Health Data & Statistics: Intro
Created by Health Science Librarians
Introduction
This guide provides a collection of links to frequently used health data and statistics web sites. It is organized into sections for North Carolina, United States and Global data.
Finding the health statistics you need is often surprisingly easy using Google. Search specific words for your topic along with the word statistics.
- Google Search Example: adolescent obesity "united states" statistics
Sometimes, finding the data you need is more complicated. Browse the link lists for a relevant site and use the tutorials linked below to learn more searching tips.
Before you spend too much time, Ask a Librarian.
A Few Good Places to Start
- HealthData.govDedicated to making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all.
- Where can I find health statistics? (U.S. National Library of Medicine)This comprehensive subject research guide includes some of the major sources of health and general statistics in the United States and a brief list of international resources. Resources include print and online publications, databases, datasets, online tools, and Websites. The majority are from U.S. Government agencies.
- National Center for Health StatisticsThe United States' principal health statistics agency provides data and reports on a wide range of health topics. Select Topics to link to FastStats for quick access to summary data.
- North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics (SCHS)The North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics is responsible for data collection, health-related research, production of reports and maintenance of a comprehensive collection of health statistics.
- State Health Facts (Kaiser Family Foundation)Up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data from all 50 states on more than 500 health topics.
- WHO Global Health Observatory"The Global Health Observatory (GHO) is WHO's portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation. It provides critical data and analyses for key health themes, as well as direct access to the full database. The GHO presents data from all WHO programmes and provides links to supporting information." [provider description]
Tutorials to Help You Learn How to Find Health Statistics
- Finding and Using Health Statistics"This course describes the range of available health statistics, identifies their sources and helps you understand how to use information about their structure as you search." From the National Library of Medicine.
- Health Statistics TutorialThis section of the Public Health Information & Data Tutorial teaches you how to identify relevant and appropriate data and information sources. Sponsored by Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce.