PWAD 691H: Honors in Peace, War, and Defense: Articles & Books
Finding Articles and Dissertations
Here is a reminder of different types of journals.
The databases listed below are four starting points for finding journal articles for many topics of historical research.
- Peace Research AbstractsIndexes academic journals which provide articles investigating peace research, conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and similar topics.
- PAIS IndexA bibliographic index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. Includes full-text articles.
- CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)A source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship that includes working papers from university research institutes, papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, tables of contents of selected journals, and conference proceedings.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses GlobalIndexes US dissertations from 1861 with full text available from 1997; masters theses covered selectively including some full text. Citations for dissertations from 1980 include 350-word abstracts, while masters' theses from 1988 have 150-word abstracts. Selectively covers dissertations from Great Britain and other European universities for recent years.
In addition to this database, the full text of the majority of UNC theses and dissertations from 2006, and all beginning in 2008, are freely available electronically from the UNC Library: Dissertations | Theses - JSTORProvides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. Excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
We have additional PWAD databases, as well as hundreds covering other fields.
Finding Books
Start with a keyword search in the catalog. Once you have located a relevant item, you can look at the Subjects in the record and follow those links to find related books.
You can also refine your results by using the facets on the left side of the screen. Use the "Available Online" filter to limit to materials that may be accessed remotely!
You can also refine your results by using the facets on the left side of the screen.
- Keyword: transitional justice and ireland
- Associated Subject Heading: Transitional justice -- Northern Ireland
- Associated Subject Heading: Political violence -- Northern Ireland -- History -- 20th century
- Keyword: Colombia and rural reform
- Associated Subject Heading: Land reform -- Colombia
- Associated Subject Heading: Coca industry -- Colombia
To find primary resources, you can add keywords to your search, such as: letters, diaries, speeches, newspaper articles, autobiographies, oral histories, government and organizational records, statistical data, maps, photographs, motion pictures, sound recordings, advertisements, and artifacts.
- WorldCatOCLC's WorldCat is the world's largest union catalog containing of millions bibliographic records for items in the collections of thousands of libraries from many countries. This database includes all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries in several hundred languages.
Google Scholar UNC
