Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
MEJO 379: Advertising & Public Relations Research: Home
Librarian
What is in this Guide?
Resources for MEJO 379: Advertising & Public Relations Research at UNC's Hussman School of Journalism and Media.
News & Private Company Information
- North Carolina news articles through America's News
- Company profiles for public & private companies, and some non-profits
- National news through U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest)
Info. on People
-
Statista
Data on topics such as pet ownership, music sales, poverty, social media use, and much more. Or browse their market research categories. View online and download as .xls.
.
Data on topics such as pet ownership, music sales, poverty, social media use, and much more. Or browse their 
Tons more at Statista!
-
PolicyMapOnline mapping tool with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the US.
-
Simmons InsightsData on adult U.S. consumers includes attitudes and behaviors, media use, and buying habits. Covers a wide variety of products, brands and services.
Data includes consumer demographics (age, gender, income, etc.); consumer psychographics (behavior, attitudes); and buying and media habits. Create reports for marketing strategies, advertising choices, and other business decisions.
-
Consumer Expenditure SurveyContains two surveys, the Quarterly Interview Survey and the Diary Survey, that provide information on the buying habits of America's consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics. The survey data are collected for the Bureau of Labor Statistics by the U.S. Census Bureau.
-
Social ExplorerProvides web-based access to United States Census data from 1790 to the present, and to other U.S. and international data, with the ability to make tables and interactive maps easily or export data for analysis. Data include the most commonly used variables and geographies.
-
Consumer SpendingU.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis - data about the nation's economy
-
Statistical Abstract of the United StatesAn authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Info. on Products
-
IBISWorld Industry Reports
Reports on 700 U.S. industries. Reports include key statistics, market characteristics, segmentation, industry conditions, key factors, key competitors and outlook.
-
Mintel Academic
Market research reports for Europe, the UK, and the U.S. Consumer goods, travel and tourism, financial industry, retail, and food & drink. Reports discuss market size and trends, market segmentation, advertising and promotion, retail distribution, consumer characteristics, and market forecasts. 2001-present.
Note: Must create a free account with @unc.edu email to access Mintel. -
FactivaCompany and industry information. Obtain stock price for past 5 years; create charts of stock prices. Browse industry snapshots. Tech Note: Click on Company / Markets to start. More help from: Factiva User Guide.
Reports on 700 U.S. industries. Reports include key statistics, market characteristics, segmentation, industry conditions, key factors, key competitors and outlook.
Market research reports for Europe, the UK, and the U.S. Consumer goods, travel and tourism, financial industry, retail, and food & drink. Reports discuss market size and trends, market segmentation, advertising and promotion, retail distribution, consumer characteristics, and market forecasts. 2001-present.Business Market Research Collection
-
ProQuest Business Market Research CollectionContains company records and analysis of major global and regional economic and political developments.
SimplyAnalytics
-
SimplyAnalyticsCreate maps, tables, and rankings from over 30,000 demographic, consumer spending, and psychographic variables. Covers the U.S. from states to neighborhood levels. Create your own optional account to save your searches and favorite variables and locations.
Data analysis and mapping tool with U.S. demographic, housing, employment, business, consumer spending, marketing data from government sources, EASI Analytics, Nielsen Scarborough, and SimmonsLOCAL Consumer Insights. Export data in spreadsheet or shapefile format, and export maps as images.
Note:Access is limited to 5 concurrent users.
Contact Us!
We're here to help! To reach us...
Email: parkadmin@listserv.unc.edu
Call only: 919-843-1842
Text only: 919-442-8077
Off-Campus Access to Library Resources
With your ONYEN and password you have off-campus access to most subscription resources.
Instructions for accessing a resource from off-campus:
- Use the library link for the resource (from a research guide or the database list).
- Log in with your ONYEN and password when prompted.
- Search and research like you normally would.
About the Park Library
The Park Library is supported by the Hussman School of Journalism & Media. Read more about the Library's mission or about Roy H. Park.
We welcome the use of our collections and services by all students and researchers.
