LibGuides: Public International Law Research: International Organizations

Understanding Basic International Organizations Terminology

International Organizations Terminology

International Organizations

The term "international organization" includes intergovernmental organizations (IGOs), international nongovernmental organizations (INGOs), and supranational organizations. The following chart highlights the distinctions between these three types of organizations:

Intergovernmental Organizations (IGOs)	IGOs are composed predominantly of states, established by a treaty or other instrument of international law, and possess autonomous organs with a will separate from its individual members. They exist for a variety of purposes, including regional cooperation (ASEAN), security alliances (NATO), or dedcation to a particular purpose (WTO).	UN, ASEAN, Council of Europe, WTO
International Nongovernmental Organizations (INGOs)	Generally private, voluntary organizations whose members are individuals or associations that come together to achieve a common purpose. NGOs can be funded privately or through partial government funds.	Amnesty International, OXFAM, Doctors Without Borders
Supranational Organizations	An international organization with "supranational powers" is capable of binding member states to its decisions and laws. Thus, these organizations often have more governmental authority and law-making power than traditional international organizations.	European Union

This Section will provide a brief overview of four major IGOs, including two regional organizations (ASEAN and Council of Europe), the United Nations, and the World Trade Organization. For more information on specific INGOs, run a Google search for the organization and visit their website.

European Union

The European Union is a supranational organization, which means that its member states are bound by the laws, regulations, and judicial decisions of the organization. This type of organization stands in contrast to other, traditional international organizations that typically do not carry governmental and law-making authority. The European Union is not specifically addressed in this research guide.

The European Union will be addressed in a forthcoming research guide, so please check back here for updates! Until then, please check out the following research guides and materials for research on the European Union:

Europa: This is the official website for the European Union, and it provides access to EU law and organizes content by topic for easier access.
Electronic Resource Guide for International Law (EISIL): EISIL provides links to primary documents, websites, and research resources for the European Union.
Other Law Library Research Guides:
- European University Institute
- Georgetown Law Library

Background Reading on International Organizations

International Organization by J. Samuel Barkin
ISBN: 1403972508
Publication Date: 2006-04-11
This book is an introduction to the study of international organizations in the field of International Relations directed toward students in the discipline. It looks at the different ways in which IOs are studied and then applies these different modes of study to a variety of specific case studies.
International Organizations by Ian Hurd
ISBN: 9780521768344
Publication Date: 2010-11-25
International organizations are at the heart of many global issues today. This new textbook looks at the leading international organizations and explains how they both shape and are shaped by international politics. The book examines three themes: the legal obligations that give international organizations their powers; the mechanisms that elicit compliance by their member states; and the practices of enforcement in the organization. Each chapter shows how international organizations work in practice and the interactions between them and their member states.
NGO Involvement in International Governance and Policy by Anton Vedder (Editor); Vivien Collingwood (Editor); Anke Van Gorp (Editor); Menno T. Kamminga (Editor); Louis Logister (Editor); Corien Prins (Editor)
ISBN: 9789004158467
Publication Date: 2007-11-01
Internationally operating nongovernmental organisations, NGOs, are increasingly involved in international politics and policy making. In many respects their involvement resembles activities and policies that, until recently, were typical of traditional national authorities. This book is about the reasons for which NGOs can and the reasons for which NGOs cannot be considered as rightful participants in international governance.
Research Handbook on the Law of International Organizations by Jan Klabbers (Editor); Asa Wallendahl (Editor)
ISBN: 9781847201355
Publication Date: 2011-07-29
This pioneering Research Handbook with contributions from renowned experts, provides an overview of the general doctrines making up the law of international organizations.The approach of this book is taken from a novel perspective: that of the tension between functionalism and constitutionalism. In doing so, this Handbook presents not only practically relevant information, but also provides a tool for understanding the ways in which international organizations work.