History of Penn School / Penn Center of the Sea Islands: Using the Collections

Since 1962, Penn Center's extensive archival records have been preserved within the Southern Historical Collection in the Wilson Special Collections Library, when they were first placed with the library on indefinite loan. Over those sixty years, archivists and leaders from Penn have shared in the curation and contextualization of the collections. The loan status of the collection is unique in that it allows Penn to maintain literal and symbolic ownership of the collections, while leveraging the experience of expertise of librarians towards their care.

In accordance with the deposit agreement for the Penn School Papers and the Penn Center Records, please note:

• Both collections are on deposit and legal ownership is retained by Penn Center of St. Helena Island, S.C.
• Both collections are open to physical in-person use at the Wilson Special Collections Library in Chapel Hill, N.C., provided that researchers complete their registration and user agreement.
• Written permission from the Penn Center is required for uses beyond reference and research of photographs, other images, moving images (film and video), and audio recordings. To acquire permission to use photographs, other images, moving images (film and video), and audio recordings contained in the Penn School Papers, send your written request with specific image or recording numbers to the Penn Center, Inc., P.O. Box 126, Martin Luther King Jr. Drive, Saint Helena Island, S.C. 29920-0126 or info[at]penncenter[dot]com.

For more information on Wilson Special Collections Policies and Procedures related to the access and use of our collections, please visit the following section:

• Registering and Requesting Materials