Guide to German Studies : Digital Projects
Digital Libraries and Collections
- EuropeanaThe Europeana portal is a search engine for the digitized collections of museums, libraries, archives and galleries across Europe. The site features virtual exhibitions as well as individual assets. Of current interest is the Europeana 1914-1918 project which brings together community-contributed content from the time of World War One.
- Arbeitsgemeinschaft UniversitätsverlageThis is the common web portal of the German university presses.
- BSB DigitizationThe Munich digital library hosts a rang of digital products including medieval manuscripts and early imprints.
- BSB Digi20The platform allows full text search of digitized monographs in humanities and social sciences from the second half of the 20th Century.
- Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) GEPRISThe German Research Foundation is concerned with historical knowledge and research policy particularly as it relates to social conditions and political developments.
- Zentrales Verzeichnis Digitalisierter DruckeThe ZVDD portal offers digital versions of print works in Germany from the 15th Century to the present.
- Goettingen Digitization CenterThe Göttingen Digitization Center includes print works, manuscripts, and sculptures. The present electronic collection is over 5 million digitized pages.
- Digital Collections with Significant German ContentThis Wikisource provides links to institutions providing significant German language content.
- Catalog of Digitized Medieval ManuscriptsThe Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts hosted by UCLA is designed to enable users to find fully digitized manuscripts (in all languages) currently available on the web.
- GNARP Inventory of Digital Projects in German StudiesThis inventory of Digital Projects in German Studies or from German-Speaking Countries is sponsored by GNARP and WESS and is divided into broad categories.
- Encyclopedia of Romantic Nationalism in EuropeThe Encyclopedia of Romantic Nationalism (ERNiE) contains analytical articles on themes and persons, as well as historical documentation (Letters, Writings, Images, Music, etc.), tracing and visualizing the transnational rise of national culture-building in 19th-century Europe.
Digital Humanities at UNC
Carolina Digital Humanities is a set of partnerships and programs that promote innovation, interdisciplinary connections, and collaboration around digital teaching, research, and outreach in the arts and humanities.
-
Library Data Services cater to researchers interested in working with data, mapping, texts, visualization, and technology. Many of these services are available online. Davis Library Data Services, located on the second floor of Davis Library, offers:
- A computing lab with specialized software for GIS and data visualization & analysis.
- Walk-in assistance provided by knowledgeable student consultants during set hours.
- Consultations with specialists for more in-depth inquiries (by appointment).
- Spaces for collaboration and presentation, complete with white boards and external displays.
- Technology workshops focused on working with data (manipulation, visualization, mapping).
Digital Projects on Germany
The German Historical Institute in Washington DC is an internationally recognized center for the study of German, European, and American history as well as comparative and transnational history.
- Deutsches Historisches Museum - LeMO
LeMO (Living Museum Online) documents German history from the founding of the German Empire in the 19th Century to the present. The offering combines informative text with museum objects, films and sound recordings and provides a comprehensive picture of history. German language only.
