Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
Physics: Articles
Articles+
Recommended Article Databases
For tips on finding articles, try our Science Research tutorial.
- ScopusA large citation and abstracting database providing comprehensive coverage of the peer-reviewed journal and conference literature, with links to full-text where available through the library; includes scientific, technical, medical, social science and arts and humanities disciplines and indexes over 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers including over 340 book series. Like Web of Science, Scopus allows researchers to perform citation searches to see how many times a work has been cited, by whom, and to rank searches by times cited, for the period 1996 -present, as well as its curated index of over 375 scientific web pages and over 24 million patents.
- IEEE Xplore
- Access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers)
- Contains Full-text IEEE transactions, journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and all current IEEE standards since 1988, plus select content back to 1950
- Full text access to documents from major publication, including charts, graphs, diagrams, photographs, and illustrative material
- Content from scientific journals, conference proceedings, technical standards, eBooks and educational courses
- Unlimited access to a subset of the INSPEC bibliographic and abstract database
NOTE:Before beginning any text and data mining projects, UNC users should notify the Libraries at researchassistance@unc.edu.
Preprints
- ArXiv
- Open access e-eprint repository covering Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Nonlinear Sciences, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, and Statistics
- CERN Document ServerA source for particle physics and related areas, this site includes the bibliographic records and fulltext of preprints, articles, books, journals, photographs, and much more. CERN is the European Organization for Nuclear Research and the world's largest particle physics center.
- E-print Network: Research Communications for Scientists and Engineers (Department of Energy)This resource provides access to e-prints and other scientific information on thousands of websites and databases around the world. It permits browsing by scientific discipline in addition to a Deep Web search capability that combines full-text searching of PDF documents on e-print websites with a distributed search across e-print databases.
- Earth ArXivOpen Access pre-print service for earth sciences.
- ESSOAr - Earth and Space Science Open ArchiveOpen Access pre-print server on the subject of earth and space science.
- SLAC (Stanford Linear Accelerator Center) SPIRES HEP Literature Database (Stanford University)Covering high energy physics, this database contains journal papers, preprints, e-prints, technical reports, conference papers, and theses.
Find E-Journals
Contact for Help
Using Find @ UNC
If an article search indicates we don't have an item:
1) Click the 
button.
2) If available, click an article link, if not, click the journal link.
3) Can't find it? Request it from another library through Interlibrary Loan.