Reconstruction Era Resources at Wilson Special Collections Library: General Resources
Secondary Sources
The Reconstruction of American Liberalism, 1865-1914 by ISBN: 0807853542Publication Date: 2002-03-11
Newspapers
- Newspapers.com (North Carolina Newspapers)Provides access to historic newspapers from the 1700s to the present. UNC users have access to a large selection of North Carolina newspapers through a partnership between Newspapers.com and the UNC University Library.
Note: Please clear your browser's cache and cookies if you are having problems accessing this resource - Chronicling AmericaAllows you to identify newspapers of all kinds published in America from 1690 to the present, see details about them, and find libraries that hold the papers either in paper or microform. Chronicling America provides free access to historic U.S. newspapers published from 1836 through 1922. North Carolina newspapers number among the titles available from more than 30 states and the District of Columbia.
Documenting the American South
- Documenting the American SouthDocumenting the American South is a collection of digitized material related to the study of the American South. Books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs have been included. Contributing institutions include UNC-Chapel Hill and Duke University. Those interested in the history and culture of African Americans in North Carolina will find a lot of material here, freely accessible from off campus as well as on site. Users can search the entire site via full-text searching.
Other Resources
- The Journal of the Civil War EraThe Journal of the Civil War Era is published by UNC Press in association with the George and Ann Richards Civil War Era Center. It publishes the most creative new work on the many issues raised by the sectional crisis, war, Reconstruction, and memory of the country’s signal conflict, while bringing fresh understanding to the struggles that defined the period, and by extension, the course of American history in the nineteenth century.
Other Databases
- JSTORProvides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. Excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
- Ancestry LibraryA major tool for genealogical and biographical research, particularly for the United States, providing access to vital records, census and voter lists, immigration records, military records, directories, tax, criminal, land, and will records, and more.
Further Subjects
- Wilmer Civil War Novels CollectionLink to the Wilmer Civil War Novels Collection within Rare Books with "Reconstruction" in the subject research guide.
- Southern Pamphlet CollectionLink to the Southern Pamphlets Collection within Rare Books with "Reconstruction" in the subject research guide.