, many of us still fail to grasp the big picture. Chatbots and large language models are only the beginning. In this "inspired collaboration" (The Wall Street Journal), Lee and Chen join forces to imagine our world in 2041 and how it will be shaped by AI. In ten gripping, globe-spanning short stories and accompanying commentary, their book introduces readers to an array of eye-opening settings and characters grappling with the new abundance and potential harms of AI technologies like deep learning, mixed reality, robotics, artificial general intelligence, and autonomous weapons.
ISBN: 9780593238295Publication Date: 2021-09-14
AI and Ethics by
This book examines some of the deep issues that have become very relevant due to the increasing use of AI in recent times. The book is geared toward increasing awareness of the immediate moral and legal repercussions of the presence and possibly dominance of AI in our society.
ISBN: 9780750361125Publication Date: 2023-12-01
The AI-Powered Workplace by
We are entering the next wave of digital transformation. Artificial intelligence has an ever-increasing significance in our daily lives, and there is no difference when it comes to our workplaces. It is up to you to choose how to utilize these new tools to sharpen your organization's competitive advantage, improve your team's well-being, and help your business thrive. In The AI-Powered Workplace, author Ronald Ashri provides a map of the digital landscape to guide you on this timely journey. You'll understand how the combination of AI, data, and conversational collaboration platforms--such as Slack, Microsoft Teams, and Facebook Workplace--is leading us to a radical shift in how we communicate and solve problems in the modern workplace. Our ability to automate decision-making processes through the application of AI techniques and through modern collaboration tools is a game-changer. Ashri skillfully presents his industry expertise and captivating insights so you have a thorough understanding of how to best combine these technologies with execution strategies that are optimized to your specific needs. The AI-Powered Workplace is an essential technical, cultural, and business handbook that arms you with clear steps to redefine and improve how you get work done. Software is now a proactive workplace partner revolutionizing all aspects of our professional lives from how we collaborate in the digital sphere to the literal physical environments in which we operate our business. This book not only ensures that you do not get left behind, but that you are consistently light years ahead of the pack. What You'll Learn Learn how the introduction of AI-powered applications in the workplace replaces or augments our capabilities and enables activities that were not possible before Realize how the combination of AI, data, and messaging platforms (Slack, MicrosoftTeams, Skype, WhatsApp) leads to a radical shift in how we communicate, collaborate, and solve problems Develop strategies for the digital transformation of organizations through the use of AI-powered applications (from simple chatbots to more complex conversational applications) that operate within messaging environments we use to collaborate with our colleagues daily Know the dangers and ethical questions that the introduction of these technologies can cause in the workplace Who This Book is For Professionals at all levels interested in learning how AI, conversational platforms, and data can change organizations, including but not limited to team leaders, managers, and CxOs
ISBN: 1484254759Publication Date: 2019-12-10
Artificial Intelligence by
This textbook covers the broader field of artificial intelligence. The chapters for this textbook span within three categories: Deductive reasoning methods: These methods start with pre-defined hypotheses and reason with them in order to arrive at logically sound conclusions. The underlying methods include search and logic-based methods. These methods are discussed in Chapters 1through 5. Inductive Learning Methods: These methods start with examples and use statistical methods in order to arrive at hypotheses. Examples include regression modeling, support vector machines, neural networks, reinforcement learning, unsupervised learning, and probabilistic graphical models. These methods are discussed in Chapters~6 through 11. Integrating Reasoning and Learning: Chapters~11 and 12 discuss techniques for integrating reasoning and learning. Examples include the use of knowledge graphs and neuro-symbolic artificial intelligence. The primary audience for this textbook are professors and advanced-level students in computer science. It is also possible to use this textbook for the mathematics requirements for an undergraduate data science course. Professionals working in this related field many also find this textbook useful as a reference.
ISBN: 3030723569Publication Date: 2021-07-17
Artificial Intelligence by
Artificial Intelligence: Applications and Innovations is a book about the science of artificial intelligence (AI). AI is the study of the design of intelligent computational agents. This book provides a valuable resource for researchers, scientists, professionals, academicians and students dealing with the new challenges and advances in the areas of AI and innovations. This book also covers a wide range of applications of machine learning such as fire detection, structural health and pollution monitoring and control. Key Features Provides insight into prospective research and application areas related to industry and technology Discusses industry- based inputs on success stories of technology adoption Discusses technology applications from a research perspective in the field of AI Provides a hands- on approach and case studies for readers of the book to practice and assimilate learning This book is primarily aimed at graduates and post- graduates in computer science, information technology, civil engineering, electronics and electrical engineering and management.
