Indigenous Studies in the Americas: Research in Indigenous Studies
This is a guide about indigenous studies in the Americas, with resources from UNC and beyond.
Overview
This page includes Library of Congress headings and databases can be used to find more information about indigenous communities and issues. Although not all of this information will be through a critical indigenous studies lens, they offer primary and secondary sources that cover indigenous cultures, activism, and past and present concerns. Since most of the databases are in English, they focus more on North American communities than their South American counterparts.
Image Credit: Getty Images
Library of Congress Subject Headings
Indigenous peoples of North America
Indigenous peoples of North America - Economic conditions
Indigenous peoples of North America - Montana
Indigenous peoples of South America
Indigenous peoples of South America - Political activity...
Indigenous peoples of South America - Guiana
(other countries' indigenous peoples, or additional subjects like music, language, or education, can be used when searching)
Databases
- Academic Search PremierFind information on academic areas of business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics; resource provides access to major popular and scholarly journals with many full-text articles.
- American Indian Movement and Native American RadicalismFBI documentation on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest, as well as documentation on the 1973 Wounded Knee standoff. Informant reports and materials collected by the Extremist Intelligence Section of the FBI provide insight into the motives, actions, and leadership of AIM and the development of Native American radicalism.
- Indigenous Newspapers in North AmericaAmerican Indian Newspapers offers the publications of a range of communities, with an extensive list of periodicals produced in the United States and Canada, including Alaska, Arizona, British Columbia, California, Nevada and Oklahoma, from 1828 to 2016.
- American WestCollection documenting westward expansion in American through books, journals, historic maps, broadsides, periodicals, advertisements, photographs, artwork and other artifacts from the early 18th to the mid 20th century.
- AnthroSourceDeveloped by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource provides over a century publications online. It has current issues of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications and archives of all AAA journals.
- Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the EnvironmentFunded with the generous support of the William M and Mary D Harrison Library Fund, Early Encounters documents the relationships among diverse peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. The Indian perspective is recorded in a wide variety of sources, including oral accounts written down by Europeans at the time of contact and afterward, speeches, correspondence, and publications produced by Indians. The collection offers nearly 1,000 prints, drawings, paintings, maps, bibliographies, letters, photographs, and original facsimile pages.
- Ethnic NewsWatchA full-text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. This collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints.
- HAPI, Hispanic American Periodicals IndexCurrently indexes over 380 journals and includes the contents of over 675 journals dating back to our start in the 1970s. Approximately 80% of currently indexed titles include links to full text sources - and many of those are freely available through open access policies.
- Independent VoicesContains over one million pages from nearly 1,000 magazines, journals, newsletters, and newspapers of the alternative press archives spanning the 1960's to the 1980's. Includes publications by feminists, small literary magazines, underground newspapers, LGBT periodicals, the minority press (Latino, Black and Native American) and the extreme right-wing press.
- JSTORProvides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. Excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior AbstractsCovers the international literature dealing with the discipline of linguistics and related fields in the study of language. Over 1,500 journals are indexed, as are books, book chapters, and dissertations.
- Native American Ethnobotany DatabaseDatabase of plants used as drugs, foods, dyes, fibers, and more, by native and First Peoples of North America; resource for the study of the traditional knowledge and customs of Native Americans concerning plants and their medical, religious, and other uses.
- Nexis UniCovers general, regional, and international news, company and financial information, legal information (including law reviews, case law and legal rulings), and other topics such as biographical information. Many files are full-text.
- North American Indian DramaBrings together the full text of more than 200 plays representing the stories and creative energies of American Indian and First Nation playwrights of the twentieth century. The collection represents groups across the United States and Canada , including Cherokee, Mtis, Creek, Choctaw, Pembina Chippewa, Ojibway, Hawaiian/Samoan, Comanche, Cree, Navajo, Rappahannock , and others.
- North American Indian Thought and CultureBrings together more than 100,000 pages of autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files. These documents offer a perspective into the attitudes of native peoples toward the earliest European settlers and the resultant transformations that took place, first as trade was established and later as displacement forced tribes into unfamiliar territories.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses GlobalIndexes US dissertations from 1861 with full text available from 1997; masters theses covered selectively including some full text. Citations for dissertations from 1980 include 350-word abstracts, while masters' theses from 1988 have 150-word abstracts. Selectively covers dissertations from Great Britain and other European universities for recent years.
In addition to this database, the full text of the majority of UNC theses and dissertations from 2006, and all beginning in 2008, are freely available electronically from the UNC Library: Dissertations | Theses - WorldCatOCLC's WorldCat is the world's largest union catalog containing of millions bibliographic records for items in the collections of thousands of libraries from many countries. This database includes all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries in several hundred languages.
Connect with us
