Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
MEJO 342: Black Press and U.S. History: Secondary Sources
Find Circulation
-
Negro Newspapers of the United States, 1964From Editor & Publisher International Year Book.
Cite as:
Editor & Publisher Co. 1964. Editor and publisher international year book. New York: Editor & Publisher. -
A Guide to Negro Marketing Information, 1966See p. 15 of the pdf document, or p. 44 in the book in Google Books, below.
Citation:
Lancaster, Emmer Martin. A Guide to Negro Marketing Information. Washington, 1966.
-
Editor & Publisher International Year Book
Call number: PN4700 .E42. 1959, 1961, and 1964 available in print only.
Data includes newspaper circulation, cost, advertising rates, and some contact information for key staff.
Park Library has multiple years, including 1937, 1958, some years in the 1960s and 1970s, and most years from 1985-present. Davis Library has more coverage. Most current in Park Library Reference.
-
Largest Daily Newspapers, 1974Gregory, Ross, and Richard Balkin. Cold War America, 1946 to 1990. New York: Facts on File, 2003. p.173. in Google Books. Retrieved 03/31/20.
-
100 Top Daily Newspapers in the U.S., 1984The One Hundred Top Daily Newspapers in the United States According to Circulation September 30, 1984. From Editor & Publisher International YearBook 1985.
Online
- Geo. P. Rowell and Co.'s American newspaper directory (1869-1877) and
- N.W. Ayer & Son's American newspaper annual (1880-1909) and
- N.W. Ayer's American Newspaper Annual & Directory (1910-1922)
Data sorted by state, and then by town. Includes newspaper circulation, cost, advertising rates, and some contact information for key staff. You may need to search "colored" or "negro" to find statistics for Black newspapers & periodicals.
Some of the volumes missing from the Library of Congress are online: 1886 pt. 1, 1895, 1899, and 1921.
-
N.W. Ayer & Son's directory of newspapers and periodicalsCall Number: Z6951 .A97 @ Library Service CenterAssorted issues from 1910-1970.
Find the 1956 edition in the Park Library on 2-hour reserve.
Polls
-
Roper Center's iPoll
Includes polls and data survey results from academic, commercial and media survey organizations such as Gallup Organization, Harris Interactive, Pew Research Associates, and many more. From the Roper Center. 1935-present.
Search EBSCO Databases
Background in U.S. History
-
Eyes on the Prize: America’s Civil Rights Movement 1954–1985
1994 series from PBS.
America in the 20th Century: The Civil Rights Movement. Media Rich Learning, 2010. See clips or segments of various aspects of the Civil Rights Movement. Much material is contemporaneous.
Browse the Black Studies selection or search for a specific topic. From Alexander Street Press.
-
Oxford African American Studies Center
Biographies & encyclopedia articles about all aspects of the African American experience. Includes oral histories in the HistoryMakers.
-
Civil Rights Digital Library.
Documents about the struggle for racial equality in the 1950s and 1960s - including:
- a digital video archive of historical news film
- links to original documents &
- encyclopedia articles on topics.
Browse by date or search by topic.
-
Gale Archives Unbound: African American Studies CollectionsPrimary source collections (1901-1990s) dealing with Civil Rights, racial justice, and Black power movements, sourced from U.S. libraries and archives
Books Recommended by Dr. Trevy
-
Shocking The Conscience: A Reporter's Account of the Civil Rights Movement
by
Tells the story of a courageous Black journalist during the Civil Rights Movement. Booker's special relationship with Emmett Till's family provides unique insights on the murder. -
The Race Beat
by
Call Number: PN4888.R3 R63 2006An examination of how the press changed the United State's perspective on civil rights during the 1950s and 1960s through photography and editorials.
In print and on reserve at Park Library.
