POLI 406: State Governments: Laboratories of Democracy: Home
Research Design and Writing
- What Makes a Good Research Question?Handout from Duke University's (yes, Duke) Thompson Writing Program Writing Studio. Has good guidelines for and examples of research questions in the social sciences.
- The Writing CenterVisit UNC's Writing Center to make appointments, find writing tips, and access handouts useful for writing literature reviews and research papers.
- Writing Standards in Political ScienceHandout from The Writing Center at UNC on writing in Political Science.
Citations
Finding Scholarly Articles
- PAIS IndexA bibliographic index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. Includes full-text articles.
- JSTORProvides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. Excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
- Worldwide Political Science AbstractsProvides indexing and abstracts of the international journal literature in political science and related fields, including public administration and policy, law, and international relations.
U.S. State Government
- North Carolina State Government WebsiteProvides access to the websites of and contact information for the state government agencies of North Carolina. It also provides resources about businesses and employment, education, health, the environment, transportation, and travel in North Carolina.
- National Conference of State LegislaturesBipartisan organization that provides support and connections to state legislatures.
- The Council of State GovernmentsA non-partisan research group that advises all three branches of state governments on funding and policy issues. There are four main groups, and the Southern Legislative Conference is the one serving North Carolina.
- StatelineStateline provides daily reporting and analysis on trends in state policy.
Search Think Tanks and Institutes
- Google Think Tank Search EngineSearches the websites of institutions that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity. These sites are affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, and non-governmental organizations. The list represents a mixture of partisan and non-partisan think tanks.
- RAND Publication DatabasePapers and reports on topics of current public policy interest, including criminal justice, education, health, national security and international affairs, energy, environment, and science and technology. Contains indexing records for all of RAND's publicly available documents, many with links to full text reports.
Business Research Consultant/Librarian
Nancy Lovas
Contact:
Davis Library
Subjects: Accounting, Banking, Business, Company Information, Country Economics, Country Information, Economic Data/Statistics, Economics, Economics Literature, Entrepreneur/Small Business Information, Global Business, Industry Information, Investment Information, Marketing, Patents, POLI: Political Science, Political Science