ISBN: 9781003217237Publication Date: 2022-09-23
Artificial Intelligence by
Artificial Intelligence, Volume 49 in the Handbook of Statistics series, highlights new advances in the field, with this new volume presenting interesting chapters on a variety of timely topics. Chapters in this new release include AI Teacher-Student based Adaptive Structural Deep Learning Model and Its Estimating Uncertainty of Image Data, Machine-derived Intelligence: Computations Beyond the Null Hypothesis, Object oriented basis of artificial intelligence methodologies I in Judicial Systems in India, Artificial Intelligence in Systems Biology, Machine-Learning in Geometry and Physics, Innovation and Machine Learning: Crowdsourcing Open-Source Natural Language Processing (NLP) Algorithms to Advance Public Health Surveillance, and more. Other chapters cover Learning and identity testing of Markov chains, Data privacy for machine learning and statistics, and The interface between AI and Mathematics.
ISBN: 0443137633Publication Date: 2023-08-25
Artificial Intelligence Basics by
Designed as a self-teaching introduction to the fundamental concepts of artificial intelligence, the book begins with its history, the Turing test, and early applications. Later chapters cover the basics of searching, game playing, and knowledge representation. Expert systems and machine learning are covered in detail, followed by separate programming chapters on Prolog and Python. The concluding chapter on artificial intelligence machines and robotics is comprehensive with numerous modernapplications. Features: Covers an introduction to concepts related to AI, including searching processes, knowledge representation, machine learning, expert systems, programming, and robotics Includes separate chapters on Prolog and Python to introduce basic programming techniques in AI
ISBN: 9781683925163Publication Date: 2020-03-04
Artificial Intelligence for Business Creativity by
Artificial Intelligence for Business Creativity provides an in-depth examination of the integration of Artificial Intelligence (AI) into the business sector to foster creativity. The book explores the interplay between micro-level individual creativity and macro-level organizational innovation through the lens of AI. It delves into three crucial areas where AI can stimulate business creativity: product and service design, optimized processes, and enhanced organizational collaboration. The authors also highlight the versatility and capability of generative AI systems in promoting creativity and innovation. Intended for business leaders, managers, entrepreneurs, and those interested in AI and creativity, the book offers practical guidance and insightful recommendations on how organizations can effectively utilize AI to enhance their creative process. By offering a comprehensive understanding of the role of AI in fostering creativity, the book equips its readers with the tools to stay ahead in the rapidly changing landscape of AI and creativity. This book is a valuable resource for anyone seeking to understand the impact of AI on business creativity and how to effectively leverage it to foster creativity and innovation in their organization. It is a must-read for anyone looking to increase their knowledge and understanding of AI and its impact on business creativity.
ISBN: 9781000953930Publication Date: 2023-07-05
Artificial Intelligence Technology by
This open access book aims to give our readers a basic outline of today's research and technology developments on artificial intelligence (AI), help them to have a general understanding of this trend, and familiarize them with the current research hotspots, as well as part of the fundamental and common theories and methodologies that are widely accepted in AI research and application. This book is written in comprehensible and plain language, featuring clearly explained theories and concepts and extensive analysis and examples. Some of the traditional findings are skipped in narration on the premise of a relatively comprehensive introduction to the evolution of artificial intelligence technology. The book provides a detailed elaboration of the basic concepts of AI, machine learning, as well as other relevant topics, including deep learning, deep learning framework, Huawei MindSpore AI development framework, Huawei Atlas computing platform, Huawei AI open platform for smart terminals, and Huawei CLOUD Enterprise Intelligence application platform. As the world's leading provider of ICT (information and communication technology) infrastructure and smart terminals, Huawei's products range from digital data communication, cyber security, wireless technology, data storage, cloud computing, and smart computing to artificial intelligence.
