Philosophy: Search for Books & Articles

Major index of scholarly journals, books, and book reviews in the many fields of philosophy, including aesthetics, axiology, philosophy of education, epistemology, ethics, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, logic, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, metaphilosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of science, and the philosophy of religion. (Source: vendor website.)

Note: Limited to 4 users at a time.

A comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers.

Provides access to a searchable database of important scholarly philosophy journals.

A collection of searchable texts from reliable editions of the works of major philosophers. The Past Masters series represents the largest collection of philosophy texts in electronic format in the world. it now also includes correspondence of selected literary authors, e.g. Wordsworth.

Find information on academic areas of business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics; resource provides access to major popular and scholarly journals with many full-text articles.

LexisNexis Academic has been discontinued and the content moved to Nexis Uni.

An ever-expanding database that specializes in offering original PDF copies of full-runs of legal collections. It includes: most major legal periodicals, federal and state statutes, court decisions, attorney general reports and opinions, federal legislative history materials, treaties, foreign & international law material, and numerous specialized legal collections. The text of collections are fully searchable and there are tools to browse or find items by citation.

Provides access to thousands of Oxford University Press ebooks across the subject spectrum. You can also access all of these e-books individually through the online catalog.

Indexes US dissertations from 1861 with full text available from 1997; masters theses covered selectively including some full text. Citations for dissertations from 1980 include 350-word abstracts, while masters' theses from 1988 have 150-word abstracts. Selectively covers dissertations from Great Britain and other European universities for recent years.

In addition to this database, the full text of the majority of UNC theses and dissertations from 2006, and all beginning in 2008, are freely available electronically from the UNC Library: Dissertations | Theses

Provides indexing and some full text access to dissertations completed here at Chapel Hill and submitted to the Dissertations Abstracts database. It provides citations for Chapel Hill dissertation from the 1920s and Masters theses from 1966 on.