PLCY 698: Senior Capstone in Public Policy: Sources of Data

Quarterly Census of Employment and Wages | Occupational Outlook Handbook

CareerOneStop is the flagship career, training, and job search website for the U.S. Department of Labor. The website serves job seekers, businesses, students, and career advisors with a variety of free online tools, information and resources.

The Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) provides information on what workers do; the work environment; education, training, and other qualifications; pay; the job outlook; information on state and area data; similar occupations; and sources of additional information.

The CRDC collects data on leading civil rights indicators related to access and barriers to educational opportunity at the early childhood through grade 12 levels.

from the Department of Education

The North Carolina Department of Public Instruction (NCDPI) is charged with implementing the state's public school laws for pre-kindergarten through 12th grade public schools at the direction of the State Board of Education and the Superintendent of Public Instruction.

Find data for NC public schools (and some charter schools) including performance, personnel, digital access, crime, suspensions and expulsions, plus school/district profiles.

The School Attendance Boundary Survey (SABS) was an experimental survey conducted by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) with assistance from the U.S. Census Bureau to collect school attendance boundaries for the 2013-2014 and 2015-2016 school years.

Our mission is to promote student achievement and preparation for global competitiveness by fostering educational excellence and ensuring equal access.

An environmental justice mapping and screening tool that provides EPA with a nationally consistent dataset and approach for combining environmental and demographic indicators.

The Environmental Justice Program at DEQ works to ensure the fair treatment and meaningful involvement of all people regardless of race, color, national origin, or income with respect to the development, implementation and enforcement of environmental laws, regulations and policies.

Municipal Code Corporation - Consists of local government codes of ordinances from around United States. Also includes links to related organizations.

The National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL) is transforming energy through research, development, commercialization, and deployment of renewable energy and energy efficiency technologies.

North Carolina Environmental Justice Network (NCEJN) is a grassroots, people of color-led coalition of community organizations and their supporters who work with low income communities and people of color on issues of climate, environmental, racial, and social injustice.

Contains digitally accessible flood hazard data, models, maps, risk assessments and reports that are database driven.

Data on sea level rise

From the U.S. Energy Administration Administration. Includes hydropower, solar, wind, geothermal, biomass and ethanol.

Provides a variety of health variables by county for the U.S. data is available for download in Excel format.

This resource shows food deserts in the United States, by Census tract. Access the data by using the "Download the Data" link. Also note other available data (e.g. Food Environment Atlas).

The premier source for data on child and family well-being in the United States. Access hundreds of indicators, download data and create reports and graphics on the KIDS COUNT Data Center that support smart decisions about children and families.

Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) Data

Graphs of the latest real estate prices and sales trends, recent home sales, a home value estimator, hundreds of thousands of maps, satellite photos...

Housing and Urban Development (HUD) provides interested researchers with access to the original data sets generated by PD&R-sponsored data collection efforts, including the American Housing Survey, median family incomes and income limits, as well as microdata from research initiatives on topics such as housing discrimination, the HUD-insured multifamily housing stock, and the public housing population.

NC demographic and economic data.

North Carolina County, synthesizing data on topics such as population changes, local economic conditions, health, civic engagement and other important metrics. These data highlight areas of challenge, opportunity, and resiliency across our state.

NC demographic, health, education, and a variety of other data.

A strategic resource providing a collection of authoritative geographic data and web services.

Provides links to election data, including current and historical polling place data, precinct data, and voter history data.

myFutureNC is a statewide nonprofit organization focused on educational attainment and is the result of cross-sector collaboration between North Carolina leaders in education, business, and government.

The University of North Carolina Highway Safety Research Center is working hard to help shape the field of transportation safety.

This is a link to a comprehensive guide from the UNC-CH libraries on census data, including information about mapping census data.

A reference from the U.S. government on census data, including a glossary of census terminology.

Map service showing bus routes in Chapel Hill and Hillsborrough.

Provides GTFS data for regional transit systems in the Triangle.

Resource from the NCDOT providing data on AADT, the total volume of vehicle traffic on a highway or road for a year divided by 365 days.