GEOG 697: Research Capstone in Geography: Sources of Data
Sources of Data
Top Sources
- PolicyMapAccess social, economic, health and demographic data about U.S. communities and markets in this online mapping tool. View data on map, in table or chart format, and download via the sidebar menu. Reports provide a summary snapshot of an area: Community Profile, Community Health Profile, Rental Housing Report, and Housing Mortgage Report.
- SimplyAnalyticsCreate maps, tables, and rankings from over 30,000 demographic, consumer spending, and psychographic variables. Covers the U.S. from states to neighborhood levels. Create your own optional account to save your searches and favorite variables and locations.
Data analysis and mapping tool with U.S. demographic, housing, employment, business, consumer spending, marketing data from government sources, EASI Analytics, Nielsen Scarborough, and SimmonsLOCAL Consumer Insights. Export data in spreadsheet or shapefile format, and export maps as images.
Note:Access is limited to 5 concurrent users. - Social ExplorerProvides web-based access to United States Census data from 1790 to the present, and to other U.S. and international data, with the ability to make tables and interactive maps easily or export data for analysis. Data include the most commonly used variables and geographies.
Additional sources
- AccessNCNC demographic and economic data.
- Bureau of Labor StatisticsQuarterly Census of Employment and Wages | Occupational Outlook Handbook
- County Health RankingsProvides a variety of health variables by county for the U.S. data is available for download in Excel format.
- LINC (Log into North Carolina)NC demographic, health, education, and a variety of other data.
- Data Axle Reference SolutionsContains directory information for millions of U.S. and Canadian businesses and consumers (white pages). Use Consumers/Lifestyles data for market research and customer discovery. Search by company name, geographic area, industry codes (NAICS/SIC), sales volume, etc. Create custom lists of up to 250 records that you can download to Excel.
Note: Users are not permitted access from IP addresses outside of the United States. Download limit is 250 records.
Food & Well Being
- CDC/ATSDR Social Vulnerability IndexIndex that uses 16 U.S. census variables to help local officials identify communities that may need support before, during, or after disasters.
- Food Access Research Atlas - USDAThis resource shows food deserts in the United States, by Census tract. Access the data by using the "Download the Data" link. Also note other available data (e.g. Food Environment Atlas).
- Kids Count Data CenterThe premier source for data on child and family well-being in the United States. Access hundreds of indicators, download data and create reports and graphics on the KIDS COUNT Data Center that support smart decisions about children and families.
- Neighborhood AtlasThe Neighborhood Atlas website was created in order to freely share measures of neighborhood disadvantage with the public, including educational institutions, health systems, not-for-profit organizations, and government agencies, in order to make these metrics available for use in research, program planning, and policy development.
- SNAP data tablesSupplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) Data
Geographic
- NC OneMapA strategic resource providing a collection of authoritative geographic data and web services.
Education
- Civil Rights Data CollectionThe CRDC collects data on leading civil rights indicators related to access and barriers to educational opportunity at the early childhood through grade 12 levels.
- NC Department of Public InstructionThe North Carolina Department of Public Instruction (NCDPI) is charged with implementing the state's public school laws for pre-kindergarten through 12th grade public schools at the direction of the State Board of Education and the Superintendent of Public Instruction.
- NC School Report CardsFind data for NC public schools (and some charter schools) including performance, personnel, digital access, crime, suspensions and expulsions, plus school/district profiles.
- US Department of EducationOur mission is to promote student achievement and preparation for global competitiveness by fostering educational excellence and ensuring equal access.
Career/occupation
- CareerOneStopCareerOneStop is the flagship career, training, and job search website for the U.S. Department of Labor. The website serves job seekers, businesses, students, and career advisors with a variety of free online tools, information and resources.
- Occupational Outlook HandbookThe Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) provides information on what workers do; the work environment; education, training, and other qualifications; pay; the job outlook; information on state and area data; similar occupations; and sources of additional information.
Energy & Environment
- NC Flood Risk Information SystemContains digitally accessible flood hazard data, models, maps, risk assessments and reports that are database driven.
- Office for Coastal Management - Sea Level Rise ViewerData on sea level rise
- National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)The National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL) is transforming energy through research, development, commercialization, and deployment of renewable energy and energy efficiency technologies.
- Renewable & Alternative Fuels (EIA)From the U.S. Energy Administration Administration. Includes hydropower, solar, wind, geothermal, biomass and ethanol.
- EJSCREENAn environmental justice mapping and screening tool that provides EPA with a nationally consistent dataset and approach for combining environmental and demographic indicators.
- Environmental Justice Program (NCDEQ)The Environmental Justice Program at DEQ works to ensure the fair treatment and meaningful involvement of all people regardless of race, color, national origin, or income with respect to the development, implementation and enforcement of environmental laws, regulations and policies.
- NC Environmental Justice NetworkNorth Carolina Environmental Justice Network (NCEJN) is a grassroots, people of color-led coalition of community organizations and their supporters who work with low income communities and people of color on issues of climate, environmental, racial, and social injustice.
- FEMA National Risk IndexThe National Risk Index is a dataset and online tool to help illustrate the United States communities most at risk for 18 natural hazards.
- Centre for Environmental Data AnalysisGlobal gridded monthly time-series climate data
Misc.
- NC State Board of Elections DataProvides links to election data, including current and historical polling place data, precinct data, and voter history data.
- HUD User DataHousing and Urban Development (HUD) provides interested researchers with access to the original data sets generated by PD&R-sponsored data collection efforts, including the American Housing Survey, median family incomes and income limits, as well as microdata from research initiatives on topics such as housing discrimination, the HUD-insured multifamily housing stock, and the public housing population.
- MunicodeMunicipal Code Corporation - Consists of local government codes of ordinances from around United States. Also includes links to related organizations.
Census Data
- Census Data Resources GuideThis is a link to a comprehensive guide from the UNC-CH libraries on census data, including information about mapping census data.
- data.census.govData.census.gov is the primary way to access data from most U.S. Census Bureau surveys and programs. Search for data tables from the American Community Survey, Decennial Census, Economics Census, annual Population Estimates, annual economic surveys, and more. Visit the Census Academy site to learn more about using this tool.
- A Resource for Understanding United States Census GeographyA reference from the U.S. government on census data, including a glossary of census terminology.
GIS Data From Local Municipalities and NC Government
These are links to municipal data including: Parcels, Subdivisions, Economic Development Zones, Land Use (current & future), EMS, Law, Greenways, Schools, and Zoning.
- Chapel Hill Bus RoutesMap service showing bus routes in Chapel Hill and Hillsborrough.
- GoTriangle GIS ResourcesProvides GTFS data for regional transit systems in the Triangle.
- NCDOT Annual Average Daily Traffic (AADT)Resource from the NCDOT providing data on AADT, the total volume of vehicle traffic on a highway or road for a year divided by 365 days.
Connect with us
