Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.

Market Research & Industry Report Resources: Home

Research resources through UNC and more!

Why Research Industry?

When researching at Kenan-Flagler or pursuing any degree, understanding the landscape of industry and market is crucial for making informed decisions about research, job hunting, and more. Industry and market research involves gathering and analyzing data about market trends, consumer behaviors, and competitive forces to identify opportunities and challenges within a specific sector. This research helps businesses tailor their strategies to meet market demands, anticipate shifts, and maintain a competitive edge. This page is for students to effectively utilize UNC's vast industry repositories and act as a guide through what each database offers.

Librarian

Erica Freed

she/her

Email Me

Introduction

The resources on this page are databases that will aid business students in market and industry research. These are valuable resources that are either publicly available, or available with a UNC onyen login. UNC has a wealth of specialized databases, industry and market analysis tools, and reports that are difficult to find with basic Google searching or are often very expensive to purchase.

Databases

BCC Research
Industry and market research reports on major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology organizations
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
data.census.gov
Data.census.gov is the primary way to access data from most U.S. Census Bureau surveys and programs. Search for data tables from the American Community Survey, Decennial Census, Economics Census, annual Population Estimates, annual economic surveys, and more. Visit the Census Academy site to learn more about using this tool.
Access: No restrictions.
Coverage: Varies
IBISWorld Industry Reports
Covers the entire U.S. economy, providing in-depth and concise business intelligence and industry analysis. Global and China industry reports provide market information for many industries and business sectors.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Nexis Uni
Covers general, regional, and international news, company and financial information, legal information (including law reviews, case law and legal rulings), and other topics such as biographical information. Many files are full-text.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Statista
Contains statistics, infographics, industry and market research reports and publicly-available data for over 25 countries on all topics. Download statistics and charts in Excel, PowerPoint, or PDF.

Note: UNC Chapel Hill currently has full access to Statista with the exception of the Global Consumer Survey and Market Studies.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.