Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
Consulting Skills Frameworks - ICSF: Home
More Resources
- NAICS Codes2 to 6 digit number used by U.S. Federal statistical agencies to classify businesses by industry. NAICS = "North American Industry Classification System." Updated every 5 years; search for most recent code for best results.
What is in this guide?
Resources for KFBS MBA students taking Introduction to Consulting Skills and Frameworks (ICSF), MBA826B with Alex Dickey.
This page includes links to many Industry Information Tools; other pages include how to:
- Data
- Resources specific to KFBS - data & sources ONLY available to Kenan-Flagler students and faculty
- Business Data & Statistics - tips on finding data
- Company Info:
- Public Company Information - tips on finding material on public companies
- Private Company Information - tips on finding material on private companies
- Articles Find Journal articles - scholarly & trade articles in a variety of business topics
-
- Wall Street Journal (1984-present; through ProQuest)
- Find Current U.S. News - resources for finding news articles beyond a paywall
- Find Historic U.S. News - resources for finding older news articles, including historic stock prices
- Fun resources - Libby / Kindle books for free! And multiple sources for free-to-you streaming films & documentaries.
Industry Information Tools
- ABI/Inform CollectionArticles from academic journals, trade publications, market and industry research reports, general business magazines. Topics covered include leadership, management, economics, banking, finance, accounting, international business and economics.
See also industry reports from Business Monitor International (BMI) and First Research.
- BCC ResearchIndustry and market research reports on major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology organizations
- BizMinerDetailed industry financials, ratios and market data for thousands of lines of business and industries across the USA. Includes market size for industries and financial info. for local companies.
- Business Source PremierCovers scholarly articles for all business subjects: marketing, management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more. Also includes financial data, MarketLine company profiles, Harvard Business Review articles, SWOT analyses, and more.
- Country Commercial GuidesReports on market conditions, opportunities, regulations, and business customs prepared at U.S. Embassies worldwide by Commerce Department, State Department, and other U.S. agencies' professionals.
- Data Axle Reference SolutionsContains directory information for millions of U.S. and Canadian businesses and consumers (white pages). Use Consumers/Lifestyles data for market research and customer discovery. Search by company name, geographic area, industry codes (NAICS/SIC), sales volume, etc. Create custom lists of up to 250 records that you can download to Excel.
Note: Users are not permitted access from IP addresses outside of the United States. Download limit is 250 records. - Euromonitor PassportProvides detailed data and reports for international and consumer industries, including historic data from 1997 and market forecasts. Reports include market size, company and brand profiles and market share. Consumer information includes population trends, lifestyles, buying behavior. Export data into Excel. Great for international business.
Note: You will be asked to login. UNC affiliates only – no walk in access allowed. - IBISWorld Industry Reports30-40 page reports covering the entire U.S. economy, providing in-depth and concise business intelligence and industry analysis. Global and China industry reports provide market information for many industries and business sectors. Reports are updated every 4 to 6 months.
Note: UNC does not have access to all reports within IBISWorld. If you find a report on the web that is not available through IBISWorld, it's because we do not have access. - Mintel AcademicContains market research data and reports on consumer markets and products, demographics, consumer buying behavior and motivations, trends in global consumer markets. Many reports include Databooks with downloadable consumer survey data. U.S.-focused with some global coverage.
- OrbisCovers millions of publicly traded and privately held companies from around the world. Company records include directory facts, financial and ownership details, subsidiaries, names and titles for executives and directors, M&A deals, etc. Privately held companies do not have financial information.
Note: This resource does not currently work with Chrome browser
Note: Disable pop-up blockers to use this resource. - OsirisContains information on over 110,000 publicly traded companies, banks, and insurance companies from around the world, including financial statement data. Provides ownership, subsidiaries, earnings estimates, stock data. Report formats reflect accounting procedures in the major world regions.
Note: This resource does not currently work with Chrome browser - StatistaContains statistics, infographics, industry and market research reports and publicly-available data for over 25 countries on all topics. Download statistics and charts in Excel, PowerPoint, or PDF.
Note: UNC Chapel Hill currently has full access to Statista with the exception of the Global Consumer Survey and Market Studies.
Your Librarian
News Website
- Get free access from UNC Libraries to the New York Times. Instructions for activating your account:
- Get free access from UNC Libraries to The Washington Post.For more information, see this guide.
- Are you a student? Check out the Wall Street Journal student subscription option.
Google Scholar UNC (opens in a new window)
