George Moses Horton Materials at Wilson Special Collections Library: Books at Wilson Library
Overview of published material
The books listed here are published works by George Moses Horton held at Wilson Special Collections Library.
Published books by George Moses Horton
-
The hope of liberty : containing a number of poetical pieces
by
Publication Date: Raleigh : Printed by J. Gales & Son, 1829.
Wilson Special Collections Library has a photocopy of this book. An original edition is held by the Library of Congress, PS1999 .H473 (Rare Book/Special Collections Reading Room (Jefferson LJ239))
This book is transcribed at Documenting the American South.
-
Poems by a slave.
by
Publication Date: 18372nd edition. Published in Philadelphia. Wilson Special Collections Library has two copies of this edition.
This book is scanned and downloadable from the Internet Archive. A full transcription can be found at Documenting the American South.
-
The poetical works of George M. Horton : the colored bard of North-Carolina : to which is prefixed The life of the author
by
Call Number: VC811 H82p 1845Publication Date: Hillsborough: Heartt, 1845.
This book is scanned and downloadable from the Internet Archive. A full transcription can be found at Documenting the American South. Along with the transcription is an essay by Brooke McKenna.
-
Naked Genius
Call Number: C811 H82nPublication Date: 1865The Black poet "a work being now compiled and revised by Captain Will. H.S. Banks, 9th Michigan Cavalry Volunteers, and which will be ready for publication about the 1st of October, 1865. This work will contain a concise history of the life of the author, written by the compiler, and will be offered to the public as one of the many proofs that God, in his infinite wisdom and mercy, created the black man for a higher and nobler purpose than to toil his life away under the galling yoke of slavery."--Title page.
Wilson Special Collections Library has a photocopy of this book. It is a compilation of previously published poems.