ISBN: 9789811928789Publication Date: 2022-10-22
Artificial Intelligence: Theory and Applications by
This book is an up-to-date collection, in AI and environmental research, related to the project ATLAS. AI is used for gaining an understanding of complex research phenomena in the environmental sciences, encompassing heterogeneous, noisy, inaccurate, uncertain, diverse spatio-temporal data and processes. The first part of the book covers new mathematics in the field of AI: aggregation functions with special classes such as triangular norms and copulas, pseudo-analysis, and the introduction to fuzzy systems and decision making. Generalizations of the Choquet integral with applications in decision making as CPT are presented. The second part of the book is devoted to AI in the geo-referenced air pollutants and meteorological data, image processing, machine learning, neural networks, swarm intelligence, robotics, mental well-being and data entry errors. The book is intended for researchers in AI and experts in environmental sciences as well as for Ph.D. students.
ISBN: 9783030727109Publication Date: 2021-07-16
Can We Trust AI? by
Artificial intelligence is part of our daily lives. How can we address its limitations and guide its use for the benefit of communities worldwide? Artificial intelligence (AI) has evolved from an experimental computer algorithm used by academic researchers to a commercially reliable method of sifting through large sets of data that detect patterns not readily apparent through more rudimentary search tools. As a result, AI-based programs are helping doctors make more informed decisions about patient care, city planners align roads and highways to reduce traffic congestion with better efficiency, and merchants scan financial transactions to quickly flag suspicious purchases. But as AI applications grow, concerns have increased, too, including worries about applications that amplify existing biases in business practices and about the safety of self-driving vehicles. In Can We Trust AI?, Dr. Rama Chellappa, a researcher and innovator with 40 years in the field, recounts the evolution of AI, its current uses, and how it will drive industries and shape lives in the future. Leading AI researchers, thought leaders, and entrepreneurs contribute their expertise as well on how AI works, what we can expect from it, and how it can be harnessed to make our lives not only safer and more convenient but also more equitable. Can We Trust AI? is essential reading for anyone who wants to understand the potential--and pitfalls--of artificial intelligence. The book features: * an exploration of AI's origins during the post-World War II era through the computer revolution of the 1960s and 1970s, and its explosion among technology firms since 2012; * highlights of innovative ways that AI can diagnose medical conditions more quickly and accurately; * explanations of how the combination of AI and robotics is changing how we drive; and * interviews with leading AI researchers who are pushing the boundaries of AI for the world's benefit and working to make its applications safer and more just. Johns Hopkins Wavelengths In classrooms, field stations, and laboratories in Baltimore and around the world, the Bloomberg Distinguished Professors of Johns Hopkins University are opening the boundaries of our understanding of many of the world's most complex challenges. The Johns Hopkins Wavelengths book series brings readers inside their stories, illustrating how their pioneering discoveries and innovations benefit people in their neighborhoods and across the globe in artificial intelligence, cancer research, food systems' environmental impacts, health equity, planetary science, science diplomacy, and other critical arenas of study. Through these compelling narratives, their insights will spark conversations from dorm rooms to dining rooms to boardrooms.
ISBN: 9781421445304Publication Date: 2022-11-15
Converging Minds by
This groundbreaking book explores the power of collaborative AI in amplifying human creativity and expertise. Written by two seasoned experts in data analytics, AI, and machine learning, the book offers a comprehensive overview of the creative process behind AI-powered content generation. It takes the reader through a unique collaborative process between human authors and various AI-based topic experts, created, prompted, and fine-tuned by the authors. This book features a comprehensive list of prompts that readers can use to create their own ChatGPT-powered topic experts. By following these expertly crafted prompts, individuals and businesses alike can harness the power of AI, tailoring it to their specific needs and fostering a fruitful collaboration between humans and machines. With real-world use cases and deep insights into the foundations of generative AI, the book showcases how humans and machines can work together to achieve better business outcomes and tackle complex challenges. Social and ethical implications of collaborative AI are covered and how it may impact the future of work and employment. Through reading the book, readers will gain a deep understanding of the latest advancements in AI and how they can shape our world. Converging Minds: The Creative Potential of Collaborative AI is essential reading for anyone interested in the transformative potential of AI-powered content generation and human-AI collaboration. It will appeal to data scientists, machine learning architects, prompt engineers, general computer scientists, and engineers in the fields of generative AI and deep learning. Chapter 1 of this book is freely available as a downloadable Open Access PDF at http://www.taylorfrancis.com under a Creative Commons [Attribution- No Derivatives (CC-BY -ND)] 4.0 license.
