Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
MEJO 691: Undergraduate Honors: Company & Industry Research
A to Z Databases: Business and Subject Guides
- A to Z Databases: Business and Subject GuidesDatabase links and subject guides maintained by Nancy Lovas the Entrepreneurship and Business Librarian at UNC-Chapel Hill’s Davis Library. There are guides for Accounting, Banking, Companies, Industry / Market Research, and more.
Company Financials
- ABI/Inform CollectionArticles in business, finance, management, accounting, advertising, banking, insurance, marketing, public administration, real estate, and telecommunications. 1971-current.
See especially Hoover's Company Records for private companies.
- Business Source PremierIndustry reports, company profiles, market research reports, SWOT analyses and more. Articles about thousands of companies.
- OrbisOver 35 million public and private companies worldwide. Each company includes financial data, merger and stock data. Links to news about company and industry, including section on negative news.
Permits searching by subsidiary (i.e., Disney --> ESPN).
Search for Chapel Hill, select University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill to log in. - OsirisCompany data for publicly-traded companies, including ownership, subsidiaries, earnings estimates and stock data. Click on Financial data on the left to see: ratios, cash flow, and "spreadsheet format" to download to Excel
. - Value Line Research CenterGreat financial data, including historical and projected prices, key financials, and a short quarterly analyst opinion. Updated monthly.
Industry & Company Research
- Ad Age DataCenterCovers profiles of top advertisers, agency and media family tree reports, advertising spending data, industry contacts, ad industry job market data and ranked lists of top media markets and media formats.
Note:If accessing from off-campus, create an account using your @email.unc.edu account to gain access. - BizMinerFind industry financial ratios, failure rates of businesses, local industry market research statistics, competitive market analysis, and more by US location (state, city, county, zip, or custom location). A great resource when developing business plans, or for any sort of entrepreneurship initiatives where you need to measure peer performance in an industry.
- Data Axle Reference SolutionsContains directory information for millions of U.S. and Canadian businesses and consumers (white pages). Use Consumers/Lifestyles data for market research and customer discovery. Search by company name, geographic area, industry codes (NAICS/SIC), sales volume, etc. Create custom lists of up to 250 records that you can download to Excel.
Note: Users are not permitted access from IP addresses outside of the United States. Download limit is 250 records.
- EDGARFrom the Securities & Exchange Commission. This site provides access to the full-text of 10-K, Proxies and other reports publicly traded companies are required to file with the SEC.
- Euromonitor PassportBusiness reports on countries, companies, markets and consumers. Covers 350 markets and 207 countries. Includes SWOT analyses, country briefings, and detailed industry reports.
- EuropagesFind information on some 3 million companies in 35 European countries. Search by company name, industry, country, or region of country. Each entry includes addresses, phone numbers, maybe an email contact, maybe a map of the location. You must select one of 26 languages before searching.
- IBISWorld Industry ReportsKey statistics, market characteristics, segmentation, industry conditions, key factors, key competitors and outlook for over 700 U.S. & international industries. Reports available as pdf and Excel.
Reports (40-60 pages) on- The Newspaper Industry
- Internet Publishing & Broadcasting (Alphabet, Apple, Facebook, Netflix)
- MagazinePublishing
- Cable Networks (Disney, NBCUniversal, Viacom)
- Television Broadcasting (Comcast, Fox, Sinclair)
- Mergent Historical Annual ReportsContains annual reports in PDF for companies in the U.S., Canada, and some European countries. Coverage varies by company. Some reports are from more than 100 years ago.
- Morningstar Investing CenterCovers data, analyst reports, and Morningstar ratings on stocks and mutual funds. Stock and fund screeners help identify a portfolio’s strengths and weaknesses.
- OrbisInfo. on over 190 million public and private companies worldwide. Each company overview has 16 sections including: financial data, merger and stock data, alliances, and ratings. Permits searching by subsidiary (i.e., Disney --> ESPN).
- Tech notes: Disable pop-up blockers.
- Don't search by ticker symbol. Search by company name.
- Look for "Earnings estimates & brokers recommendations" on the right navigation bar.
- ProQuest Business Market Research CollectionContains company records and analysis of major global and regional economic and political developments.
- ProQuest Entrepreneurship DatabaseIncludes business plan templates, market research reports, company profiles, business journals and news
- SEDAROfficial site that provides access to most public securities documents and information filed by Canadian public companies and investment funds with the Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) in the SEDAR filing system. SEDAR is a rough equivalent to the SEC’s EDGAR files but it is for Canadian companies.
Public Companies
- OrbisCovers millions of publicly traded and privately held companies from around the world. Company records include directory facts, financial and ownership details, subsidiaries, names and titles for executives and directors, M&A deals, etc. Privately held companies do not have financial information.
Note: This resource does not currently work with Chrome browser.
Note: Disable pop-up blockers to use this resource.
- Data Axle Reference SolutionsContains directory information for millions of U.S. and Canadian businesses and consumers (white pages). Use Consumers/Lifestyles data for market research and customer discovery. Search by company name, geographic area, industry codes (NAICS/SIC), sales volume, etc. Create custom lists of up to 250 records that you can download to Excel.
