Published by the World Bank and updated quarterly, WDI online covers statistics on over 1400 development indicators from over 200 countries. Data includes major economic indicators, information on population, health, gender, poverty, natural resources, financial matters, environmental variables, and other topics related to economic and social development.
Access: No restrictions. Coverage: 1960 - present, updated quarterly.
Data from the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development, especially for international trade and foreign direct investment. Covers almost every economy in the world, with some data going back to 1948.
CIFP represents an on-going effort to identify and assemble statistical information conveying the key features of the political, economic, social and cultural environments of countries around the world.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Offers extensive database of opinion poll datasets. Roper’s iPOLL allows searching at the question level. The Center archives national opinion polls back to 1935, both U.S. and some international polls. Holdings include survey results data from academic, commercial and media survey organizations such as Gallup, Harris Interactive, Pew Research Associates, ABC, CBS, Wall Street Journal and many more. Many datasets are available for instant download in ASCII or SPSS format. Datasets not available for immediate download may be requested from the Center to be queued for digitization.
NOTE: First time users to NEW Roper iPoll need to self-register for access at login. Your credentials from Classic iPOLL will NOT work without new registration as of 8/14/2020. Classic iPOLL will no longer be updated after Sept 1, 2020.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. Coverage: 1935 -
An online database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 600,000+ questions and responses, from 18,000+ surveys and 1,700+ polling organizations, conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world. The database covers over 4,000 subjects, from social and political concerns to economic issues. Information is gathered from professional polling organizations, television networks, universities, newspapers, businesses and associations.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. Coverage: 1986 - present
The Latin American Public Opinion Project, hosted at Vanderbilt University, has been operating since the 1980s. Surveys are available for various countries for different years and may or may not have English translations.
*Latin American Public Opinion Project data requires an IRB application with the Office of Human Research Ethics. However, there are reports and studies available on the LAPOP website.