Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
ProQuest One Literature: ProQuest One Literature
Using ProQuest One Literature
- ProQuest One LiteratureIncludes and expands upon resources from ProQuest Literature Online (LION). Includes literary criticism as well as primary texts and reference works. Contains 3 million literature citations from a wide range of sources such as scholarly journals, monographs, and dissertations, along with more than 500,000 primary works – including rare and obscure texts, multiple versions, and non-traditional sources like comics, theatre performances, and author readings. Features notable collections from Chadwyck-Healey, such as African American Poetry, American Drama, and English Poetry. Provides access to the ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature) index of bibliographic citations for literary criticism.
Basic Search is a simple way to find what you are looking for in ProQuest One Literature. Basic Search searches across all content within ProQuest One Literature. You can also click the buttons for Criticism, Primary texts, Author pages, Reference works, Audio & Video, Dissertations or Book reviews to focus your search to a specific content type.
- For Criticism, click the Search criticism button to find Scholarly articles, reviews, books and dissertations.
- For Primary texts, click the Search Primary texts button to find original literary works of poetry, drama and prose. You can also search poetry, drama and prose specifically.
- For Reference works, you can browse the book carousel to find highlighted encyclopedias, companions, dictionaries, biographies and study guides.
- For Authors, you can browse the carousel of frequently viewed authors, or click Browse authors by literary period, literary movement or name to find any author available in ProQuest One Literature.
- For Literature Collections, you can browse the carousel of frequently viewed collections, or click Browse all Literature Collections.
- For Audio and Video collections, click Shakespeare Audio Plays, Poets on screen or Poetry archive audio to search or browse the collections.
Collections Included in ProQuest One Literature
- ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature)A major index for English language literatures, linguistics, folklore & cultural studies. ABELL aims to list monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, reviews of scholarly books, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world.
- African American Poetry (1750-1900)African-American Poetry, 1760-1900 is an invaluable resource, containing nearly 3,000 poems written by African American poets in the late eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. This resource is helpful not only for literary scholars, but for researchers in black studies, linguistics, women's studies, the black literary heritage and comparative studies.
The collection offers unique insights into the creative mind and reflects the conditions of early America and the role of black Americans during the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. The poetry explores a multitude of topics, including abolition, children, civil rights, dreams, education, fugitive slave law, Indian raids, liberty, political issues, prejudice and slavery.
- African Writers SeriesFor over 40 years, Heinemann's African Writers Series published the key texts of modern African literature. It has a unique importance in the history of postcolonial writing. This online edition includes over 250 volumes of fiction, poetry, drama and non-fictional prose, including works by Ama Ata Aidoo, Steve Biko, Buchi Emecheta, Nadine Gordimer, Bessie Head, Doris Lessing, Nelson Mandela, Dambudzo Marechera, Christopher Okigbo, Okot p'Bitek and Tayeb Salih.
- American Drama 1714 - 1915A searchable archive of more than 1,500 English-language dramatic works by American playwrights (including African Americans). American Drama may also be searched via the Literature Online database.
- American Poetry 1600-1900A text archive of rekeyed texts of about 40,000 English-language poems by American poets from the colonial era to the early twentieth century. The contents of American Poetry Database can also be searched through Literature Online, which also has more recent American poets represented.
- Bertolt Brechts WerkeThe dramatic, poetical and theoretical texts of Bertolt Brecht (1898 - 1956). In co-operation with the German publishers, Suhrkamp Verlag, this edition is based on Bertolt Brecht - Ausgewählte Werke in sechs Bänden - Jubiläumsausgabe zum 100. Geburtstag, edited by Werner Hecht, Wolfgang Jeske and Jan Knopf, which collects Brecht's works and writings in six volumes with brief notes on each text.
- Black Short Fiction and FolkloreBlack Short Fiction and Folklore brings together 82,000 pages and more than 11,000 works of short fiction produced by writers from Africa and the African Diaspora from the earliest times to the present. The materials have been compiled from early literary magazines, archives, and the personal collections of the authors. Some 30 percent of the collection is fugitive or ephemeral, or has never been published before.
- Black Women WritersBlack Women Writers presents 100,000 pages of literature and essays on feminist issues, written by authors from Africa and the African diaspora. Facing both sexism and racism, black women needed to create their own identities and movements. The collection documents that effort, presenting the woman’s perspective on the diversity and development of black people generally, and in particular the works document the evolution of black feminism.
- Canadian Poetry"An archive of rekeyed texts of more than 19,000 English-language poems by Canadian writers from the seventeenth century to 1900." (James Harner, Literary Research Guide) Aslo searchable via Literature Online.