Note: Users are not permitted access from IP addresses outside of the United States. Download limit is 250 records. - OsirisContains information on over 110,000 publicly traded companies, banks, and insurance companies from around the world, including financial statement data. Provides ownership, subsidiaries, earnings estimates, stock data. Report formats reflect accounting procedures in the major world regions.
Note: This resource does not currently work with Chrome browser.
Note: Disable pop-up blockers to use this resource.
- IBISWorld Industry ReportsThe US Company Benchmarking Profiles analyze thousands of public and private companies. Profiles consist of a company overview and breakdown of performance within industries of operation. Includes company financials, an industry market share breakdown, an industry competitor matrix, SWOT analysis, Products and Services, and Key Company Benchmarks.
Access by clicking "Company Research" in top navigation menu.
- CB InsightsProvides information and independent analysis of private companies in a wide range of industries. A special focus on the financing, and mergers and acquisitions of these companies through private investors and venture capital and private equity firms.
Note:Users must register an account with a UNC email address. Contact Kenan Flagler Library Research Services at Researchtools@kenan-flagler.unc.edu with questions.
- Capital IQ (Kenan-Flagler ONLY)Capital IQ allows users to search for and screen for information on companies including in-depth financial information on publicly traded companies, information on investment firms, biographical information on corporate professionals, and transactions in both the public and private capital markets by a very wide range of company identification data, financial statement data, executive’s biographical characteristics, and deal or transaction specifics. (Source Vendor Web site)
Information can be exported to Excel.
SPECIAL NOTE: Because of licensing restrictions: Access to Capital IQ is restricted to current faculty, staff, and students of UNC Kenan-Flagler Business School. - EuropagesFind information on some 3 million companies in 35 European countries. Search by company name, industry, country, or region of country. Each entry includes addresses, phone numbers, maybe an email contact, maybe a map of the location. You must select one of 26 languages before searching.
- SEDAROfficial site that provides access to most public securities documents and information filed by Canadian public companies and investment funds with the Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) in the SEDAR filing system. SEDAR is a rough equivalent to the SEC’s EDGAR files but it is for Canadian companies.
Private Companies
- OrbisCovers millions of publicly traded and privately held companies from around the world. Company records include directory facts, financial and ownership details, subsidiaries, names and titles for executives and directors, M&A deals, etc. Privately held companies do not have financial information.
Note: This resource does not currently work with Chrome browser
Note: Disable pop-up blockers to use this resource. - CB InsightsProvides information and independent analysis of private companies in a wide range of industries. A special focus on the financing, and mergers and acquisitions of these companies through private investors and venture capital and private equity firms.
Note:Users must register an account with a UNC email address. Contact Kenan Flagler Library Research Services at Researchtools@kenan-flagler.unc.edu with questions.
- Data Axle Reference SolutionsContains directory information for millions of U.S. and Canadian businesses and consumers (white pages). Use Consumers/Lifestyles data for market research and customer discovery. Search by company name, geographic area, industry codes (NAICS/SIC), sales volume, etc. Create custom lists of up to 250 records that you can download to Excel.
Note: Users are not permitted access from IP addresses outside of the United States. Download limit is 250 records. - IBISWorld Industry ReportsThe US Company Benchmarking Profiles analyze thousands of public and private companies. Profiles consist of a company overview and breakdown of performance within industries of operation. Includes company financials, an industry market share breakdown, an industry competitor matrix, SWOT analysis, Products and Services, and Key Company Benchmarks.
Access by clicking "Company Research" in top navigation menu.
- Hoover's Company Records (in Business Market Research Collection)Provides profiles of 19,000 large private companies from around the world.
- Nexis UniCovers international companies through its Company Dossier.
- Roster of Secretaries of State/Lieutenant GovernorsAll 50 states make some level of corporate and business filings available online. In a few instances only limited information (such as name availability) is retrievable. The majority of the states, however, use their Web presence to disseminate a range of public business records -- and most of them offer access at no charge. This roster is from the National Association of Secretaries of State and includes the 50 states, DC and U.S. territories.
Statista
- StatistaData on newspaper publishing companies, advertising revenues, and more. View online and download as Excel.
UNEP, & Bloomberg, & FS-UNEP Collaborating Centre. (September 4, 2019). Global investment in solar energy technologies from 2004 to 2018 (in billion U.S. dollars) [Graph]. In Statista. Retrieved March 25, 2020, from https://www-statista-com.libproxy.lib.unc.edu/statistics/186823/global-investment-in-solar-technology-since-2004/
VidTip: Finding Articles
How to find articles & more about your company from EBSCO's Business Source Complete.
- Efficient search tips:
- ---- Search by ticker symbol
- ---- Limit by publication type or date
- ---- Don't limit by date; use Find @ UNC!
- Search for articles, trade publications, scholarly articles
- Browse for SWOT analyses & market research reports
PowerPoint (pdf)
- Download a pdf of the PowerPoint slides in this presentation.