PHCY 504 - Primary and Secondary Literature Tutorial: Accessing Library Resources

Once you have completed your searches, you'll want to read the full text of any studies that look like they might answer your question. The following sections include a number of tips for accessing full-text articles and books, whether or not UNC has immediate access to them. 

Often, the quickest way to find a specific article is to search for the Article Title in a database like PubMed or Google Scholar and then use the Find @ UNC option to go to the full-text article.

Always connect to databases from UNC-CH Library pages so you will see the Find @ UNC button.

Look for this article:
Authors Wardrop PJ, Ravichandran S, Hair M, Robertson SM, Sword D. Article Title Do wind and brass players snore less? A cross-sectional study of snoring and daytime fatigue in professional orchestral musicians. Journal Title Clinical Otolaryngology. Year & Month 2011 Apr; Volume & Issue 36(2): Pages 134-8.

• To search PubMed, use the search box on the HSL Homepage. Use the Find @ UNC button on the PubMed results page to look for the full-text article.

• To search Google Scholar, use the link in the Quick Link box below the search box on the HSL homepage. Use the Find @ UNC link on the Google Scholar results page to look for the full-text article.

The libraries can't provide full-text online for every article. Some smaller journals and some older articles are not available immediately through the libraries. Not to worry! The libraries may have the print journal to scan a PDF or can get a PDF from another library.

• When the article is not online via Find @ UNC, a page with other ways to get the article is displayed.
• First, click on the Search CrossRef link to see if it is freely available on the web.
• If not, you can use Request it from another Library link to get the PDF. 

Request it from another Library links you to a page where you can log into or create an interlibrary loan/document delivery account. Once logged into, you will see a pre-populated article request form with the information about the article. You can request either articles from journals that we have in print or articles from journals that we don't have. You do not need to know who does own the journal.

You will receive an email notification when your request is filled. Articles get delivered electronically, generally within 2-3 business days.

Go the the ILL web page and register for an Interlibrary Loan account now.

Then, when you need to use ILL, you will be all set to go.
There is no charge for ILL services.

If you have the title or author of a specific book, you can use the search box on the HSL homepage. Make sure to click on the word "Library Resources" to search UNC library resources rather than PubMed. Here we’ve searched for Netter's Concise Radiologic Anatomy.

When you complete the search, there are two columns, "Articles+" and "Books & More". There are two records for the book under "Books & More".One is a print book with a call number. The other is an online book with an online access link. Notice that these two records are not for the same edition of the book: the eBook is the 2018 edition, while the print book is the 2009 edition. It's not always true that the eBook version is newer than the print version, so be sure to check if you need a specific edition for class. You can also access the online version using the eBook access link in the "Articles+" column.

How do I access an eBook?

To access the eBook version of a book, you can select the link that says "Full text available via the UNC-Chapel Hill Libraries". In some cases, you may be asked to enter your Onyen in order to access the book.

How do I find a print book?

The catalog record of a print book tells you what UNC library the book is found in, and what the call number is. For example, Netter's Concise Radiologic Anatomy is at the Health Sciences Library, and the call number is WN 17 W373n 2009.

The Health Sciences Library shelves materials by type and year. Books published from 1990 to the present are shelved on the 3rd floor, so that is where you would find this book.

What if the book I want is at another library on campus (not the Health Sciences Library)?

If you don't have the time to go across campus to another library, you can request your book through Carolina BLU. Just click the Request button with the truck icon to the right of the catalog record. You can see it highlighted in the image above.

The first time you use Carolina BLU you will be prompted to create an Interlibrary Loan account. Create your ILL account now to save time later.

What if the library doesn't own the book I'm looking for?

If the library doesn't own the book you're looking for, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.

When you cannot find the book you need in the UNC-CH Libraries Catalog:

• Log in to your ILL account
• Select Book under "Request non-UNC Material"
• Fill out the Book Request form and submit

You will receive an email when the book is ready for pick-up at the HSL.

When the book you want in the UNC-CH Libraries Catalog is checked out to someone else, you will see the date when it is due to be returned next to "Status" under the book information.

Click on the Request link next to the due date to log in and send the book information to your ILL account.

On the ILL request form, select your desired pick-up location.

Next, click on the drop-down options next to “If UNC copy is or becomes checked out”.

Select whether you want to:

• Recall UNC copy

You will need to wait for the person who has the book to return it. If the current borrower just checked the book out, they will be able to keep the book until the due date. If they have already renewed the book, it will be recalled. The due date will be no more than two weeks from when you made the request.

• Check for TRLN copy

Loans from outside libraries may only be for a short period of time, depending on the policies of the lending library.

You will receive an email when the book is ready for pick-up at your selected pick-up location.