- Caribbean LiteratureMore than a million and a half Africans, along with many Indians and South Asians, were brought to the Caribbean between the 15th and 19th centuries. Today, their descendants are active in literature and the arts, producing literature with strong and direct ties to traditional African expressions. This literary connection, combined with the tales of survival, exile, resistance, endurance, and emigration to other parts of the Americas, makes for a body of work that is essential for the study of the Caribbean and the Black Diaspora.
- Die Deutsche Lyrik in Reclams Universal-BibliothekDie Deutsche Lyrik in Reclams Universal-Bibliothek covers almost 500 years of German lyric poetry and includes the work of over 500 authors from the 15th to the 20th century. Published with the co-operation and support of Philipp Reclam jun., Stuttgart, it contains the complete text of each poem, including material such as dedications and authorial notes which are an essential part of the original volumes. Publisher's prefaces and epilogues, introductions, editorial notes, biographies, glossaries and indices are not usually included.
- Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher KlassikerThe texts included in the Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker range from early German writing to the works of major authors of the nineteenth century, including historical, philosophical, theological, political and art history texts. Collections of essays, speeches and other non-literary material add context and background. Scholars can follow the political and intellectual debates at the heart of Europe in the nineteenth century, for example, by reviewing texts relating to the theory of the state and the church or the theory and history of war.
- Early American Fiction 1789 - 1875Offers the full text of 875 first editions of American novels and short stories by such authors as Louisa May Alcott, Herman Melville, Harriet Beecher Stowe and Mark Twain, as well as a host of minor writers of the period. This database is also searchable from within Literature Online.
- Early English Prose Fiction (1500-1700)Contains 211 works in English prose by writers from the British Isles from the period 1500-1700. These texts are also searchable from with Literature Online.
- Eighteenth-Century Fiction (1700-1780)A collection of 96 complete works of English prose from the period 1700–1780 by writers from the British Isles. These text are also searchable from within Literature Online.
- English DramaA unique collection of more than 3,900 plays in verse and prose tracing the development of drama in English from the medieval mystery cycles to the comedies of Oscar Wilde. These plays are also searchable from within Literature Online.
- English PoetryThe original ground-breaking Chadwyck-Healey collection, English Poetry contains essentially the complete English poetic canon from the 8th century to the early 20th. Over 160,000 poems by more than 1,250 poets are drawn from nearly 4,500 printed sources.
- English Poetry, Second Edition"An archive of rekeyed texts of more than 183,000 English-language poems by writers of the British Isles, Commonwealth, and former colonial countries from the Anglo-Saxon era to the early twentieth century." (James Harner, Literary Research Guide) These texts are also searchable from within Literature Online.
- Faber Poetry LibraryA collection of some of the most influential poets of the twentieth century. The Faber list spans the seventy-year history of this major publishing house. In total The Faber Poetry Library contains 140 volumes by 50 poets. (Source: vendor website.) This collection is also searchable from within Literature Online.
- Goethes WerkeThe definitive, Weimar edition of the works of Johann Wolfgang von Goethe (1749-1832), originally published between the years 1887 and 1919. The edition is supplemented by 3 further volumes of letters discovered since completion of the Weimar edition, published in 1990 by DTV and edited by Paul Raabe, and by 10 volumes of Goethe's conversations, published by Woldemar Freiherr von Biedermann between the years 1889 and 1896.
- Irish Women Poets of the Romantic PeriodIrish Women Poets of the Romantic Period includes more than 80 volumes of poetry by approximately 50 Irish women writing between 1768 and 1842. Compiled and edited by Stephen Behrendt of the University of Nebraska, the database also offers numerous biographical and critical essays prepared by leading scholars specifically for the project. This database contains over 10,800 pages.
- Kafkas WerkeThe work of Franz Kafka (1883 - 1924) has been one of the defining influences that have shaped the literature of the twentieth century. Published in co-operation with S. Fischer Verlag, this is an electronic version of the critical edition of his complete works: Franz Kafka, Kritische Ausgabe, Schriften und Tagebücher, of which the first volume was published in 1982.
- Latin American Women WritersWhat we call "Latin American culture" is a composite of the rich and diverse output of 20 sovereign countries. This collection comprises 100,000 pages of literary works, along with memoirs and essays, in their original language, by Latin American women from the colonial period in the 17th century to the present. It brings together all the voices of Latin American women and presents a tool for understanding the diversity and development of Latin America through a feminine perspective.
- Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and FictionIncludes more than 100,000 pages of poetry, short fiction, novels, and more than 450 plays. Nearly all of the content is in copyright, and most of the other items are long out of print or have never before been published. Besides serving as a rich resource for literature scholars, the collection also supports the study of American history, ethnic diversity, immigrations issues, and political history.
- Literary TheoryThe Literary Theory collection includes works that have had a significant bearing on English and American traditions of theory and criticism, or which have influenced contemporary theoretical debate in the English-speaking world. All works in the database appear in English. The database includes formal treatises on criticism and aesthetics, discourse on the character or practice of specific genres, and a selection of literary biography, criticism, and history that illustrates important general arguments and precepts.