ISBN: 9781040031087Publication Date: 2024-06-17
Conversational AI by
This book provides a comprehensive introduction to Conversational AI. While the idea of interacting with a computer using voice or text goes back a long way, it is only in recent years that this idea has become a reality with the emergence of digital personal assistants, smart speakers, and chatbots. Advances in AI, particularly in deep learning, along with the availability of massive computing power and vast amounts of data, have led to a new generation of dialogue systems and conversational interfaces. Current research in Conversational AI focuses mainly on the application of machine learning and statistical data-driven approaches to the development of dialogue systems. However, it is important to be aware of previous achievements in dialogue technology and to consider to what extent they might be relevant to current research and development. Three main approaches to the development of dialogue systems are reviewed: rule-based systems that are handcrafted using best practice guidelines; statistical data-driven systems based on machine learning; and neural dialogue systems based on end-to-end learning. Evaluating the performance and usability of dialogue systems has become an important topic in its own right, and a variety of evaluation metrics and frameworks are described. Finally, a number of challenges for future research are considered, including: multimodality in dialogue systems, visual dialogue; data efficient dialogue model learning; using knowledge graphs; discourse and dialogue phenomena; hybrid approaches to dialogue systems development; dialogue with social robots and in the Internet of Things; and social and ethical issues.
ISBN: 9781636390321Publication Date: 2020-10-30
Conversational Artificial Intelligence by
This book reviews present state-of-the-art research related to the security of cloud computing including developments in conversational AI applications. It is particularly suited for those that bridge the academic world and industry, allowing readers to understand the security concerns in advanced security solutions for conversational AI in the cloud platform domain by reviewing present and evolving security solutions, their limitations, and future research directions. Conversational AI combines natural language processing (NLP) with traditional software like chatbots, voice assistants, or an interactive voice recognition system to help customers through either a spoken or typed interface. Conversational chatbots that respond to questions promptly and accurately to help customers are a fascinating development since they make the customer service industry somewhat self-sufficient. A well-automated chatbot can decimate staffing needs, but creating one is a time-consuming process. Voice recognition technologies are becoming more critical as AI assistants like Alexa become more popular. Chatbots in the corporate world have advanced technical connections with clients thanks to improvements in artificial intelligence. However, these chatbots' increased access to sensitive information has raised serious security concerns. Threats are one-time events such as malware and DDOS (Distributed Denial of Service) assaults. Targeted strikes on companies are familiar and frequently lock workers out. User privacy violations are becoming more common, emphasizing the dangers of employing chatbots. Vulnerabilities are systemic problems that enable thieves to break in. Vulnerabilities allow threats to enter the system, hence they are inextricably linked. Malicious chatbots are widely used to spam and advertise in chat rooms by imitating human behavior and discussions, or to trick individuals into disclosing personal information like bank account details.
ISBN: 1394200560Publication Date: 2024-03-06
Deep Generative Modeling by
This textbook tackles the problem of formulating AI systems by combining probabilistic modeling and deep learning. Moreover, it goes beyond typical predictive modeling and brings together supervised learning and unsupervised learning. The resulting paradigm, called deep generative modeling, utilizes the generative perspective on perceiving the surrounding world. It assumes that each phenomenon is driven by an underlying generative process that defines a joint distribution over random variables and their stochastic interactions, i.e., how events occur and in what order. The adjective "deep" comes from the fact that the distribution is parameterized using deep neural networks. There are two distinct traits of deep generative modeling. First, the application of deep neural networks allows rich and flexible parameterization of distributions. Second, the principled manner of modeling stochastic dependencies using probability theory ensures rigorous formulation and prevents potential flaws in reasoning. Moreover, probability theory provides a unified framework where the likelihood function plays a crucial role in quantifying uncertainty and defining objective functions. Deep Generative Modeling is designed to appeal to curious students, engineers, and researchers with a modest mathematical background in undergraduate calculus, linear algebra, probability theory, and the basics in machine learning, deep learning, and programming in Python and PyTorch (or other deep learning libraries). It will appeal to students and researchers from a variety of backgrounds, including computer science, engineering, data science, physics, and bioinformatics, who wish to become familiar with deep generative modeling. To engage the reader, the book introduces fundamental concepts with specific examples and code snippets. The full code accompanying the book is available on github. The ultimate aim of the book is to outline the most important techniques in deep generative modeling and, eventually, enable readers to formulate new models and implement them.
