Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About this Guide
The Global Resources: Nicaragua guide provides resources to support the global health research of UNC Chapel Hill faculty, staff, and students working on campus and in the field. The guide also addresses the research and clinical needs of non-UNC-CH users in Nicaragua with links to free or low-cost resources.
For additional resources, see the Global Health guide.
Key Country and Regional Organizations
Virtual Health Library (BIREME-PAHO-WHO)
The VHL provides research portals for evidence-based practice, health technology, and more, as well as specialized resources in disaster medicine, environmental health, and more.
SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online), is a bibliographic database and a model for cooperative electronic publishing in Latin American, Caribbean and Iberian countries. It contains 638 scientific journals from disciplines in the health and life sciences, social sciences, and the humanities.
LILACS is an important and comprehensive index of scientific and technical literature of Latin America and the Caribbean. The search interface is in English, Spanish, and Portuguese.
This database includes over 620 academic journals, covering health & life sciences, social sciences and humanities, mostly in Spanish or Portuguese. All articles are available full-text and the interface is available in Spanish, Portuguese, English and French.
HAPI Online (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)
HAPI Online contains worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. It covers materials published in more than 400 key social science and humanities journals.
Native Health Database
The Native Health Database contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations.
ADOLEC: Literature on Adolescent Health
From BIREME/PAHO/WHO - Latin American and Caribbean Center on Health Sciences Information.
Biblioteca Virtual en Desarrollo Sostenible y Salud
Articles on sustainable development and health topics; in multiple languages.
us and the best suited librarian will get back to you promptly (quick answers or one-on-one consultations).
with a HSL Librarian to get help (during business hours).