- Nineteenth-Century FictionA collection of 250 British and Irish novels from the period 1782 to 1903. Major novelists of the period such as Austen, Scott, Mary Shelley, Dickens, Eliot, Hardy and the Brontës feature alongside popular romances, sensation fiction, colonial adventure novels and children's literature. (Vendor website) Nineteenth Century Fiction is also searchable from within Literature Online.
- Schillers WerkeSchillers Werke is the electronic edition of the Nationalausgabe of Schiller's works. The Nationalausgabe was established in 1940 as the definitive edition of his works, letters and conversations. The edition comprises fifty-six volumes. The series is currently edited by Norbert Oellers, one of the world's leading scholars of German literature. The Nationalausgabe is published in electronic form with the support of and under licence from Verlag Hermann Böhlaus Nachfolger Weimar GmbH & Co.
- Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic PeriodContains over sixty volumes of lyric poetry written by fifty Scottish women between 1789 and 1832. The works are accompanied by biographical sketches about the authors and bibliographies of their primary works, criticism, and reviews.
- South and Southeast Asian Literature in EnglishSouth and Southeast Asian Literature is a text-based collection that showcases the literary imagination and linguistic inventiveness of Asian writers as they negotiate their varied cultural identities. It comprises thousands of pages of English-language fiction, short fiction, and poems written from the end of the colonial era to the present and gives rich insights to scholars of literature, anthropology, linguistics, postcolonial theory and criticism, history, politics, and culture.
- Teatro Español del Siglo de OroTeatro Español del Siglo de Oro full text database contains the most important dramatic works of sixteenth and seventeenth century Spain - more than 800 plays written by 16 dramatists including Lope de Vega, Calderón de la Barca and Agustín Moreto. The editorial board of Teatro Español del Siglo de Oro have carefully selected the published editions, choosing the first editions of each volume and avoiding facsimiles. Teatro Español del Siglo de Oro brings together various editions from different European libraries.
- Twentieth-Century African American PoetryThe full text of 12,000 poems by more than 100 poets. The Database of Twentieth-Century African-American Poetry documents the unique voices of this century's critically acclaimed African-American poets. The collection opens the door to literary scholarship by providing access to the full text of 12,000 poems by more than 100 poets.
Works by poets like Audre Lorde, Langston Hughes and Rita Dove enrich the collection, as well as emerging poets who will shape a new era of poetry. Biographical profiles accompany each poet's work, and the complete database can be searched by a number of fields, including keyword, first line or title keyword, and poet name. (Source: vendor website.) - Twentieth-Century American PoetryThis collection includes 50,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 American poets. (Source: vendor website.) This database is also searchable from within Literature Online.
- Twentieth-Century American Poetry, Second EditionThis essential collection brings together over 100,000 of the most important and influential poems representing the full range of movements and traditions in American poetry from 1900 to the present day including Maya Angelou, John Ashbery Gwendolyn Brooks, Clark Coolidge, Rita Dove, Susan Howe, Langston Hughes, W.S. Merwin, Ezra Pound, Adrienne Rich, Wallace Stevens and William Carlos Williams.
- Twentieth-Century DramaBringing together an unparalleled collection of the most important works from the last century from the English-speaking world, Twentieth-Century Drama features plays from noted playwrights as well as lesser known dramatists. The collection includes works by over 300 writers including Amiri Baraka, Noël Coward, Susan Glaspell, Langston Hughes, Brian Friel, David Mamet, Eugene O’Neill, John Osborne, Sean O’Casey, Harold Pinter, Bernard Shaw, Neil Simon, Gertrude Stein, Tom Stoppard, Derek Walcott, August Wilson and Elizabeth Wong.
- Twentieth-Century English PoetryA collection of more than 600 volumes of poetry by 283 poets from 1900 to the present day, including W.B. Yeats, Rudyard Kipling, Thomas Hardy, Wilfred Owen, Thom Gunn, Fleur Adcock, Paul Muldoon, Tony Harrison, Benjamin Zephaniah and Carol Ann Duffy, and incorporating the poets in The Faber Poetry Library.(Source: vendor website.) This database is also searchable within Literature Online.
- W. B. Yeats Collection (1885-1995)The W.B. Yeats Collection contains the major work of W.B. Yeats in all genres, including poetry, plays, criticism and fiction, collected in 22 volumes. (Source: vendor website.) See About section of the database for fuller description.
Humanities Librarian
Amy Fader
she/her/hers
Contact:
Davis Library
UNC-Chapel Hill
Available for meetings in person
or via Zoom
UNC-Chapel Hill
Available for meetings in person
or via Zoom