ISBN: 3030931579Publication Date: 2022-02-19
Explainable Human-AI Interaction by
From its inception, artificial intelligence (AI) has had a rather ambivalent relationship with humans--swinging between their augmentation and replacement. Now, as AI technologies enter our everyday lives at an ever-increasing pace, there is a greater need for AI systems to work synergistically with humans. One critical requirement for such synergistic human‒AI interaction is that the AI systems' behavior be explainable to the humans in the loop. To do this effectively, AI agents need to go beyond planning with their own models of the world, and take into account the mental model of the human in the loop. At a minimum, AI agents need approximations of the human's task and goal models, as well as the human's model of the AI agent's task and goal models. The former will guide the agent to anticipate and manage the needs, desires and attention of the humans in the loop, and the latter allow it to act in ways that are interpretable to humans (by conforming to their mental models of it), andbe ready to provide customized explanations when needed. The authors draw from several years of research in their lab to discuss how an AI agent can use these mental models to either conform to human expectations or change those expectations through explanatory communication. While the focus of the book is on cooperative scenarios, it also covers how the same mental models can be used for obfuscation and deception. The book also describes several real-world application systems for collaborative decision-making that are based on the framework and techniques developed here. Although primarily driven by the authors' own research in these areas, every chapter will provide ample connections to relevant research from the wider literature. The technical topics covered in the book are self-contained and are accessible to readers with a basic background in AI.
ISBN: 9783031037573Publication Date: 2022-01-27
Federated Learning Systems by
This book covers the research area from multiple viewpoints including bibliometric analysis, reviews, empirical analysis, platforms, and future applications. The centralized training of deep learning and machine learning models not only incurs a high communication cost of data transfer into the cloud systems but also raises the privacy protection concerns of data providers. This book aims at targeting researchers and practitioners to delve deep into core issues in federated learning research to transform next-generation artificial intelligence applications. Federated learning enables the distribution of the learning models across the devices and systems which perform initial training and report the updated model attributes to the centralized cloud servers for secure and privacy-preserving attribute aggregation and global model development. Federated learning benefits in terms of privacy, communication efficiency, data security, and contributors' control of their critical data.
ISBN: 9783030706036Publication Date: 2021-06-12
Generative AI in Higher Education by
Chan and Colloton's book is one of the first to provide a comprehensive examination of the use and impact of ChatGPT and Generative AI (GenAI) in higher education. Since November 2022, every conversation in higher education has involved ChatGPT and its impact on all aspects of teaching and learning. The book explores the necessity of AI literacy tailored to professional contexts, assess the strengths and weaknesses of incorporating ChatGPT in curriculum design, and delve into the transformation of assessment methods in the GenAI era. The authors introduce the Six Assessment Redesign Pivotal Strategies (SARPS) and an AI Assessment Integration Framework, encouraging a learner-centric assessment model. The necessity for well-crafted AI educational policies is explored, as well as a blueprint for policy formulation in academic institutions. Technical enthusiasts are catered to with a deep dive into the mechanics behind GenAI, from the history of neural networks to the latest advances and applications of GenAI technologies. With an eye on the future of AI in education, this book will appeal to educators, students and scholars interested in the wider societal implications and the transformative role of GenAI in pedagogy and research. The Open Access version of this book, available at www.taylorfrancis.com, has been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives (CC-BY-NC-ND) 4.0 license.
ISBN: 9781032604183Publication Date: 2024-05-01
Humanity Driven AI by
Artificial Intelligence (AI) is changing the world around us, and it is changing the way people are living, working, and entertaining. As a result, demands for understanding how AI functions to achieve and enhance human goals from basic needs to high level well-being (whilst maintaining human health) are increasing. This edited book systematically investigates how AI facilitates enhancing human needs in the digital age, and reports on the state-of-the-art advances in theories, techniques, and applications of humanity driven AI. Consisting of five parts, it covers the fundamentals of AI and humanity, AI for productivity, AI for well-being, AI for sustainability, and human-AI partnership. Humanity Driven AI creates an important opportunity to not only promote AI techniques from a humanity perspective, but also to invent novel AI applications to benefit humanity. It aims to serve as the dedicated source for the theories, methodologies, and applications on humanity drivenAI, establishing state-of-the-art research, and providing a ground-breaking book for graduate students, research professionals, and AI practitioners.
ISBN: 3030721876Publication Date: 2021-12-02
Media Management and Artificial Intelligence by
This cutting-edge textbook examines contemporary media business models in the context of Artificial Intelligence and digital transformation. AI has dramatically impacted media production and distribution, from recommendation engines to synthetic humans, from video-to-text tools to natural language models. "AI is really the change agent of the media industry," answered a natural language generation model when AI was 'asked' about the subject of this book. "It will open incredible opportunities." This book seeks to explore them. The media is examined through four sections. 'Principles' maps business models and the key tools of AI. 'Platforms' covers distribution channels in Games, Streamers, Social Networks, Broadcast and Digital Publishing. 'Producers' covers the engines of content-making, including Scripted, Entertainment, Factual, Content Marketing, Creators and Music. Finally, 'Pioneers' covers emerging sectors of Podcasters, Esports, the Metaverse and other AI-driven developments. Then in each chapter, a standard value creation model is applied, mapping a single sector through development, production, distribution and monetisation. Diverse case studies are analysed from India, Nigeria, South Korea, South Africa, France, the Netherlands, US, UK, Denmark and China - around creative entrepreneurship, revenue models, profit drivers, rights and emerging AI tools. Questions are provided for each case, whilst key learning points and chapter summaries cement learning. Applied and technology-focused, this text offers core reading for advanced undergraduate and postgraduates studying Media Management - or the relationship between Entertainment, Media and Technology. Online resources include chapter-by-chapter PowerPoint slides and an Instructor's Manual with further exercises and case studies.
ISBN: 9781003213611Publication Date: 2022-11-18
Responsible, Transparent, and Trustworthy AI Systems by
Transformative Artificial Intelligence provides a comprehensive overview of the latest trends, challenges, applications, and opportunities in the field of Artificial Intelligence. The book covers the state of the art in AI research, including machine learning, natural language processing, computer vision, and robotics, and explores how these technologies are transforming various industries and domains, such as healthcare, finance, education, and entertainment. The book also addresses the challenges that come with the widespread adoption of AI, including ethical concerns, bias, and the impact on jobs and society. It provides insights into how to mitigate these challenges and how to design AI systems that are responsible, transparent, and trustworthy. The book offers a forward-looking perspective on the future of AI, exploring the emerging trends and applications that are likely to shape the next decade of AI innovation. It also provides practical guidance for businesses and individuals on how to leverage the power of AI to create new products, services, and opportunities. Overall, the book is an essential read for anyone who wants to stay ahead of the curve in the rapidly evolving field of Artificial Intelligence and understand the impact that this transformative technology will have on our lives in the coming years.
ISBN: 9788770040198Publication Date: 2024-04-26
Technics by
Technics gathers leading international media scholars to rethink technology for the contemporary digital era. The volume's 28 contributors provide cutting-edge theoretical, historiographical, and methodological reflections on media and technology. Chapters explore the ideas of Walter Benjamin, Ursula Le Guin, Bernhard Siegert, Gilbert Simondon, and Sylvia Wynter in conjunction with urgent issues such as ableism, algorithms, digital infrastructures, generative AI, and geoengineering. An expansive collection of writings on media technologies in the digital age, Technics is an essential resource for students and scholars of film and media studies, digital humanities, science and technology studies, and the philosophy of technology.
ISBN: 9789048564569Publication Date: 2024-04-19
Understanding Artificial Intelligence by
Artificial Intelligence (AI) fascinates, challenges and disturbs us. There are many voices in society that predict drastic changes that may come as a consequence of AI - a possible apocalypse or Eden on earth. However, only a few people truly understand what AI is, what it can do and what its limitations are. Understanding Artificial Intelligence explains, through a straightforward narrative and amusing illustrations, how AI works. It is written for a non-specialist reader, adult or adolescent, who is interested in AI but is missing the key to understanding how it works. The author demystifies the creation of the so-called "intelligent" machine and explains the different methods that are used in AI. It presents new possibilities offered by algorithms and the difficulties that researchers, engineers and users face when building and using such algorithms. Each chapter allows the reader to discover a new aspect of AI and to become fully aware of the possibilities offered by this rich field.
ISBN: 9781003080626Publication Date: 2020-12-09
